-

- - - - -

Best Home Theater System

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
11 replies to this topic

#1 of 12 Guest__*

Guest__*

Posted May 04 2010 - 08:02 AM

Hello,

I bought a Sony Bravia DAVF500 5.1 Home Theatre recently and realized that I can' connect my PS3 directly to it with the optical output.  So, there is no way for me to get the best digital 5.1 sound from my system with my blu ray neither my PS3 Games.  So, I'm planning to return the system this weekend. 

That's being said, I'm quite new to the Home Theater environment and would like to know if you would have a good Home Theater System to recommend to me around the 1000$.  Should I go with a Yamaha Soundbar instead?

I have a new full 1080 HD Panasoninc Plasma TV (3 HDMI connections).  I'm using a Bell HD Satellite Receiver, and I have a PS3 (which I use for games and Blue Ray). 

Because I do have a Panasonic HD TV, should I look for a Panasonic Home Theater?

Many thanks for your advice!

Jonathan

#2 of 12 OFFLINE   Ed Moxley

Ed Moxley

Screenwriter

• 2,701 posts
  • LocationEastern NC

Posted May 04 2010 - 08:58 AM

Here is an excellent system for less than $1000.
It decodes the HD audio formats, so you'll get the maximum enjoyment of your blu ray movies. Is the ps3 the old fat one, or the new slim one?
http://www.amazon.co...73006380&sr=1-1
Quote:
So, there is no way for me to get the best digital 5.1 sound from my system with my blu ray neither my PS3 Games.Should I go with a Yamaha Soundbar instead?
There's no way you'll get good 5.1 surround from a soundbar, much less "the best 5.1 sound".

Samsung HL61A750 (LED DLP)            Onkyo TX-SR805
Oppo BDP-83 Blu ray                                  Polk Audio LSi9
Polk Audio LSiC                                  Sony SS-MB100H
SVS PC12-NSD (Sub)                       ...

#3 of 12 OFFLINE   gene c

gene c

Producer

• 5,707 posts
  • LocationBay area, Ca

Posted May 04 2010 - 09:54 AM