What's new

Help Please: Surround Sound Speakers Not Working (1 Viewer)

invisionblue

Auditioning
Real Name
Scott Botkins
Hey Guys,

I just hooked up my home theater I got today the lg lhb977 http://www.amazon.com/LG-LHB977-1000-Watt-Blu-ray-Theater/dp/B0026NSXJY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1255837799&sr=8-1

I'm new at this and tried to follow the book lol, but this is how I have it setup please let me know if I'm doing something wrong.

I have an hdmi cable going from the dvr cable box to the lg receiver hdmi input. Then a hdmi cable going from the lg receiver hdmi output to the my tv hdmi input. Then I have a video cord "video in" from the lg receiver going to the dvr cable box "video out". And then 3 cables together of Red,Blue and Green going from the lg receiver to the dvr cable box.

Now in my lg settings, when I turn off hdmi audio the surround sound speakers work on tv and movies, when I turn it on the surround sound speakers no longer work on tv or movies. I was under the impressiona that hdmi audio would be hd sound which is the best correct? But the down side the surround sound speakers aren't working with it, only the center, front L and front R.

Any ideas on this? Thanks!

Ed Moxley

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Ed
Originally Posted by invisionblue
I have an hdmi cable going from the dvr cable box to the lg receiver hdmi input. Then a hdmi cable going from the lg receiver hdmi output to the my tv hdmi input.
That should be all you need. Just for tv, you don't need all those other connections. Did you assign the HDMI input to the DVR? If not, you might need to. The owner's manual will tell you how. You may not need to though. I'm not familiar with LG stuff.

You may also need to go into the DVR setup menus, and tell it to output "Dolby Digital" or maybe just "Digital", for the audio.