Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Disney takes away one of Blu-rays best features


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 of 32 Peter Neski

Peter Neski

    Supporting Actor

  • 873 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 14 2005

Posted June 06 2010 - 06:28 AM

Seems pretty clear to me Disney is making freeze framing imposible on some of its titles,I just

noticed that evertime you pause the New Alice in Wonderland ,not only do you get disneys stupid timeline,

You get a picture of the start of the chapter ,and no way of clearly seeing a freeze frame


They did this on Snow White without the chapter picture,but still they are making people keep their dvds!!!


This is a Joke!!!


#2 of 32 Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Moderator

  • 15,637 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted June 06 2010 - 07:41 AM

Lame =(


"Sam, you are the biggest nutter we have here."

Blog: Navesink.net - My Flickr Stream - Dolby Atmos Discussion Thread - Updates at Twitter - Join the HTF Flickr Pool


#3 of 32 Jeff Jacobson

Jeff Jacobson

    Screenwriter

  • 2,116 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 24 2001

Posted June 06 2010 - 01:04 PM

Perhaps they're afraid of another controversy.



#4 of 32 TonyD

TonyD

    Who do we think I am?

  • 15,994 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 01 1999
  • Real Name:Tony D.
  • LocationDisney World and Universal Florida

Posted June 06 2010 - 04:36 PM

This isn't znything new. I've seen this "feature" on blu Ray, probably Disney since the beginning.

facebook.com/whotony


#5 of 32 CraigF

CraigF

    Screenwriter

  • 2,307 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 20 2002
  • Real Name:Craig
  • LocationToronto area, Canada

Posted June 06 2010 - 05:48 PM

Yeah, I've seen some "timelines" and other associated crap fill so much of the display that pausing to take in the beauty of a scene is pointless. Haven't seen it much lately though, on what I've been watching. I think Pixars had a lot of it (i.e. Disney). I do like it the way Universal's timelines can be made to totally disappear to leave a clear screen.



#6 of 32 Eric Peterson

Eric Peterson

    Screenwriter

  • 2,959 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 02 2001

Posted June 06 2010 - 11:51 PM

That is lame beyond lame.  One of my favorite things to do with animation is to pause and marvel at the skill of the artists.....and now Disney isn't going to allow me to do that?   I guess that means that I won't be upgrading any of my Disney DVDs to Blu-Ray.  This is a HUUUUUUUUGEE deal breaker for me.



#7 of 32 Southpaw

Southpaw

    Supporting Actor

  • 881 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 02 2006

Posted June 07 2010 - 01:56 AM

Seriously guys? You won't purchase your favorite titles with incredibly superior picture and sound quality simply because you can't pause the film in the way you want?
I'm sure the studios are beating themselves up over this dilemma.....



#8 of 32 Eric Peterson

Eric Peterson

    Screenwriter

  • 2,959 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 02 2001

Posted June 07 2010 - 03:43 AM



Originally Posted by Southpaw 

Seriously guys? You won't purchase your favorite titles with incredibly superior picture and sound quality simply because you can't pause the film in the way you want?
I'm sure the studios are beating themselves up over this dilemma.....



NOPE!


I like to study the art of animation.  I have countless books on the art form...and have been lustily looking forward to Blu-Rays tru 24FPS capbility for being able to pause on each individual cell.  Apparently, Disney doesn't want us to, so I no longer have to send them my money.


I will definintely not be upgrading my old DVDs to Blu, but in the future will I still only buy DVD (I don't know?)



#9 of 32 mattCR

mattCR

    Lead Actor

  • 9,996 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 05 2005
  • Real Name:Matt
  • LocationOverland Park, KS

Posted June 07 2010 - 04:44 AM

While Disney's Java based menus may caused this, as almost any HTPC owner could tell you, they can be (legitimately) disabled with playback software.  I never enable the pop-backs etc. on any studio title, preferring software freezes instead.   And so, Disney's move here will impact everyone using a set top player for sure, but not all of us.


trakt.tv

Ask Me about HTPC! (Threads in HTPC / PMs always responded to)

This signature is povided by MediaBrowser 3 Trakt Plugin: Media Browser 3


#10 of 32 Peter Neski

Peter Neski

    Supporting Actor

  • 873 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 14 2005

Posted June 07 2010 - 05:55 AM

I was happy to see monsters inc lets you clear the stuff off to see a still frame,but the alice BR dosn't



#11 of 32 TonyD

TonyD

    Who do we think I am?

  • 15,994 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 01 1999
  • Real Name:Tony D.
  • LocationDisney World and Universal Florida

Posted June 07 2010 - 06:00 AM



Originally Posted by Eric Peterson 





NOPE!


I like to study the art of animation.  I have countless books on the art form...and have been lustily looking forward to Blu-Rays tru 24FPS capbility for being able to pause on each individual cell.  Apparently, Disney doesn't want us to, so I no longer have to send them my money.


I will definintely not be upgrading my old DVDs to Blu, but in the future will I still only buy DVD (I don't know?)


I want to watch the movie and couldn't care less about freeze frame and stills of a movie on my tv.


facebook.com/whotony


#12 of 32 Aaron Silverman

Aaron Silverman

    Lead Actor

  • 9,380 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 22 1999
  • Real Name:Aaron Silverman
  • LocationFlorida

Posted June 07 2010 - 06:03 AM

What really annoys me is the way the timelines stay on the screen for several seconds after you un-pause playback.


"How wonderful it will be to have a leader unburdened by the twin horrors of knowledge and experience." -- Mr. Wick

#13 of 32 CraigF

CraigF

    Screenwriter

  • 2,307 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 20 2002
  • Real Name:Craig
  • LocationToronto area, Canada

Posted June 07 2010 - 06:45 AM

^ Now that you mention it, one of the Pixars is quite bad for that, it annoyed me too. Probably Up.


It is apparent that some of us Pause a lot, for whatever reason. I am really bad for that, things need to be done, things need to be fetched. We are so spoilt we're complaining about our conveniences now. /img/vbsmilies/htf/smile.gif


By accident, last night I figured out how to get rid of Universal's timeline, permanently, from a movie. Gets rid of the pop-up menu too though, got to see how portable it is between their BD stuff. I seem to watch an awful lot of Uni BDs...



#14 of 32 Mike Frezon

Mike Frezon

    Studio Mogul

  • 28,769 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 09 2001
  • LocationRensselaer, NY

Posted June 07 2010 - 07:04 AM

Yup.  I really hate it, too, when the on-screen information gets in the way of the paused image.


This also happens on my Dish Network DVR.  I can't tell you how many times I pause a program to read something (a distant sign or something of that sort) only to be blocked by the on-screen time-line.  It wreaks absolute havoc on trying to read Chuck Lorre's vanity cards at the end of programs like The Big Bang Theory.  They are only on-screen a second.  You have to pause them to read them...yet I can't.


BTW, I cleaned up a couple of typos in the title of this thread.


There's Jessie the yodeling cowgirl. Bullseye, he's Woody's horse. Pete the old prospector. And, Woody, the man himself.Of course, it's time for Woody's RoundUp. He's the very best! He's the rootinest, tootinest cowboy in the wild, wild west!


HTF Rules | HTF Mission Statement | Father of the Bride

Dieting with my Dog & Heart to Heart/Hand in Paw by Peggy Frezon


#15 of 32 Timothy E

Timothy E

    Supporting Actor

  • 850 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 20 2007

Posted June 07 2010 - 07:10 AM



Originally Posted by Mike Frezon 
This also happens on my Dish Network DVR.  I can't tell you how many times I pause a program to read something (a distant sign or something of that sort) only to be blocked by the on-screen time-line.  It wreaks absolute havoc on trying to read Chuck Lorre's vanity cards at the end of programs like The Big Bang Theory.  They are only on-screen a second.  You have to pause them to read them...yet I can't.


I have done the same thing with reading Chuck Lorre's cards on DirecTV.  The bad thing is that the information bar obstructs part of the screen.  The good thing is that the information bar disappears after a couple of minutes on pause and then the entire screen is unobstructed.


#16 of 32 Steve Christou

Steve Christou

    Long Member

  • 14,160 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 25 2000
  • Real Name:Steve Christou
  • LocationLondon, England

Posted June 07 2010 - 09:18 AM

Gosh I've been missing out on all the freeze-frame fun. I can't remember the last film I purposely freeze-framed. Might have been Basic Instinct...


I did temporarily pause The Wolfman a couple of hours ago (no resume, new technology, pfft!) the timeline appeared at the bottom of the screen, but most of the picture was still on show, not enough?



Dave hören... auf, wille stoppen sie Dave... stoppen sie Dave... Mein gehirn geht... Ich bin gefühl es... Ich bin gefühl es... Ich bin ängstlich Dave... Guter Nachmittag. Ich bin ein HAL 9000 computer. Ich wurde funktionsfähig am HAL-Betrieb in Urbana, Illinois auf January 12 1992.


Lord of the Hubs


#17 of 32 Aaron Silverman

Aaron Silverman

    Lead Actor

  • 9,380 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 22 1999
  • Real Name:Aaron Silverman
  • LocationFlorida

Posted June 07 2010 - 09:27 AM

The timelines often cover up the subtitles.  That's what bothers me. Granted, it's not so hard to rewind a few more seconds, but it's just stupid.


"How wonderful it will be to have a leader unburdened by the twin horrors of knowledge and experience." -- Mr. Wick

#18 of 32 David Deeb

David Deeb

    Supporting Actor

  • 838 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 17 2005

Posted June 07 2010 - 09:51 AM

Much of this is the "solution in search of a problem".   I mean how elaborate does a "pause" function need to be?


Yet, we have studios using functions and features to "pretty"-up & add a little flair.

Universal's stupid screen-saver wrecks havoc on my Sony.  If I pause a Universal BD for more than :45 seconds, their screen saver starts.  Sometimes it won't stop without me restarting the entire damn thing.  And suffering through the load-up, the billion FBI warnings, disclaimers, Spanish disclaimers, Spanish FBI warnings & forced trailers all over again!!



#19 of 32 Johnny Angell

Johnny Angell

    Played With Dinosaurs Member

  • 5,002 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 13 1998
  • Real Name:Johnny Angell
  • LocationCentral Arkansas

Posted June 07 2010 - 12:04 PM



Originally Posted by David Deeb 

Much of this is the "solution in search of a problem".   I mean how elaborate does a "pause" function need to be?


If you create authoring software that allows the programmer to add features A, B, & C, you can bet A, B, & C features will be on the disc.  I think I've even seen the back of the cases brag about the "timeline" as a feature.  Count me in the camp of "eh, who cares."


BTW, with your DTV DVR once you hit pause, hit the exit key and the timeline bar will go away.


Johnny
www.teamfurr.org
But a family cat is not replaceable like a wornout coat or a set of tires. Each new kitten becomes its own cat, and none is repeated. I am four cats old, measuring out my life in friends that have succeeded but not replaced one another.--Irving Townsend


#20 of 32 Steve Christou

Steve Christou

    Long Member

  • 14,160 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 25 2000
  • Real Name:Steve Christou
  • LocationLondon, England

Posted June 07 2010 - 12:21 PM

Btw many of todays HD TV sets have a built in freeze frame function if you must have that perfect still frame, it's on the remote, the downside is the film is still playing while you're ogling the shot. It works with tv signals it should work with dvds and blu-rays too.


Dave hören... auf, wille stoppen sie Dave... stoppen sie Dave... Mein gehirn geht... Ich bin gefühl es... Ich bin gefühl es... Ich bin ängstlich Dave... Guter Nachmittag. Ich bin ein HAL 9000 computer. Ich wurde funktionsfähig am HAL-Betrieb in Urbana, Illinois auf January 12 1992.


Lord of the Hubs





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users