What's new

Advice Needed on Tower Speakers (1 Viewer)

bulldogsmsu

Auditioning
Real Name
Ryan
Guys thanks in advance for your help. Forums have helped me a lot in the past and I am sure this will be benifical as well.

I recently purchased the Harmon Kardon AVR 354. It is a 7.1 receiver with 75 watts per channel. http://www.amazon.com/Harman-Kardon-AVR-354-Channel-Receiver/dp/B0016BGRXG

I am looking at buying the JBL E80's for my front two towers. http://www.amazon.com/JBL-Northridge-6-Inch-Floorstanding-Speaker/dp/B0000E6S10

It says the recommended watts is 100 watts contiunous and 400 max. Would my receiver be able to push these speakers? I am new to building my own system, and see there is a lot to learn. Would these speakers build nicely with my receiver? Thanks in advance.

Ryan

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
Ignore the wattage rating on the speakers and the wattage spec on the receiver. They are the most useless number to look at. Most people coming from the car audio world look at this first. It's useless there most of the time as well.

The receiver will have no issues at all pushing the speakers. Does the receiver have the connectivity and features that you want? That is the most important.

Do you like the sound of the speakers? Because that is all that matters. If you haven't auditioned a lot of speakers to determine what you like, then just go with them. JBL is a quality manufacturer.

There are other forums with more activity. They are also less forgiving for questions like this. Do you really want to jump into heated discussions of measured frequency response vs. published frequency response? Please be patient and we will help you.

gene c

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Gene
Harman Kardon has very good amp sections. I had a 520 which was also rated at 75 wpc and it was stronger than the 110 wpc receivers I also had at the time.