Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.


Photo
- - - - -

Easy way to export playlist from iTunes?


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 of 20 OFFLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Moderator



  • 15,838 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted August 29 2009 - 11:48 PM

Hopefully this is a quickie: Is there a simple way to export all songs from an iTunes playlist so they are copied into a new folder?

With Tivo Desktop dead under 10.6, I'm trying pyTivoX. It plays iTunes from my Mac to my Tivo. But it doesn't understand playlists. If I can easily export a playlist as a folder of songs for pyTivoX to play, that might give me the solution I need.


#2 of 20 OFFLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Moderator



  • 15,838 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted August 30 2009 - 05:44 AM

Nevermind, it's stupid-easy

Click playlist. Select all songs in playlist. Drag to desired fold. All songs get copied to folder.

(Then in pyTivoX, add folder to its folder list and songs are played on Tivo.)


#3 of 20 OFFLINE   TonyD

TonyD

    Who do we think I am?



  • 16,654 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 01 1999
  • Real Name:Tony D.
  • LocationDisney World and Universal Florida

Posted August 30 2009 - 03:00 PM

ok I have one.

How do I get everything off of itunes onto a seperate external drive, then put it all back when i need it on my macbook for updating playlists to my iPhone.

I only have a small 74 gb hd that has 2.3 gb of space left, not any room for much of anything left.

facebook.com/whotony

#4 of 20 OFFLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Moderator



  • 15,838 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted August 30 2009 - 03:18 PM

Do you want to move your entire iTunes library to an external hard drive? (also, other tutorials)


#5 of 20 OFFLINE   TonyD

TonyD

    Who do we think I am?



  • 16,654 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 01 1999
  • Real Name:Tony D.
  • LocationDisney World and Universal Florida

Posted August 31 2009 - 02:08 AM

that looks about right. i'l let you know if it worked.

facebook.com/whotony

#6 of 20 OFFLINE   RickER

RickER

    Producer



  • 5,130 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 04 2003
  • Real Name:Rick
  • LocationTulsa, Oklahoma

Posted September 06 2009 - 07:31 AM



Originally Posted by TonyD 

that looks about right. i'l let you know if it worked.
Did it work?
I want to do the same thing. I am new to the MAC world. My PC crashed a few weeks ago, and took everything with it. So, anyway, i went Mac, and i lost my iTunes, and all my CDs that i had uploaded on my iPod. Had to start over, cause i had to reformat my iPod to Mac, from PC. Sure my iTunes i could bring back...well most of them. I lost some, and i am not sure why. Anyway, id like to back it up, so i dont have to worry about losing it if i crash another computer.

#7 of 20 OFFLINE   don monteith

don monteith

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 96 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 15 2006

Posted September 07 2009 - 01:04 AM

 This is what I do when I have to move or copy iTunes music from one place to another.  Open Finder, open Music, open iTunes. Now you will see a folder called iTunes Music.  You can either grab that folder and copy it or you can open it and select the songs and copy them.  I usually do the later if I am working with a computer that already has iTunes loaded.  Sometimes I have to go and tell iTunes to add the itunes music folder to its list just to make it find the new songs.  There are shortcuts to this process but this was will help you understand where your music is being kept.  Now when you open iTunes you will see it adding all your songs and if you look at the very bottom you will notice that your song total and file size has increased.

You can also use Spotlight to go right to you itunes music folder.  It's much faster.

Hope this helps.

Don


#8 of 20 OFFLINE   TonyD

TonyD

    Who do we think I am?



  • 16,654 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 01 1999
  • Real Name:Tony D.
  • LocationDisney World and Universal Florida

Posted September 07 2009 - 12:35 PM

didnt do it yet.
have a few days off next week so I'll get to it then.

facebook.com/whotony

#9 of 20 OFFLINE   TonyD

TonyD

    Who do we think I am?



  • 16,654 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 01 1999
  • Real Name:Tony D.
  • LocationDisney World and Universal Florida

Posted September 09 2009 - 04:13 PM

hmm, well it looks like the itunes9 has soemthing called homesharing.
looks like You might be able to transfer entire libraries from one computer to another on a home network.
I wonder if I'm seeing this right and if it will work from Mac to Pc.

http://www.apple.com/itunes/whats-new/#home-sharing

facebook.com/whotony

#10 of 20 OFFLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Moderator



  • 15,838 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted September 10 2009 - 04:23 AM

Tony,
If you explore this, please post your findings. I'm also interested but won't get to it for a bit.


#11 of 20 OFFLINE   TonyD

TonyD

    Who do we think I am?



  • 16,654 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 01 1999
  • Real Name:Tony D.
  • LocationDisney World and Universal Florida

Posted September 11 2009 - 12:27 PM

seems like it works, I only have about 3500 songs on my mabcook but it takes forever to lad them onto my pc using homesharing so I haven't had a chance to let it finish.

Only problem looks like no playlists go over so I would have to recreate all the playists.



facebook.com/whotony

#12 of 20 OFFLINE   Ted Todorov

Ted Todorov

    Screenwriter



  • 2,934 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 17 2000

Posted September 11 2009 - 12:48 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyD 

seems like it works, I only have about 3500 songs on my mabcook but it takes forever to lad them onto my pc using homesharing so I haven't had a chance to let it finish.

Only problem looks like no playlists go over so I would have to recreate all the playists.

 
I hadn't noticed playlist not moving, but you don't need to recreate them -- just to the export )right click on the playlist)/ import playlist thing once you ate done copying the songs.


Hold on tightly, let go lightly.

 


#13 of 20 OFFLINE   TonyD

TonyD

    Who do we think I am?



  • 16,654 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 01 1999
  • Real Name:Tony D.
  • LocationDisney World and Universal Florida

Posted September 12 2009 - 05:35 PM

ok I've tried this 3 times now and in theory it works but it takes so long for my 3500 songs to load onto the second computer that it never finishes.

twice my laptop was accidentally closed which cuts off the process and the third time even though it was plugged in, the macbook shut off when the battery went down.
if I can let it run to completion it will take minimum 4 hours.
PLus if I try to do it again it just reloads every song again.
I havent seen a way to tell it to not duplicate songs.


I have comcast cable as my internet provider so that isn't why it's so slow.

Guess I'll try it again.

facebook.com/whotony

#14 of 20 OFFLINE   RickER

RickER

    Producer



  • 5,130 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 04 2003
  • Real Name:Rick
  • LocationTulsa, Oklahoma

Posted September 13 2009 - 01:22 AM

 Tony just delete the duplicates after your done with the download. iTunes has that option. If you already knew that, sorry. 

#15 of 20 OFFLINE   TonyD

TonyD

    Who do we think I am?



  • 16,654 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 01 1999
  • Real Name:Tony D.
  • LocationDisney World and Universal Florida

Posted September 13 2009 - 01:09 PM

Didn't know that.
there's a lot about itunes that i don't know.

i esssentially just use it so i can get songs and apps onto my iphone

facebook.com/whotony

#16 of 20 OFFLINE   DaveF

DaveF

    Moderator



  • 15,838 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted September 13 2009 - 03:24 PM

Originally Posted by TonyD 

twice my laptop was accidentally closed which cuts off the process and the third time even though it was plugged in, the macbook shut off when the battery went down.
How did a plugged-in laptop run out of juice? Do the Macbook's drain the battery faster than the AC adapter charges it?



#17 of 20 OFFLINE   TonyD

TonyD

    Who do we think I am?



  • 16,654 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 01 1999
  • Real Name:Tony D.
  • LocationDisney World and Universal Florida

Posted September 13 2009 - 03:40 PM

I think the white box, sheesh what's that thing called, that's on the cord overheated and shut down.
It gets really hot sometimes.

facebook.com/whotony

#18 of 20 OFFLINE   Ted Todorov

Ted Todorov

    Screenwriter



  • 2,934 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 17 2000

Posted September 14 2009 - 04:50 AM



Originally Posted by TonyD 

I think the white box, sheesh what's that thing called, that's on the cord overheated and shut down.
It gets really hot sometimes.
That should not be happening.  Call up AppleCare.  There is no conceivable reason for a MacBook to shut down due to a power supply issue other than a defective power supply.

Power supplies do sometimes go bad -- Apple gave us a replacement power supply for my wife's white MacBook last year.


Hold on tightly, let go lightly.

 


#19 of 20 OFFLINE   Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Moderator



  • 19,083 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted September 14 2009 - 06:25 AM

Actually the cords on some of the white macbooks were recalled as defective due to the cable splitting.  You should check and see if yours is in that batch.


I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt

HTF Rules

Classified Sales Rules

UV Sales New Clarifications


#20 of 20 OFFLINE   TonyD

TonyD

    Who do we think I am?



  • 16,654 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 01 1999
  • Real Name:Tony D.
  • LocationDisney World and Universal Florida

Posted September 16 2009 - 06:04 PM

the only problem would be the slight damage on the cord  from the puppy chewing on it.

this is the second power cord as the other one frayed were it plugs into the macbook.
a genius decided it wasn't their fault on that one.

facebook.com/whotony




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users