What's new

Need opinions on a new LCD tv for under 600 (1 Viewer)

Taggert

Auditioning
Real Name
Dave Ashe
Greetings all!

I am currently in the market for a new LCD tv. I have been using a 32 inch JVC CRT for the past like 10+ years and my grandfather whom i live with has a Panasonic 32 inch CRT which is starting to go (the image is pushing in on one side) So since my JVC still works fine, i figured i will give it to him and get a LCD for myself since i do game occasionally.

I am not a kid mind you (i know this sounds like a odd statement but a lot of people act like I'm 18 when in fact I'm almost 40..lol) I take care of my gramps and thus need my game time to unwind..lol

Any way on to my questions:

For the price point and the fact that i am only about 10 feet tops from my Set, what brands would you recommend?

So far i have considered Vizio, Insignia, Samsung, Sanyo, Sony and Panasonic (tho the last ones are hard to find in that price range)

I would want either a 37 or 40-42 (from what i read anything bigger may not look as good this close.

Also at this viewing range is 1080p really necessary?

And to answer some questions:

Yes i watch a lot of movies (movie night every weekend at my place)

I do have a Onkyo HT already 6.1 HT-R510 which i have had for a few years now and i love it. (tho no HDMI worries me)

I do game occasionally whit my bud and his PS3

ATM i do not have A BR player but will be getting one at the time i get the TV

If there is anything else you would like to know please feel free to ask.

thanks in advance for any and all advice!

Dave

David Willow

Babbling Idiot
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave
Hi Dave,

It is hard to get something too big. I have 61" and i sit about 8-9 feet from the screen. 1080p really shines from that distance (with that size).