Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

New w/ speaker questions

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
8 replies to this topic

#1 of 9 OFFLINE   snake

snake

Agent

• 42 posts

Posted August 09 2010 - 01:23 AM

Hey fellas! Found your site and thought I would ask a few questions to get some educated answers. I'm not new to the home theater area but I'm no pro either. I've got a small Sony surround system: DVD/CD changer, tuner, 1 aux in. Audio comes into it through RCA cables. Also have a 4-way splitter bringing audio in from PS3,PS2,VCR, N64.

I've been thinking about upgrading my speakers, new L and R mains, new center, new rears, new sub, but my question is if I start buying some better Pioneers and splicing the wires, will it work well?? I want to begin to make my setup sound more powerful and more real. I'd eventually like to get a new receiver and take the Sony out but that will have to be later, will it push bigger and better speakers for now??

#2 of 9 OFFLINE   Robert_J

Robert_J

Lead Actor

• 8,160 posts
  • LocationMississippi

Posted August 09 2010 - 01:49 AM

We need more details about the Sony to give you an accurate answer.  It sounds like the Sony is a home theater in a box (HTiB) system since you mentioned "splicing" wires.  What is the impedance of your current speakers?  What is the impedance of the speakers you are looking at?  How many watts does the Sony push?  Is the sub active or passive?

Are you really looking at getting Pioneer speakers?  Really?

#3 of 9 OFFLINE   snake

snake

Agent

• 42 posts

Posted August 09 2010 - 02:02 AM

Imp. is 2.7 on all except 1.3 on the sub and it is passive.

"Are you really looking at getting Pioneer speakers?  Really?"

Are they that bad??? /img/vbsmilies/htf/confused.gif