Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.


Photo
- - - - -

Need help with a Mac PPC G4 upgrade


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 OFFLINE   John Wilson

John Wilson

    Supporting Actor



  • 551 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 06 1999

Posted September 14 2010 - 06:17 PM

Hey fellow HTF'ers. I am just getting my feet wet in the Mac world so I am a complete noob when working with these units, especially the G4 towers. Here is my scenario: I originally purchased a Digital Audio G4 with OS 10.2.6 but with no disks. It was fine for a while but I wanted something more so I got a hold of a retail DVD of Leopard 10.5.6 but never got around to installing it, mainly because the system only had a CD -R/W drive and jaguar doesn't support a DVD drive. Recently I bought a Power Mac G4 Quicksilver 2002 with Tiger 10.4.11 already installed.   What I would like to do is install the Leopard OS onto the Quicksilver system but I would also like to have the Tiger OS on the Digital Audio model. I have a DVD writer on the Quicksilver but Jaguar (10.2.8) doesn't support a DVD drive. Is there a straightforward way to do this? I don't have access to a Firewire drive. Can I clone the Quicksilver drive onto a new HDD and then install it in the Digital Audio system and then install the leopard  OS onto the Quicksilver system? I don't know all of the finer points to do this but I have heard that its easier to move drives on similar hardware Mac systems than on a PC.   Is there some kind of guide I could follow to do this? I'm pretty good at following directions but I don't want to mess up either system by doing something stupid.        
John F. Wilson
HTF Master Gold Trader

www.livegreenwithus.com
Timing is Everything. jvwilson@iglide.net

#2 of 7 OFFLINE   Michael_K_Sr

Michael_K_Sr

    Screenwriter



  • 1,349 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 14 2005
  • Real Name:MichaelK
  • LocationChicago 'burbs

Posted September 15 2010 - 03:21 AM

John, you need to post a flowchart to help everyone understand what you are trying to do.     If you didn't have data on the Digital Audio machine that you needed, you could connect it to the Quicksilver machine with a FireWire cable, boot the Digital Audio machine into Target Disk Mode (hold down the "T" key at startup) and then reformat the drive using Disk Utility. You could then use a cloning tool like Carbon Copy Cloner to clone the entire contents of your Quicksilver machine to the Digital Audio machine. After you are finished, you could then install Leopard on the Quicksilver machine. If you have data on the Digital Audio machine you can't do without or you just want to have it backed up somewhere for safety, you obviously would first have to get either an external HDD or a second internal HDD before performing any of these steps.

#3 of 7 OFFLINE   John Wilson

John Wilson

    Supporting Actor



  • 551 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 06 1999

Posted September 15 2010 - 04:23 AM

Hi Michael. Yes, a flowchart would be helpful but I think you have managed to weed through it to understand what I want to do. I have a related question: Could I clone the Tiger OS on the Quicksilver to another internal HDD and then install it on the Digital Audio system and have it boot just fine and recognize the hardware differences between the two systems? The differences between the two would be: Optical drive, memory, processor, video card. On a PC, the target PC would freak out with a boot HDD that was seeing so many hardware changes.
John F. Wilson
HTF Master Gold Trader

www.livegreenwithus.com
Timing is Everything. jvwilson@iglide.net

#4 of 7 OFFLINE   Michael_K_Sr

Michael_K_Sr

    Screenwriter



  • 1,349 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 14 2005
  • Real Name:MichaelK
  • LocationChicago 'burbs

Posted September 15 2010 - 09:38 AM

I think it should work, John. Just to be safe, I would reapply the 10.4.11 combo update to the QuickSilver machine before cloning it.

#5 of 7 OFFLINE   John Wilson

John Wilson

    Supporting Actor



  • 551 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 06 1999

Posted September 16 2010 - 07:32 AM

Forgive my ignorance but what is the "10.4.11 combo update" ? I know when I first got the Quicksilver that it updated to 10.4.11 from whatever it was. How would I force another  identical update to the same machine?   Thanks for your help. I'm trying to catch on here but it slow going.
John F. Wilson
HTF Master Gold Trader

www.livegreenwithus.com
Timing is Everything. jvwilson@iglide.net

#6 of 7 OFFLINE   Michael_K_Sr

Michael_K_Sr

    Screenwriter



  • 1,349 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 14 2005
  • Real Name:MichaelK
  • LocationChicago 'burbs

Posted September 16 2010 - 02:28 PM

Download this combo update and install it. And in the future, skip the System updates when they pop up in the Software Update window. Instead, download the appropriate combo updater and install it.

 

Ha...these old combo updates are paltry in size compared to the Snow Leopard combo updates.



#7 of 7 OFFLINE   Ken Chan

Ken Chan

    Producer



  • 3,302 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 11 1999

Posted September 17 2010 - 09:52 AM

 

Originally Posted by Michael_K_Sr 

in the future, skip the System updates when they pop up in the Software Update window. Instead, download the appropriate combo updater and install it.


Considering that nowadays the Update window pops up after it has already downloaded the stuff in the background, this advice certainly encourages "wasting bits" and more importantly, time. Preferring the combo update seems akin to the Repair Permissions voodoo.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users