-

Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Oppo BDP-83 hangs at 1:07 mark on "Sherlock Holmes"


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
18 replies to this topic

#1 of 19 pjsuarez

pjsuarez

    Auditioning

  • 13 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 09 2007

Posted April 04 2010 - 03:18 PM

Starting at the one hour, seven minute mark, the Blu-ray of "Sherlock Holmes" hung up. After a restart, it continued to hang at various points thereafter. The disk is new and clean. The disk played just fine on my wife's Panasonic DMP-BD60K. I put on Disk Three of Season One of "The Sopranos" after the disk hang and "The Sopranos" disk played without a hitch.

Any suggestions on why "Sherlock Holmes" wouldn't track on the Oppo but tracked well on the Panasonic.

Thanks to all in advance.


#2 of 19 Ed Moxley

Ed Moxley

    Screenwriter

  • 2,701 posts
  • Join Date: May 25 2003
  • Real Name:Ed
  • LocationEastern NC

Posted April 05 2010 - 12:48 AM

See which version of firmware you have. If you don't have the newest, you should install it.

Samsung HL61A750 (LED DLP)            Onkyo TX-SR805
Oppo BDP-83 Blu ray                                  Polk Audio LSi9
Polk Audio LSiC                                  Sony SS-MB100H
SVS PC12-NSD (Sub)                       ...

#3 of 19 TheBat

TheBat

    Producer

  • 3,007 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 02 1999

Posted April 05 2010 - 02:08 AM

you should also contact oppo about it. they are a really good about doing firmware updates for their titles.

Jacob


#4 of 19 pjsuarez

pjsuarez

    Auditioning

  • 13 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 09 2007

Posted April 05 2010 - 05:52 AM

I have the latest firmware. It still misbehaves. Is there anything else I should try? Thanks in advance.


#5 of 19 TheBat

TheBat

    Producer

  • 3,007 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 02 1999

Posted April 05 2010 - 06:52 AM

try this. I contacted oppo and got this reponse from them.

Jacob

With many films disabling BD-LIVE and Clearing the Persistent will resolve issues with discs not loading the Main Menu. This is true for Sherlock Holmes.

#6 of 19 pjsuarez

pjsuarez

    Auditioning

  • 13 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 09 2007

Posted April 05 2010 - 11:03 AM

Thanks!


#7 of 19 TheBat

TheBat

    Producer

  • 3,007 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 02 1999

Posted April 05 2010 - 12:11 PM

your welcome.

Jacob


#8 of 19 John Garcia

John Garcia

    Executive Producer

  • 11,532 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 24 1999
  • Real Name:John
  • LocationNorCal

Posted April 06 2010 - 05:51 AM

My SE has a problem playing Max Payne with the latest beta firmware.  They've asked me to send them the disc for testing.
HT: Emotiva UMC-200, Emotiva XPA-3, Carnegie Acoustics CSB-1s + CSC-1, GR Research A/V-1s, Epik Empire, Oppo BDP-105, PS4, PS3,URC R-50, APC-H10, Panamax 5100 Bluejeans Cable
System Two: Marantz PM7200, Pioneer FS52s, Panasonic BD79
(stolen) : Marantz SR-8300, GR Research A/V-2s, Sony SCD-222ES SACD, Panasonic BD-65, PS3 60G (250G)

Everybody is a genius, but if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it’ll spend its whole life believing that it is stupid.” – Albert Einstein

 


#9 of 19 Ed Moxley

Ed Moxley

    Screenwriter

  • 2,701 posts
  • Join Date: May 25 2003
  • Real Name:Ed
  • LocationEastern NC

Posted April 06 2010 - 07:53 AM

John........ My BDP-83 isn't the SE model, but it doesn't have a problem playing Max Payne. I don't have the latest beta firmware either. I just have the latest released production firmware. You might want to rent the movie, to find out if you have a bad disc.

Samsung HL61A750 (LED DLP)            Onkyo TX-SR805
Oppo BDP-83 Blu ray                                  Polk Audio LSi9
Polk Audio LSiC                                  Sony SS-MB100H
SVS PC12-NSD (Sub)                       ...

#10 of 19 John Garcia

John Garcia

    Executive Producer

  • 11,532 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 24 1999
  • Real Name:John
  • LocationNorCal

Posted April 06 2010 - 12:06 PM

The disc works fine in my PS3.  I just got back from Oppo's facility here and they confirmed the issue and will be looking into it.  It played fine on my player with the 1224 firmware, but it does not with the new beta.  The SE and the standard 83 have the same video decoder and use the same firmware, so it will occur in yours as well if you were to update it.  We also tested it on the BD-80 with the current production firmware and it plays it fine.
HT: Emotiva UMC-200, Emotiva XPA-3, Carnegie Acoustics CSB-1s + CSC-1, GR Research A/V-1s, Epik Empire, Oppo BDP-105, PS4, PS3,URC R-50, APC-H10, Panamax 5100 Bluejeans Cable
System Two: Marantz PM7200, Pioneer FS52s, Panasonic BD79
(stolen) : Marantz SR-8300, GR Research A/V-2s, Sony SCD-222ES SACD, Panasonic BD-65, PS3 60G (250G)

Everybody is a genius, but if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it’ll spend its whole life believing that it is stupid.” – Albert Einstein

 


#11 of 19 Southpaw

Southpaw

    Supporting Actor

  • 881 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 02 2006

Posted April 06 2010 - 12:54 PM

 Huh, played perfectly fine for me on my BDP83 with latest firmware.

#12 of 19 John Garcia

John Garcia

    Executive Producer

  • 11,532 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 24 1999
  • Real Name:John
  • LocationNorCal

Posted April 06 2010 - 03:57 PM

Latest or latest beta?  The new beta firmware came out a few weeks ago.  The most recent production firmware is fine.
HT: Emotiva UMC-200, Emotiva XPA-3, Carnegie Acoustics CSB-1s + CSC-1, GR Research A/V-1s, Epik Empire, Oppo BDP-105, PS4, PS3,URC R-50, APC-H10, Panamax 5100 Bluejeans Cable
System Two: Marantz PM7200, Pioneer FS52s, Panasonic BD79
(stolen) : Marantz SR-8300, GR Research A/V-2s, Sony SCD-222ES SACD, Panasonic BD-65, PS3 60G (250G)

Everybody is a genius, but if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it’ll spend its whole life believing that it is stupid.” – Albert Einstein

 


#13 of 19 Southpaw

Southpaw

    Supporting Actor

  • 881 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 02 2006

Posted April 07 2010 - 12:56 AM

I'm pretty sure I have the latest beta because I distinctly remember having to make a CD-R of the update instead of just downloading it via ethernet connection.

#14 of 19 Ed Moxley

Ed Moxley

    Screenwriter

  • 2,701 posts
  • Join Date: May 25 2003
  • Real Name:Ed
  • LocationEastern NC

Posted April 07 2010 - 02:05 AM

John............
Just for the fun of it, I'd still rent it and try it. Afterall, some players have always played discs better than others, for whatever reason. Also, I've found that the more expensive the player, the pickier it is. There were discs that my Denon 2200 wouldn't play, but my Pioneer 563a would play without a problem. The Denon cost four or five times more than the Pioneer.

I know you said it played before the FW update, but I'd still try it. Mine wouldn't play the first Iron Man I tried. I tried a different copy and it played except for a 3-4 sec. freeze in the middle of the movie. No visible scratches on either disc. I recently bought it, and it plays without a bit of problem. Different discs have their own little quirks. It was just an idea. Less than $5 to rent from BlockBuster, especially just for one night. I could be totally wrong in your situation, but thought it was worth a try.

Samsung HL61A750 (LED DLP)            Onkyo TX-SR805
Oppo BDP-83 Blu ray                                  Polk Audio LSi9
Polk Audio LSiC                                  Sony SS-MB100H
SVS PC12-NSD (Sub)                       ...

#15 of 19 John Garcia

John Garcia

    Executive Producer

  • 11,532 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 24 1999
  • Real Name:John
  • LocationNorCal

Posted April 07 2010 - 03:53 AM

Ed, normally I would give that a try, but in this case we confirmed the same behavior on another player.  They said it is definitely a decoder problem and that they can fix it.

Originally Posted by Southpaw 

I'm pretty sure I have the latest beta because I distinctly remember having to make a CD-R of the update instead of just downloading it via ethernet connection.
Could you please verify what version you have in the setup menu?  Thanks.


HT: Emotiva UMC-200, Emotiva XPA-3, Carnegie Acoustics CSB-1s + CSC-1, GR Research A/V-1s, Epik Empire, Oppo BDP-105, PS4, PS3,URC R-50, APC-H10, Panamax 5100 Bluejeans Cable
System Two: Marantz PM7200, Pioneer FS52s, Panasonic BD79
(stolen) : Marantz SR-8300, GR Research A/V-2s, Sony SCD-222ES SACD, Panasonic BD-65, PS3 60G (250G)

Everybody is a genius, but if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it’ll spend its whole life believing that it is stupid.” – Albert Einstein

 


#16 of 19 Southpaw

Southpaw

    Supporting Actor

  • 881 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 02 2006

Posted April 07 2010 - 12:06 PM

John - I'm not in a position to check my firmware right now but after researching it a bit, it appears I don't have the latest beta. I just realized that they released a new one a week ago. I thought you were talking about the one that came out a couple months ago, which is the one I do have (it added the adjustable subtitle feature).
Sorry for adding any confusion.

#17 of 19 Phil A

Phil A

    Screenwriter

  • 2,765 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 01 2000
  • Real Name:Phil
  • LocationCentral FL

Posted April 09 2010 - 12:48 PM

 No problems for me on Sherlock Holmes.  I have the Jan; 5 software and a modded BDP-83 (which doesn't impact video).

#18 of 19 John Garcia

John Garcia

    Executive Producer

  • 11,532 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 24 1999
  • Real Name:John
  • LocationNorCal

Posted April 13 2010 - 05:12 AM

Sherlock Holmes shouldn't be an issue; as mentioned earlier in the thread, resetting the player and clearing the internal memory should allow it to play.

I was having another issue with the SE the other day so I went back to the 1224 firmware last night and tested Max Payne - it played fine.  (the other issue was unrelated to the firmware and is now fixed)
HT: Emotiva UMC-200, Emotiva XPA-3, Carnegie Acoustics CSB-1s + CSC-1, GR Research A/V-1s, Epik Empire, Oppo BDP-105, PS4, PS3,URC R-50, APC-H10, Panamax 5100 Bluejeans Cable
System Two: Marantz PM7200, Pioneer FS52s, Panasonic BD79
(stolen) : Marantz SR-8300, GR Research A/V-2s, Sony SCD-222ES SACD, Panasonic BD-65, PS3 60G (250G)

Everybody is a genius, but if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it’ll spend its whole life believing that it is stupid.” – Albert Einstein

 


#19 of 19 Juanvickers

Juanvickers

    Auditioning

  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 13 2010

Posted April 14 2010 - 08:17 PM

Undoubtedly, technology problems hold you and your company back. That's not good for business and as such it's a great idea to get the problems fixed quickly.