Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Oppo BDP-83...I'm not getting subtitles on DVD


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
8 replies to this topic

#1 of 9 OFFLINE   Hans M.

Hans M.

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 227 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 05 2003

Posted February 19 2010 - 11:39 PM

I tried to watch the Grand Illusion last night on DVD on my Oppo BDP-83, but the subtitles would not come on. I press the subtitle button on the remote, it shows English subtitles are selected but they do not appear on the screen. I go back to the main menu on the DVD and select subtitles that way, and they still do not appear. I only recently bought this player, and did the firmware update just last week. Anyone else have this issue and can share a fix?


#2 of 9 OFFLINE   gene c

gene c

    Producer



  • 5,719 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 05 2003
  • Real Name:Gene
  • LocationBay area, Ca

Posted February 20 2010 - 04:01 AM

I think it has to do with how the sound is transfered from the player. I remenber reading something about this issue quite a while ago and I don't think subtitles are available thru Bitstream on BR discs since the player isn't doing the decoding. Try changing from Bitstream to LPCM in the OPPO's main setup menu and see if it works. But your receiver must be capable of accepting LPCM which I think most 1.3 receivers are.
"Everyday room": Panasonic 58" Plasma, Dish HD DVR, Pioneer Elite vsx-23, BDP-23 BR, dv58avi universal dvd player, Paradigm Studio 20 V1, CC-450, Dayton HSU-10 subwoofer.

"Movie/Music room": Toshiba 65" DLP, Dish HD receiver, Marantz 7005, CC-4003, BD-7006, Polk LSI25's-LSi7's-LSiC, 2 original Dayton 10" "Mighty-Mites" subwoofers. (subject to change without notice).
 
Also have  MB Quart Vera VS05 +.....too much to list. Help me.
 
 

 


#3 of 9 OFFLINE   Leo Kerr

Leo Kerr

    Screenwriter



  • 1,699 posts
  • Join Date: May 10 1999

Posted February 20 2010 - 08:52 AM

that shouldn't effect the subtitle display.

What mode is the player in, and what mode is the display in?  If someone is zooming things, then they might be 'off sceen' -- particularly if the display is in some sort of expansion mode.

The closest I had was the Oppo not showing the "display" stuff, but it was when I had a non-anamorphic content being blown-up by the projector.

Leo


#4 of 9 OFFLINE   Hans M.

Hans M.

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 227 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 05 2003

Posted February 27 2010 - 02:24 AM

Just to let you all know that I finally figured this out. Seems by default the Oppo comes out of the box with the subtitles a bit low on the screen. There was a firmware upgrade to allow you to hold down the subtitle button and then adjust how they are displayed by pressing the direction controls to move them up higher on the screen.


#5 of 9 OFFLINE   Gary Padgett

Gary Padgett

    Auditioning



  • 2 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 26 2004

Posted March 02 2010 - 02:26 PM

 I discovered the same thing by accident.  It seems on the OPPO they are about five remote clicks too low.  Now they look fine on my 55" display.

#6 of 9 OFFLINE   Chris Bedard

Chris Bedard

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 70 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 14 1999

Posted April 11 2010 - 06:01 PM

The above posters are correct. You can also access the Oppo menu's to adjust the display height of subtitles. It's set at -5 by default (not sure why). Set it to zero and you should be fine.

Chris

#7 of 9 OFFLINE   John Garcia

John Garcia

    Executive Producer



  • 11,547 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 24 1999
  • Real Name:John
  • LocationNorCal

Posted April 12 2010 - 04:20 AM

Do you have the latest firmware?  If you install that (1224 official release) when you reset to factory defaults, it will set them to zero.  I noticed that with some of the other versions, setting it to zero without setting to defaults would NOT adjust the level of the subtitles correctly. I found this out with the District 9 BD.

HT: Emotiva UMC-200, Emotiva XPA-3, Carnegie Acoustics CSB-1s + CSC-1, GR Research A/V-1s, Epik Empire, Oppo BDP-105, PS4, PS3,URC R-50, APC-H10, Panamax 5100 Bluejeans Cable
System Two: Marantz PM7200, Pioneer FS52s, Panasonic BD79
(stolen) : Marantz SR-8300, GR Research A/V-2s, Sony SCD-222ES SACD, Panasonic BD-65, PS3 60G (250G)

Everybody is a genius, but if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it’ll spend its whole life believing that it is stupid.” – Albert Einstein

 


#8 of 9 OFFLINE   AdamG2

AdamG2

    Auditioning



  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 07 2009

Posted April 12 2010 - 06:49 AM

I had on odd subtitle issue with 2012 BD the other day.  The first issue I have ever had with the player.  They were too low on the screen, and trying to raise them through the menu had no impact.  Power cycling the Oppo fixed it.  When it happened (approx 2 weeks ago) I was on the lateset FW at the time.

#9 of 9 OFFLINE   Ted Todorov

Ted Todorov

    Screenwriter



  • 2,895 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 17 2000

Posted November 22 2010 - 08:56 AM

OK, this is what must have been happening to A Prophet Blu-ray -- we were seeing like one subtitle for every 5 lines of dialog -- probably getting stuff that was higher up on the screen...


There was a firmware upgrade to allow you to hold down the subtitle button and then adjust how they are displayed by pressing the direction controls to move them up higher on the screen.


Does this change stay permanent or do you have to do it for every disc?


Hold on tightly, let go lightly.