Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Time for an official Snow Leopard thread


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
164 replies to this topic

#41 of 165 DaveF

DaveF

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 12,515 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted August 27 2009 - 11:05 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian Behrens 

Also, they didn't just leave out all the printer drivers from the installation, they implemented a new way of basically auto-installing the driver for you.
I was being a bit hyperbolic. As I said, I've bought SL and by all accounts it's a solid technological improvement. And I'm hoping it fixes some flakiness that's developed in 10.5 on my MBP. But Snow Leopard will feel worthwhile when apps take advantage of its new features. Until then, it does feel a bit like my auto mechanic telling me that, for a nominal fee, he's going to change all the nuts and bolts from English to Metric hardware; and make the gas tank a gallon larger. Sure, I won't notice any of it right now, but really the car will be easier to service in a few years.


And finally, sounds like the CS3 situation was totally overblown by Adobe. MacRumours reports that "the Photoshop team has tested Photoshop CS3 on Snow Leopard, and to the best of our knowledge, PS CS3 works fine on Snow Leopard".
We're still waiting to hear about the other 80% of CS3: Illustrator, InDesign, Acrobat, and Dreamweaver.


#42 of 165 JohnRice

JohnRice

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 8,366 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 20 2000
  • Real Name:John

Posted August 27 2009 - 11:39 AM

I have to shake my head at the continued shrugging off of the long term impact of SL.  Double the power of your computer for $29.  What a rip-off.  Yeah, it will take a little time to fully implement, but anything this global takes time.  I would MUCH rather have real performance improvements, cheap, than bells and whistles immediately for 5 times the price.

The Hybrid System

The Music Part: Emotiva XSP-1, Thiel CS 3.6, Emotiva XPA-2, Marantz SA8004, Emotiva ERC-3, SVS PB-12 Plus 2

The Surround Part: Sherbourn PT-7030, Thiel SCS3, Emotiva XPA-5, Polk & Emotiva Surrounds.


#43 of 165 Christian Behrens

Christian Behrens

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 712 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 02 2000

Posted August 27 2009 - 12:05 PM

Honestly, if you still have to sync an old Palm with a Mac, you really should have the Missing Sync for Palm. Anything else is just not working the way it should.

-Christian

"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." (Benjamin Franklin)

#44 of 165 Michael_K_Sr

Michael_K_Sr

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 1,328 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 14 2005
  • Real Name:MichaelK
  • LocationChicago 'burbs

Posted August 27 2009 - 12:51 PM



Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian Behrens ">

Honestly, if you still have to sync an old Palm with a Mac, you really should have the

#45 of 165 DaveF

DaveF

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 12,515 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted August 27 2009 - 12:58 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnRice 

I have to shake my head at the continued shrugging off of the long term impact of SL.
And that's the selling difficulty. Pay now for what might come later. Typically we pay for immediate benefits. Snow Leopard is some perks now, but mostly promises of greatness to come. (Unlike 10.5 which came with frilly silly gee-gaws like Time Machine and Spotlight.)

I'm not shrugging it off: my $40 spent speaks to that. But I appreciate the few hesitations I've read.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian Behrens 

Honestly, if you still have to sync an old Palm with a Mac, you really should have the Missing Sync for Palm. Anything else is just not working the way it should.
Be that as it may, I've been syncing to Palm Desktop for 2 years on the Mac and it works and my wife and me. I'd like to upgrade but there is nothing but expensive smartphones now, and that's not in the budget quite yet.


#46 of 165 Christian Behrens

Christian Behrens

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 712 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 02 2000

Posted August 27 2009 - 03:15 PM



Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael_K_Sr View Post

Actually, there are some software conduits that have never worked right under Missing Sync that still work under the old Palm Desktop software on 10.5.
Really? I only remember how hard it was even find the latest version of Palm Desktop for the Mac a few years back. At that point I had it. We got a license for Missing Sync for my wife's laptop years ago at Macworld for a reduced price. That was even before Leopard. Worked like a charm. But she's been using her iPod Touch for a while now :-).

-Christian

"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." (Benjamin Franklin)

#47 of 165 Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Nutter

  • 14,801 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted August 27 2009 - 04:40 PM

Anyone know if there is an update to Bootcamp past 2.1 for Vista 64 on the SL disk?  Anything that eases Win7 Bootcamping?

"Sam, you are the biggest nutter we have here."

Blog: Navesink.net - My Flickr Stream - Dolby Atmos Discussion Thread - Updates at Twitter - Join the HTF Flickr Pool


#48 of 165 Michael_K_Sr

Michael_K_Sr

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 1,328 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 14 2005
  • Real Name:MichaelK
  • LocationChicago 'burbs

Posted August 27 2009 - 05:07 PM

Any stragglers that use Parallels Desktop and are still using version 3.0 better not upgrade to 10.6. Won't launch at all.

#49 of 165 DaveF

DaveF

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 12,515 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted August 28 2009 - 02:08 AM

FedEx is supposed to deliver 10.6 today! I doubt I can install it 'til Sat or Sun, but I'm eager to get answers to my worries.

I wonder if I can install CS3 on my machine for my wife to test? She has upgrade versions; need to talk to her about that. It might be a good way to test it.


#50 of 165 Carlo Medina

Carlo Medina

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 9,449 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 31 1997

Posted August 28 2009 - 06:22 AM

I am upgrading my 2.33 C2D MBP right now. I have Design Premium CS3. I'll let people know if this breaks it. I cloned my 10.5.7 OSX last night so I can just clone back if Snow Leopard blows up my system, but somehow I don't think I'll need to.

The only known incompatibility is my 3.0 Parallels, which I haven't used in months and should probably uninstall anyway.


#51 of 165 DaveF

DaveF

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 12,515 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted August 28 2009 - 07:29 AM

Installed! (spontaneous half-day off and early FedEx delivery...)

Almost 12 GB more free space on my drive! I'm impressed, as I'd stripped out a bunch of stuff with Monolingual when I bought my machine in '07. Though maybe I didn't re-run that after the 10.5 upgrade?

The intro movie is the original Leopard movie. Really, nothing to announce that you've gutted and rebuilt your OS.

A Rosetta installer dialog came up post haste, so MS Office 2004 can run its updater.

And that's all I know. Time to see what's what and if it all runs.


#52 of 165 Southpaw

Southpaw

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 881 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 02 2006

Posted August 28 2009 - 07:52 AM

I need a simple to use and cheap hard drive for backing up files and such before I install snow leopard - would this one be okay? http://www.bestbuy.c...d=1218008588879
I'm kind of worried it wouldn't be enough space. What do you guys use?

#53 of 165 Carlo Medina

Carlo Medina

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 9,449 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 31 1997

Posted August 28 2009 - 07:57 AM

Installed as well. The Apple apps function (duh), iWork 09, iLife 09 and Logic Studio (new version). Excel and Word of Office 2008 also ran successfully.

I won't get a chance to test out CS3 more fully until tonight but Photoshop opened successfully a RAW file and I did minor edits (didn't save).


#54 of 165 pitchman

pitchman

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 1,824 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 11 1998
  • Real Name:Gary Cianciosi
  • LocationColumbia, MO

Posted August 28 2009 - 07:58 AM

My install took right around 45 minutes and was totally painless. I did a pre-install Time Machine backup, and the post-install backup is going on as I type this.

My knee-jerk reaction so far is that the display on my 24 inch iMac (with NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GS card) seems like it has more contrast (this is a good thing IMO.) But, since I do a lot of CS4 work, I may have to switch to a different calibration setting if it throws off my pre-press evaluation judgement. Also, something about the internal sound appears to be different, (more spatial?) but I can't say for sure what it is. BTW, I did a quick boot of InDesign, Photoshop and Illustrator and all appear to run without incident. GarageBand '09 definitely struck me as being more robust. Bear in mind these are very preliminary, knee-jerk reactions right after upgrading...
Gary

#55 of 165 DaveF

DaveF

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 12,515 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted August 28 2009 - 08:15 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Southpaw 

I need a simple to use and cheap hard drive for backing up files and such before I install snow leopard - would this one be okay? http://www.bestbuy.c...d=1218008588879
I'm kind of worried it wouldn't be enough space. What do you guys use?
There are three main considerations:
* For a bootable copy, as from SuperDuper! or Carbon Copy Cloner, get a hard drive at least as large as your used space. Better yet, get a hard drive at least as big as your Mac's hard drive.
* For Time Machine, get a drive at least 50% larger than your Mac's hard drive
* If you have the newer Intel CPU, USB drive is fine and is bootable. But if you have a PowerPC system, you need a FireWire drive (and you also can't install 10.6)


I'm reliving my ambivalence from the initial install of Leopard, back in '07: Logitech drivers aren't up to date and I'm missing important functionality in my MX Revolution. /img/vbsmilies/htf/mad.gif


#56 of 165 DaveF

DaveF

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 12,515 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted August 28 2009 - 09:12 AM

http://snowleopard.wikidot.com/

This is a must read.

Someone just posted a hack to enable missing Logitech mouse functionality (hooray!). I'll be watching this page. I'd like to get in to add some missing entries, but it's quite busy and always locked.

Palm Desktop still works. Palm OS sync still works.


#57 of 165 Ted Todorov

Ted Todorov

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 2,858 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 17 2000

Posted August 28 2009 - 09:22 AM

 So does anyone have info on whether Office 2004 works/doesn't?

According to the Apple status page, my SL update ($10 variety) (ordered on Aug. 11th) still hasn't shipped.

Hold on tightly, let go lightly.
My Twitter page

#58 of 165 DaveF

DaveF

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 12,515 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 04 2001
  • Real Name:David Fischer
  • LocationOne Loudoun, Ashburn, VA

Posted August 28 2009 - 10:31 AM

Office 2004 works. It will prompt you to install Rosetta at first run. I launched Word, took a quick look, and quit it. I've not played extensively with it.


Tivo Desktop does not work. This is bad. I use our two TivoHD's to stream iTunes in the Living Room and Bedroom. Losing this feature...not good.


#59 of 165 Michael_K_Sr

Michael_K_Sr

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 1,328 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 14 2005
  • Real Name:MichaelK
  • LocationChicago 'burbs

Posted August 28 2009 - 11:26 AM

 I still use Toast 9 Titanium and while Toast itself launches okay, the TiVo Transfer application included with it no longer works.

#60 of 165 Michael_K_Sr

Michael_K_Sr

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 1,328 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 14 2005
  • Real Name:MichaelK
  • LocationChicago 'burbs

Posted August 28 2009 - 11:28 AM

 Also looks like Microsoft's Remote Desktop Connection is crashing for me at launch




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users