Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Sony STR DG820 receiver sound problems.. protecter shut down.. low volume on voices

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
2 replies to this topic

#1 of 3 OFFLINE   thefloss316

thefloss316

Auditioning

• 1 posts

Posted June 29 2010 - 02:26 PM

I am fairly new to having a receiver hooked up to my tv.  it has  HDMI's hooked up to PS3 , Bell Expressvu receiver and to my tv.  Have had no problems with it until lately the protecter keeps shutting it off.  usually before this happens the volume is really low, (turning it up past the normal volume levels we listen to it on just to hear voices on the tv shows, music seems really loud)  it shuts itself down,  I have searched through the book that it came with but it has really been no help to me.  I checked my connections to make sure none of them are loose.  Just wondering if anyone else has had any problems like this and maybe it is something that i have done.  This problem has happened twice now within the last 3 weeks.  I also checked to make sure that the night mode on the remote was off too.  Please help..

#2 of 3 OFFLINE   gene c

gene c

Producer

• 5,734 posts
  • LocationBay area, Ca

Posted June 29 2010 - 02:55 PM

These types of problems can be frustrating and difficult to diagnose through a forum.

The first thing is are you sure everything is hooked up right? I know you looked for loose connections but are they all in the right place?

What speakers and sub woofer do you have?

Also, did you run the MCACC automatic setup feature? If so, these, including Audyssey, YAPO and EZSetEQ found on other receivers, often set the speakers to Large instead of small. This puts more strain on the receivers amplifier and less on the powered sub woofer.