Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Spyder Colormeter


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 OFFLINE   Thorerik

Thorerik

    Auditioning



  • 2 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 08 2009

Posted June 25 2009 - 04:23 AM

Help me out here.
When adjusting your new HDTV it seems that you have a few options. (1) Use test DVD's (done that), (2) Use a Spyder Colormeter, (3) Go whole hog and have an ISF rep come out and adjust your set. I like to tweek my own stuff so I looked into buying a Spyder (less than $100) or get some Sencore equipment and spend thousands.

So what's the right choice to make? When I wrote to the people that make the Sypder they told me that the most important adjustment was the color or "gamma" as they called it. With the Spyder it appears that you cannot set the color temp with absolute certainty. ISF says that adjusting the color temp to that of sunlight is the most important since even if you adjust the colors correctly they will look different in differing color temperatures. If you go with the IHSF it's a one time thing. As your TV ages so does the adjustments. It would get expensive to recalibrate all the time.

Who's right? Why the big price difference in the equipment? Can't someone make a device cheaply that will accurately measure color temp? How far off can your TV's color temp be before it affects anything?

At least for me what drives me is cost. I don't have unlimited funds and would like to get the biggest bang for the buck. I was also thinking that buying a Spyder and offering a service to my friends to adjust their HDTV's would be cool. So I'm asking if anyone has had experience or advice in this area.
Erik

#2 of 7 OFFLINE   ManW_TheUncool

ManW_TheUncool

    Producer



  • 5,874 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 18 2001
  • Real Name:ManW

Posted June 26 2009 - 04:18 PM

Hmmm... How would you use a Spyder to calibrate your HT display??

Seems to me the Spyder is designed for computer use and performs its calibration via settings on the computer side, ie. video source, not the display side, if I understand correctly. This is not really ideal even for computer use, but for HT use, it just doesn't seem practical at all unless you run everything thru an HTPC (that stores the Spyder calibrated settings).

_Man_
Just another amateur learning to paint w/ "the light of the world".

"Whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things..." (St. Paul)

#3 of 7 OFFLINE   David_Rivshin

David_Rivshin

    Second Unit



  • 352 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 13 2001

Posted June 26 2009 - 06:07 PM

I believe the EyeOne Display LT sensor (same sensor is sold in alot of other packages/brands as well) is considered more accorate than the spyder.

The software that comes with such devices is geared towards auto-calibrating a PC monitor (by modifying the LUT), but the sensors can be used for calibrating HT displays as well with the proper software and display controls. Some software you can purchase, but there is one free option (HFCR) that you can use as well. The basic concept is much like configuring a an equalizer based on measurements taken with an SPL meter; You measure the brightness/color at different points, plot them, and adjust whatever controls you have until it gets closer to ideal.

Here's a good tutorial that explains just about everything you need to know to get started: GREYSCALE & COLOUR CALIBRATION FOR DUMMIES

Hope this helps,
-- Dave

#4 of 7 OFFLINE   ManW_TheUncool

ManW_TheUncool

    Producer



  • 5,874 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 18 2001
  • Real Name:ManW

Posted June 26 2009 - 06:24 PM

Hmmm... Interesting. Thanks much for the info, David. Posted Image

_Man_
Just another amateur learning to paint w/ "the light of the world".

"Whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things..." (St. Paul)

#5 of 7 OFFLINE   Phil A

Phil A

    Screenwriter



  • 2,894 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 01 2000
  • Real Name:Phil
  • LocationCentral FL

Posted June 27 2009 - 12:32 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Man-Fai Wong
Hmmm... How would you use a Spyder to calibrate your HT display??

Seems to me the Spyder is designed for computer use and performs its calibration via settings on the computer side, ie. video source, not the display side, if I understand correctly. This is not really ideal even for computer use, but for HT use, it just doesn't seem practical at all unless you run everything thru an HTPC (that stores the Spyder calibrated settings).

_Man_


Spyder has different software/product versions. Spyder 3 Pro is designed for computer monitors. It involves installing the software on the PC and hooking the colorimeter to the monitor and adjustments are made to the PC settings. Spyder 3 TV comes with a DVD (of test images) for use in HT systems where the DVD is placed in your player runs through the various settings in a similar fashion as stand alone test DVDs. As it requires software to be loaded on a PC where the colorimeter is hooked to, it is much easier to use with a laptop.

#6 of 7 OFFLINE   Dave>h

Dave>h

    Second Unit



  • 371 posts
  • Join Date: May 01 2004

Posted June 30 2009 - 08:16 AM

HI,

I own an older spyder - have had it for a few years now.

It does adjust for color temperature (in that it measure cool 1 vs warm 1 vs normal and tells you which is closest to NTSC standard).

I have found that it does it pretty good basic job.  I think it could be more indepth and the results would be better but for the basics, it works very well and I have been pleased with the end results.

I have even calibrated a few friends TV's with it and the results have been mixed but positive overall.  Sometimes you need to redo it when you see obvious problems (too much red for example).

My only complaint is that the software doesn't work on Vista....

Dave



#7 of 7 OFFLINE   Phil A

Phil A

    Screenwriter



  • 2,894 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 01 2000
  • Real Name:Phil
  • LocationCentral FL

Posted June 30 2009 - 11:05 AM

Spyder 3 works with Vista.  I also have French software that is free that is made to work with a colorimeter but have not used it (it's been installed for several mos.)  I bought a very basic laptop last fall that just has VGA out and while I have VGA to component cables, the laptop output is probably not the same as the TV.  I may try it for laughs at some point.  I decided to get the laptop (a $300 E-Machines D-620 and my brother stuck in an additional memory chip so I have 2G) vs. drag one of my desktops around.