Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

W-LAN problem.


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 OFFLINE   Jay H

Jay H

    Producer



  • 5,657 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 22 1999
  • Real Name:Jay
  • LocationPittsfield, MA

Posted September 21 2009 - 03:57 AM

I have an old PC (running W2k) connected to a Netgear WNR2000 N-band wireless router and an ACER laptop running Vista, wirelessly connected to the Netgear router. I have some kind of Webstar cable modem to my Cable provider (Cablevision in NJ). I've noticed every now and then, the router will seemingly "shut off".  It has a power switch that I can turn off and on but what I've seen happen is that all the lights on the front just shut off, and I lose the network and of course, my internet connection. All the lights, including the power light.  After a short bit, it will automatically power itself on and pick up my PC and then start the wireless broadcasting and I get the network up and running.. but it does this on occasion and it's frustrating. I am not sure what the problem could be, if any. For all I know it could be Cablevision, and I'm currious if anybody else has seen this before, before I try to contact Netgear. I couldn't find anything pertinent on their FAQ or support site... Anybody seen this before or have an idea of what the problem (if any) I have?

Jay

You are the crispy noodle in the vegetarian salad of life

#2 of 7 OFFLINE   Scott Merryfield

Scott Merryfield

    Executive Producer



  • 10,662 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 16 1998
  • LocationMichigan

Posted September 21 2009 - 11:36 PM

If the Netgear device is completely powering off, I doubt the problem has anything to do with Cablevision. It sounds like a bad power supply in the Netgear router.


#3 of 7 OFFLINE   don monteith

don monteith

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 96 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 15 2006

Posted September 22 2009 - 01:39 AM

 I agree. There is no way a signal from the cable company can shut down your router.  It may be getting hot or the power supply is going out.  If you want to test it, try removing everything from the router other than the power.  Then if it shuts down again you will know for sure it is just the router.  Do it at night so it doesn't interrupt normal use.  Also, routers are really cheap.  If at all possible, I would just get a new one and be done with it.

Don 

#4 of 7 OFFLINE   Jay H

Jay H

    Producer



  • 5,657 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 22 1999
  • Real Name:Jay
  • LocationPittsfield, MA

Posted September 22 2009 - 02:03 AM

Thanks, I sent a technical inquiry to Netgear and will wait for their response, it has a 1 year anniversary which will occur on Jan, 2010 so if it is indeed an internal power supply problem, then I think I should get a new one.  My cable modem remains powered and they're all connected to the same outlet/surge protector.   It doesn't seem to happen when I'm not on my laptop, but like you guys said, I can't see any tecnical reason for the cablemodem or so causing the power to go out, assuming it is indeed a power problem.

Will see what Netgear has to say, thanks!

Jay

You are the crispy noodle in the vegetarian salad of life

#5 of 7 OFFLINE   Jay H

Jay H

    Producer



  • 5,657 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 22 1999
  • Real Name:Jay
  • LocationPittsfield, MA

Posted October 08 2009 - 10:57 AM

Netgear sent me a reply awhile ago, basically said to update the firmware, save the settings, do a master reset and plug it into another outlet.  So I tried the other outlet, even on a different circuit and the other day, it died and doesn't repower so sounds like it's dead and I just sent it back to Netgear for a warantee replacement... Hope that solves that...

Jay

You are the crispy noodle in the vegetarian salad of life

#6 of 7 OFFLINE   Clinton McClure

Clinton McClure

    Screenwriter



  • 2,785 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 28 1999
  • Real Name:Clint
  • LocationCentral Arkansas

Posted October 12 2009 - 07:21 AM

I was having almost the exact same problem with a Linksys wireless router (WRT-54G) and just replaced it with a newer model (WRT-54G2).


#7 of 7 OFFLINE   Jay H

Jay H

    Producer



  • 5,657 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 22 1999
  • Real Name:Jay
  • LocationPittsfield, MA

Posted October 16 2009 - 05:22 AM

Well, Netgear quickly sent me a new router (quite impressed with the speed of service), but they didn't send me a power supply.. d'oh so they are sending me one that should arrive today.  We'll see if that fixes the problem.......   I sent them the power supply thinking it could be defective, but they didn't return the favor!

Jay

You are the crispy noodle in the vegetarian salad of life