Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Using Bose Acoustimass for non-Bose system??


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 OFFLINE   casjr

casjr

    Extra



  • 15 posts
  • Join Date: May 22 2010

Posted August 24 2010 - 01:38 AM

Would a Bose Acoustimass Powered Subwoofer be compatible with my Sony-based HTsystem, or is it proprietary to the Bose Acoustimass system ?

#2 of 6 OFFLINE   David Willow

David Willow

    Babbling Idiot



  • 2,210 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 23 2004
  • Real Name:Dave
  • LocationMechanicsburg, PA

Posted August 24 2010 - 01:58 AM

Hi Carl,   BO$E does not make a subwoofer.  What you have is called (by them) a 'bass module'.  It is designed to fill in the holes you get from the tiny cube speakers (and it does a poor job, btw).   Yes, you can use it as long as you use the cubes as well (and plug it into the proper connections on the Sony).  You must plug everything into the bass module or you risk damage to the speakers (plus it will sound even worse).  If your goal is to add a subwoofer (using the sub pre-out), then no, it will not work.

I’m training to run a marathon for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, to raise life-saving funds to help those fighting blood cancers. Please help! See details and donation link here.

 

Dolby and DTS Plaques (downloads)
Audyssey Setup Guide


#3 of 6 OFFLINE   CB750

CB750

    Screenwriter



  • 1,035 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 20 2008

Posted August 24 2010 - 03:34 AM

Carl,   David is right you can use the Bose bass module with the rest of your Bose cubes with your Sony receiver as long as your system is the stand alone system that Bose sells as an Bose Acoustimass System.   Those speakers are meant to be used as a system, although not a very good one because their are electronics and equalization built into that Bass module.   However if your Bass module and cubes are part of what Bose sells as the Lifestyle system using a Bose receiver then you are out of luck.  As that system uses propitiatory wiring to connect the Bass module to the Bose receiver that your Sony does not have.

#4 of 6 OFFLINE   casjr

casjr

    Extra



  • 15 posts
  • Join Date: May 22 2010

Posted August 25 2010 - 02:47 PM

Thank you Dave.  You saved me a lot of $$$ and grief!   Does the same thing apply to, say, a Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 Powered Subwoofer (since it is also part of a 2.1 system, or would THAT one work with my 5.1 sysrtem?
 
 


#5 of 6 OFFLINE   David Willow

David Willow

    Babbling Idiot



  • 2,210 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 23 2004
  • Real Name:Dave
  • LocationMechanicsburg, PA

Posted August 25 2010 - 03:00 PM

 I'm not 100% positive, but he Klipsch may work as a sub. It would hardly be worth it.  You would need an adapter to make it work and the size and power would really limit the output.   IMO, don't bother.  Sell both on E-Bay and buy a real sub.

I’m training to run a marathon for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, to raise life-saving funds to help those fighting blood cancers. Please help! See details and donation link here.

 

Dolby and DTS Plaques (downloads)
Audyssey Setup Guide


#6 of 6 OFFLINE   noblepuker

noblepuker

    Auditioning



  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 12 2010

Posted August 25 2010 - 08:24 PM

  The bose base unit isn't powered...even with good power it's utterly lame when compared to a powered sub.The bose system sounds great !...but it doesn't rock.(for this reason my acoustimas system has sat and collected dust for years).




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users