What's new

TV vs Projector (1 Viewer)

GPJ111

Grip
Real Name
Greg
Would appreciate any input on the following. We're currently finishing our basement, as part of that we will be putting in a media room. The room is approx 14x16. Not to large, but large enough for a projector from what I am being told. The primary use will be movies, not daily tv use although it may get some of that ( but again that will not be the majority). I am leaning toward a large plasma (63 o 65inch) only because I feel like the quality of the pic is better. I am new to this whole media room/theater world, so with the right understanding that view may change.

I am using an audio company to wire/install etc. Am I crazy for going with the plasma over the projector if there is enough room.

In terms of sound we will be using B&W CCM664 inwall/ceiling and a Rel 150 subwoofer. Somebidy made the suggestion to use the Rel 200. Any opinion on these speakers? I assume comparing them to bose.. if taboo.

If anyone has any advise.. please send my way.

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
You are crazy for using an audio company to run the wires and install your system. If you don't know the inner workings of your system then you will have to have them out when something goes wrong. And something always go wrong.

B&W makes great speakers overall. I don't know about their in-walls or in-ceilings but they are usually a compromise at best. We always recommend traditional speakers first.

A projector is a TV. It is just missing a outside case. They both contain most of the same parts.

If you have total light control, then I don't see why you wouldn't go with a projector. I'm using a 4 year old projector on a $75 DIY screen and I impressed the heck out of my roofing contractor last week. He said he had never seen such a good picture from a projector. It's easy. Light control, calibration and a Panasonic AE900U.

bigshot

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Stephen