Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

PS-3 surround issue


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 of 12 OFFLINE   chuckg

chuckg

    Supporting Actor



  • 917 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 27 2004

Posted January 15 2010 - 02:46 PM

Well, something strange has happened.  While watching "UP" for about the third time, I noticed that the sound was stereo.  After looking at every setting on the PS-3 and checking the film, here is what I get:

The on-screen display claims Dolby 5.1 from the BD disk
The AVR (Yamaha 5790) shows only stereo in
Optical out is selected
All the various formats that Optical can support are checked in the PS-3 sound settings menu
After swapping optical cables, I'm sure it is the PS-3 and not my AVR

Here's an oddity:
When you fire up the PS-3, it plays a pleasant little tune, in surround mode, but the movie only comes out in stereo!
Yes, the tune is heard in surround, and it lights the surround indicators on the AVR.


Anyone have a clue?  I'm stumped. 
Thanks in advance...
--ignore the man behind the curtain

#2 of 12 OFFLINE   chuckg

chuckg

    Supporting Actor



  • 917 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 27 2004

Posted January 15 2010 - 05:14 PM

..and this is disquieting:
Games, such as PAIN, play in surround
DVD movies play in surround

It is only the Blu-Ray disks which play stereo only.   Maddening.
--ignore the man behind the curtain

#3 of 12 OFFLINE   Edwin-S

Edwin-S

    Producer



  • 5,642 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 20 2000

Posted January 15 2010 - 07:56 PM

Do you have the PS3's output set to PCM or bitstream?. If it is showing PCM then change the setting to bitstream. With PCM set, HD audio tracks are downrezzed to 2 channel because multi-channel HD audio tracks cannot be output over optical. With bitstream selected in the sound settings, HD audio tracks will be converted to one of the legacy lossy formats. For example, the lossy DTS core at 1.5 Mb/s will be extracted from the DTS HD Master Audio stream. In the case of Dolby TrueHD a hidden, parallel recorded, 640 Kb/s lossy track will be output.
"You bring a horse for me?" "Looks like......looks like we're shy of one horse." "No.......You brought two too many."

#4 of 12 OFFLINE   chuckg

chuckg

    Supporting Actor



  • 917 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 27 2004

Posted January 16 2010 - 02:07 AM

I understand...but I can't find any place to set the output.

If I go to settings, sound settings, audio output settings,
select optical cable
I get a bunch of check boxes for audio formats (x is checked, o is not checked)
   x Dolby Digital 5.1 ch
   x DTS 5.1 ch
   o AAC
   x Linear PCM 2 ch 44.1 kHz   (greyed out)
   o linear PCM 2 ch 88.2 kHz
   o Linear PCM 2 ch 176.4 kHz
   x Linear PCM 2 ch 48 kHz   (greyed out)
then I see a summary and press X to save


Where do I choose bitstream?

This was all working excellently before yesterday, so something somewhere has changed.  I've been working on setting up my HArmony 1100, so I may have fumble-fingered something.  Setting up the PS3 when new was a breeze, but I'm mighty puzzled right now.

Thanks!
--ignore the man behind the curtain

#5 of 12 OFFLINE   chuckg

chuckg

    Supporting Actor



  • 917 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 27 2004

Posted January 16 2010 - 02:35 AM

OK - got it.  For the edification of future addle pated button punchers:

There are THREE places where you set audio output for the PS3

1) settings, audio settings, audio output settings

2) settings, VIDEO settings, BD/DVD audio output format (HDMI) 

3) settings, VIDEO settings, BD audio output format (optical digital)


while it is about as sensible as hamburgers on the ceiling, the correct plaxe to set audio is in the video menu.
--ignore the man behind the curtain

#6 of 12 OFFLINE   Brad M

Brad M

    Second Unit



  • 499 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 25 2001

Posted January 22 2010 - 10:23 AM

Thanks! I have run into this problem too and am betting this will correct it!
Don't make me hungry. You wouldn't like me when I'm hungry.

#7 of 12 OFFLINE   Handyman

Handyman

    Auditioning



  • 4 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 03 2011

Posted January 05 2011 - 09:20 PM

I have a similar problem setting up my PS3 with my 5.1 receiver via optical cable.


I am getting intermittent digital surround sound. Can anyone help?


Thanks.



#8 of 12 OFFLINE   John_Bilbrey

John_Bilbrey

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 189 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 16 2002

Posted January 07 2011 - 02:22 AM

Thanks Chuck - I just recently got a PS3 but have yet to watch a BD on it - I imagine I will have to set the audio up in the video menu (!?!) as well.



#9 of 12 OFFLINE   Eric_L

Eric_L

    Screenwriter



  • 1,991 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 02 2002

Posted March 03 2011 - 11:36 AM

OK - that is confusing.
I have gone in and changed my PS3 to send bitstream to my receiver - a Denon AVR-391.   My receiver is still saying 'multi in" which Denon tells me means that it is getting a decoded signal.  They tell me that I need to let the receiver do the decoding.

When I switch to my Xbox360 the receiver displays that it is getting digital 5.1
Both of these are connected to my receiver with HDMI.

Any suggestions on how I can get 5.1 from my PS3?  Audio used to be simple...   My brain hurts.



#10 of 12 OFFLINE   emergeent

emergeent

    Auditioning



  • 3 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 18 2013

Posted January 21 2013 - 02:10 AM

Did you ever figure this out?

#11 of 12 OFFLINE   jlm86

jlm86

    Auditioning



  • 2 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 02 2013

Posted February 03 2013 - 02:04 AM

I have similar setup, is it better to use optical, or just use HDMI for everything? Never quite understood the PCM/bitstream cofiguration or logic in this. I had assumed HDMI would supercede optical link in the technology world, but maybe i'm incorrect. thanks

#12 of 12 OFFLINE   schan1269

schan1269

    HTF Expert



  • 14,216 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 04 2012
  • Real Name:Sam
  • LocationChicago-ish/NW Indiana

Posted February 03 2013 - 02:15 AM

Unless you are dealing with lossless audio(DTS HD/DolbyTrueHD), optical vs HDMI is a moot point. The only difference between setting your PS3(just like every DVD and BD before it and after it) is... PCM=the player is decoding Bitstream=AVR is decoding




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users