What's new

receiver keeps shutting down (1 Viewer)

verynew

Auditioning
Real Name
Erik
I am just beginning to learn about home theater. I purchased a surround sound system for new home that I had pre-wired. I am having my first problems after being set up for 2 months. I have a Yamaha RX-V665 receiver, 600 series Definitive Technologies 5.1 speakers and a Sony Blu-Ray and TV, and Direct TV satellite. I also have the second zone set for external speakers but I was not using them when the problem occurred.

During middle of IRON MAN2 Blu-Ray, the receiver shut down. I turned back on and get same results. I shut down AC power for a minute and started over, same result. Checked speaker wires and no loose connections. I did find one unused speaker wire from the installer and taped the ends to be safe. I read somewhere to try to change speaker settings to "small" and up crossover frequency to 100. I did both and still no results.

When the sound comes on, it is very "tinny". A moment ago it seemed like center channel was not working and left front speaker sounded bad. This system has been working flawlessly and filling the room with sound until today. Any help to get me running again is appreciated.

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
Where did you check the speaker wires? At the receiver or at the speakers? How did you check them? Did you check the resistance of the speakers from the receiver location using a multi-meter? That would tell you if there is a short anywhere in the speaker cable.

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
One other thing. My Pioneer will shut down when there is a gun-shot on screen and I have the receiver plugged into a 15amp circuit when listening at -15db or louder. There just isn't enough voltage to keep the receiver up and running. I have it plugged into a dedicated 20amp circuit now and haven't had any issues since the change.

Mike Frezon

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Erik: