Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

How do I configure my PC HMDI output for surround sound?

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 of 12 MalteseChicken

MalteseChicken

Agent

• 26 posts

Posted August 11 2010 - 02:09 PM

Hi all,

New to the forum, but I have some experience with PCs and Hometheatre, and now I want to bring them together.

I just purchased an entry level laptop (HP G62 series) and it has an HDMI output. I connected the HDMI cable to my home theater and I got both video and audio working through it. The problem: Audio was only in stereo.

I went to the control panel and tried to reconfigure my sound from HDMI and there was "surround" option that was dull and unclickable. My computer is only letting me send a 2.0 signal through HDMI. Does anyone know how I can change this (or if I can change this?)

Sound driver is  ATI High Definition audio device

Main processor ADM Athalon Dual Core P320 2.1GHz

Any help would be great - I would like to know if my hardware is capable of 5.1 (or ideally 7.1)  thanks

Ryan

#2 of 12 Parker Clack

Parker Clack

Schizophrenic Man

• 12,068 posts
  • LocationKansas City, MO

Posted August 26 2010 - 09:14 PM

I believe your problem is that you don't have the codecs required for 5.1 audio over HDMI installed. I would download the latest display driver from ATI.

http://support.amd.c...ob_win7-64.aspx

It should load the proper audio codecs for you.

Hopefully mattCR will drop in to this thread as he knows a lot more about this than I do.

"I tried to get my medical records from the company but they say they

are confidential and can only be released to other insurance companies,

pharmaceutical​ reps, suppliers of medical equipment and for some