What's new

Yamaha RX-V465 Authority Issue (1 Viewer)

theadvisor

Auditioning
Real Name
Matt
I am relatively new to this so please bear with me. I just recently set up the following hardware: Samsung LN52B750 Display, Samsung BD-P1600 Optical reader, Yamaha RX-V465 Receiver, and a SA 8300 HD Cable box (Cablevision). I have the cable box and the bluray player running HDMI 1.3 into the receiver, which is then connect HDMI to the display. I have the Anynet+ Control turned on on both Samsung devices.

My problem is this...

1) When I have everything turned on and watching TV and try to power down the bluray player (to conserve energy), I lose the video feed from the cable box. I can still hear the sound through the speakers, but have snow on the display. I can only avoid this by disabling Anynet, but that eliminates other functionality. Is there a glitch somewhere in here, or are the two Anynet enabled devices contingent on each other for operation once activated?

2) When powering down, I shut the whole system down by simply turning off the display via the programmed cable box remote. This turns all the other components off sans the cable box (which goes to sleep shortly), which is very nice and convenient. When I try to power back on via the same method, only the display and bluray come back on line (not the receiver). It happens like this...

1) Display comes on line and cable box wake up simultaneously. Display is playing cable TV through internal speakers
2) Bluray turns on 20 seconds later, and display switches over to bluray player (receiver is still off)
3) I have to now manually power on the receiver via a separate remote, and switch the input back to the cable box