What's new

Adding Amp to Onkyo Home Theater (1 Viewer)

tmahoney

Grip
Real Name
travis
I have an Onkyo HT s5200 which sounds great but is not loud enough. I am curious if hooking up a second amp then two PAs off that would be an option? Or if there were louder L/R speakers I could hook up to the existing system? Any ideas would help me out, I basically just want louder music where sound quality is not a huge concern.

Thanks for you help.

Robert_J

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Robert
If you want louder for home theater, you will need to upgrade all of your speakers. Upgrading your mains without a matching center will only cause unbalanced sound. Your center speaker won't be able to keep up with the left and right speakers.

An amp and PA speakers are an option if you want just music to be louder. What is your budget for this?

tmahoney

Grip
Real Name
travis
I'm a college student in an apartment complex and we always throw small parties. Noise complaints are not a concern and i'm basically trying to make my system louder than other rooms. My budget is anywhere from $300 - $400 and unbalanced sound isn't a hugh concern. Would it be possible to hook an amp/2 PAs up to the existing system then just unplug it when were not having parties? The point behind this would be maintaining sound quality when watching movies but increasing volume during parties.

Thanks again for the help.

tmahoney

Grip
Real Name
travis
I'm a college student in an apartment complex and we always throw small parties. Noise complaints are not a concern and i'm basically trying to make my system louder than other rooms. My budget is anywhere from $300 - $400 and unbalanced sound isn't a hugh concern. Would it be possible to hook an amp/2 PAs up to the existing system then just unplug it when were not having parties? The point behind this would be maintaining sound quality when watching movies but increasing volume during parties.

Thanks again for the help.

Ed Moxley

Senior HTF Member