Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Guitar Hero (Les Paul) Guitars on Rock Band for PS3

PlayStation

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 OFFLINE   wally

wally

    Second Unit



  • 476 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 12 2001

Posted January 13 2010 - 08:58 AM

I've read that you can use the Les Paul Guitar Hero guitars with Rock Band 2 on the PS3.

Anyone able to confirm?


#2 of 7 OFFLINE   Aaron Silverman

Aaron Silverman

    Lead Actor



  • 9,535 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 22 1999
  • Real Name:Aaron Silverman
  • LocationFlorida

Posted January 13 2010 - 09:13 AM

Yes you can.

RB1 (and at least one spinoff, the AC/DC track pack) are not compatible with the GH peripherals, but as of RB2 the two sides came to an agreement to make their instruments compatible.

Note that if you have RB2, you can import the AC/DC songs into it for free (with a one-time code), which I assume would allow you to play them with the GH guitar.  Likewise, you can import the RB1 songs into RB2, but there's a fee ($5 IIRC).


"How wonderful it will be to have a leader unburdened by the twin horrors of knowledge and experience." -- Mr. Wick

#3 of 7 OFFLINE   Morgan Jolley

Morgan Jolley

    Lead Actor



  • 8,159 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 16 2000

Posted January 14 2010 - 01:58 PM

When Rock Band 1 and Guitar Hero 3 came out (fall 2007) each company ended up making their games only work with their respective instruments.  Starting with Rock Band 2 (and the AC/DC track pack) and Guitar Hero: World Tour, all of the guitars/drums/microphones should work with those games and any games in those series going forward.

There is a chart somewhere that Harmonix made that shows which games and instruments for which platforms work together.  I forget where it is.  Your best bet to find it are Google or Wikipedia.


#4 of 7 OFFLINE   Aaron Silverman

Aaron Silverman

    Lead Actor



  • 9,535 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 22 1999
  • Real Name:Aaron Silverman
  • LocationFlorida

Posted January 15 2010 - 03:43 AM

The AC/DC track pack does not work with GH drums (it sees them as a mic, just like RB1 does).  I don't think I tried it with a GH guitar, but I am assuming that it's the same story.

You can import the tracks from it into RB2 though.


"How wonderful it will be to have a leader unburdened by the twin horrors of knowledge and experience." -- Mr. Wick

#5 of 7 OFFLINE   wally

wally

    Second Unit



  • 476 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 12 2001

Posted January 18 2010 - 05:36 AM

Thanks all. Time to pick up RB2 etc.!!!


#6 of 7 OFFLINE   Yee-Ming

Yee-Ming

    Producer



  • 4,330 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 04 2002
  • Real Name:Yee Ming Lim

Posted January 26 2010 - 02:29 PM

IIRC, any instrument for RB2 or GHWT, or later, will work equally with "the other game" or later versions.  It is backwards compatibility which is slightly problematic: I know GHWT drums don't work on RB1, and assume vice-versa as well, although as noted you can import most RB1 tracks into RB2 and play them in RB2 using GHWT instruments without trouble.  A GH3 guitar should work on RB2 etc anyway, not entirely sure about RB1 but my best guess is it does work.  I know a GHWT guitar DOES work with RB1 (I have the GHWT instruments, and have used the guitar to play RB1; drums don't work).

Also, for drums specifically, note that GHWT uses 5 lanes, RB only 4.  GHWT (and later games) can detect if you are using RB2 drums, and will downmix the 'missing' orange lane notes (to mostly green, IIRC) for use on RB2 drums, which don't have orange notes.

#7 of 7 OFFLINE   Morgan Jolley

Morgan Jolley

    Lead Actor



  • 8,159 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 16 2000

Posted January 28 2010 - 03:41 PM

http://www.rockband.com/compatibility