Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

What resolution should I set my laptop when it is attached to my TV


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 DanielKellmii

DanielKellmii

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 524 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 05 2004

Posted November 30 2009 - 01:45 PM

I have a 1080i TV. I have attached it to my TV via a HDMI cable. What resolution should it be set at? I have been playing around and have it at 1280x720. It seems OK, but the text is still blurry. Netflix looks great.
Thanks

#2 of 7 Will_B

Will_B

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 4,733 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 06 2001

Posted November 30 2009 - 05:53 PM

1280x720 is exactly correct. In your computer, if by chance your computer is WindowsXP, go into Control Panel > Appearance and Themes > Display > Appearance tab > Effects button > and change the "font smoothing" setting to something else, until it looks good. (If it says Clear Type, change it to Standard. If it says Standard, change it to Clear Type. And try unchecking the smoothing entirely as well. 3 choices).



"Scientists are saying the future is going to be far more futuristic than they originally predicted." -Krysta Now

#3 of 7 Joseph DeMartino

Joseph DeMartino

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 8,301 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969
  • Real Name:Joseph DeMartino
  • LocationFlorida

Posted November 30 2009 - 11:22 PM


Quote:
I have a 1080i TV.

Unless you have a direct view CRT or CRT-based rear projection set, you don't.  While all HDTVs accept a 1080i signal, plasma, LCD, "LED", DLP and LCoS sets can't display an interlaced image.  They are inherently progressive and only display their own actual native resolution.  My 56" JVC LCoS RPTV displays everything at 720p, my 32" LCD displays everything at 768p and my uncle's Sony LCoS displays everything at 1080p.  If the incoming signal doesn't match that resolution, the set rescales it.  You need to find out what your TV's native resolution is and pick the closet match to that.  (For technical reasons, "720p" LCD sets are always actually 768 pixels high which means they will reprocess even a 720p signal.  For my HD cable box I find I get a better picture with SD signals by sending 480p to my LCD and letting it scale it from there, rather letting the cable box scale them to 720p and then running it through yet another processing step.) 

Regards,

Joe



#4 of 7 DanielKellmii

DanielKellmii

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 524 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 05 2004

Posted December 01 2009 - 02:11 AM

Joe, I always love your answers. Actually, I do have a CRT HDTV. It is a "Mitsubishi Medallion HDTV 1080 Integrated." (Integrated????) It has 6 inch guns. The manual is a bit vague about the resolution. But, I think it says that using the digital input 1080i is the resolution that is supported.

Will, I am using Vista Home Premium 64-bit. I don't plan on using it for text anyways.But, thanks for the information.  

#5 of 7 Joseph DeMartino

Joseph DeMartino

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 8,301 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969
  • Real Name:Joseph DeMartino
  • LocationFlorida

Posted December 01 2009 - 05:04 AM


Quote:
 It has 6 inch guns.


Sounds like a destroyer. 

Very cool.

Joe

#6 of 7 Parker Clack

Parker Clack

    Schizophrenic Man

  • 12,055 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 30 1997
  • Real Name:Parker
  • LocationKansas City, MO

Posted December 09 2009 - 07:24 AM

What resolution will your video card go up to? Have you tried increasing the resolution to a  higher value like 1920 x 1080 or 1320 x 768 and see if that makes any difference or if your set can resolve a higher resolution?

Parker

"I tried to get my medical records from the company but they say they

are confidential and can only be released to other insurance companies,

pharmaceutical​ reps, suppliers of medical equipment and for some

reason the RNC."
 


#7 of 7 Hanson

Hanson

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 4,327 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 01 1998
  • Real Name:Hanson

Posted December 09 2009 - 07:42 AM

 Those 6" guns can't handle 1080p, so if you can get 720p, that's probably your limit.  Correct me if I'm wrong, but don't HD CRT's scale 720p to 1080i rather than displaying 720p natively?  Perhaps that fuzziness is due to interlacing?

When I had a 53" Pioneer CRT (don't remember the size of the guns) I could only do 720 X 480p, and then only with the help of Powerstrip.  The convergence board eventually broke (and it was only 5 years old at the time) and I always wondered if the hours of PC desktop display hastened it's demise.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users