Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Older receiver uses optical, newer dvd player doesn't -- a way to bridge this?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
10 replies to this topic

#1 of 11 ONLINE   bgart13

bgart13

    Supporting Actor



  • 927 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 04 2008

Posted August 04 2009 - 03:00 PM

Quick question, and I have a feeling I know the answer but I'll ask anyways. My Sony receiver dates back to about '99 or '00 and to get 5.1 surround sound, it uses an optical cord (little glass bulbs at the end of the cord). The Sony dvd player I had at the time also connected via the optical cord for surround sound, but I had to replace the dvd player a few years back when it went kaput. The replacement is also a Sony but it doesn't use an optical cord for 5.1. I haven't kept up with the technology over the last number of years, but is there a way to bridge this gap and still get 5.1 surround or am SOL?

Thanks,
Ben


#2 of 11 OFFLINE   Phil A

Phil A

    Screenwriter



  • 2,894 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 01 2000
  • Real Name:Phil
  • LocationCentral FL

Posted August 04 2009 - 03:17 PM

 I assume it has a coax digital output (the DVD player)?  If so adapters can be had cheap at places like monoprice.com.

#3 of 11 ONLINE   bgart13

bgart13

    Supporting Actor



  • 927 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 04 2008

Posted August 04 2009 - 03:47 PM

Phil, yes good point. I'm not at home, but I believe that it does have a coaxial output. What you suggested appears to be exactly what I need! Thanks so much!!

Edited by bgart13 - 8/5/2009 at 04:01 am GMT

#4 of 11 OFFLINE   Robert_J

Robert_J

    Lead Actor



  • 8,160 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 22 2000
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMississippi

Posted August 04 2009 - 11:06 PM

Optical to coaxial adapter from Monoprice -
http://www.monoprice...&seq=1&format=2

Don't forget to pick up a coaxial digital cable when you place your order.

-Robert

#5 of 11 OFFLINE   Stephen Tu

Stephen Tu

    Screenwriter



  • 1,573 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 26 1999

Posted August 05 2009 - 05:22 AM

Robert you pointed to optical to coax, I think the poster said he needs coax to optical:
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10423&cs_id=1042302&p_id=2947&seq=1&format=2




#6 of 11 OFFLINE   Robert_J

Robert_J

    Lead Actor



  • 8,160 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 22 2000
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationMississippi

Posted August 05 2009 - 01:43 PM

That's what I get for posting at 6am.

#7 of 11 OFFLINE   Al.Anderson

Al.Anderson

    Screenwriter



  • 2,216 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 02 2002
  • Real Name:Al

Posted August 06 2009 - 12:37 AM

I have to ask ... back then, if a receiver had optical it usually had coax.  Does your receiver have a coax output?  If it does you gain nothing from using the optical, the coax will provide the same quality sound.


#8 of 11 ONLINE   bgart13

bgart13

    Supporting Actor



  • 927 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 04 2008

Posted August 18 2009 - 02:31 PM

Al, sorry for a late reply. I do not believe that the receiver has a coax input/output for audio.


#9 of 11 ONLINE   bgart13

bgart13

    Supporting Actor



  • 927 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 04 2008

Posted December 05 2009 - 08:10 AM

Tried to post a min ago, so, apologies if it shows up eventually for a double-post... I now have the box and found a cheap cord, but haven't been able to pick up the remaining speakers I need to fill out the 5.1. I think I know the answer, but for you more expert members, how might my receiver process the channels with only two speakes but things hooked up properly otherwise for 5.1?

#10 of 11 OFFLINE   Jesse Skeen

Jesse Skeen

    Producer



  • 4,046 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 24 1999

Posted December 05 2009 - 11:03 AM

Note that you don't need any special cable for a coaxial digital connection- any standard RCA cable will do.  I found this out when I bought my receiver 11 years ago and thought you did need a special cable, so I was suckered into buying a $50 short Monster Cable (I thought I needed it for AC3 laserdisc, but only after I got the stuff home did I find out what I really needed was a demodulator), then tried an old RCA cable I had laying around and it did the job just as well.

Most receivers have setup options that let you use fewer speakers- if you only have 2 set "center" and "rear" to "No" and it will mix all the channels down to 2.  Don't know why you'd want to do that though :)

Home video oddities, old commercials and other junk: http://www.youtube.com/user/eyeh8nbc

#11 of 11 OFFLINE   Gerald LaFrance

Gerald LaFrance

    Supporting Actor



  • 510 posts
  • Join Date: May 28 2002
  • Real Name:Gerald LaFrance
  • LocationEarth

Posted December 06 2009 - 03:28 AM

Well if you do Want to use a RCA cable it would be best to use the Yellow (Video) cable as it is 75ohms as the Coax Specs reccomend this rating.. Altho you can use a Regular RCA cable it is just best to use the Yellow one.
"IF the Facts don't Fit the Theory Change the Facts"    Albert Einstein