Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo

3D Blu Ray Question Regarding 1950s Movies

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 OFFLINE   seangood79

seangood79

Stunt Coordinator

• 116 posts

Posted September 02 2010 - 06:53 PM

I ask this question assuming 3D home theater technology gains a strong enough foothold that studios start spending resources to release classic 3D movies. Since many of these movies were released in 1.37, would the 3D effect be diminished pillarboxed on a 16:9 television? I have zero experience with the technology, don't know anyone who owns a system, and every time I'm in a Fry's or Best Buy their displays are out of order. This is probably a premature question, we're probably years away from seeing Dial M for Murder, Kiss Me Kate, Hondo, House of Wax, Creature from the Black Lagoon on 3D BD, if ever.

#2 of 6 ONLINE   Charles Smith

Charles Smith

Extremely Talented Member

• 4,545 posts
  • LocationNor'east

Posted September 02 2010 - 11:57 PM

The availability of those -- and all the rest of the catalog titles -- in 3D will be the ONLY reason I'd ever consider investing in a 3D system myself.

#3 of 6 OFFLINE   RolandL

RolandL

Screenwriter

• 2,660 posts
  • LocationCromwell, CT

Posted September 03 2010 - 12:36 AM

Sony, IMAX and Discovery are planning to have a 3D channel that will include 3D films from the 1950s   http://www.eweek.com...-Report-739975/   http://www.nypost.co...OpFA3Ex2Ru1opXN    

Roland Lataille
Cinerama web site

#4 of 6 OFFLINE   Jack Theakston

Jack Theakston

Supporting Actor

• 854 posts

Posted September 03 2010 - 01:17 AM