Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

New to home theatre - wanting to create a sound system

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
19 replies to this topic

#1 of 20 OFFLINE   hollisterb

hollisterb

Auditioning

• 8 posts

Posted June 18 2009 - 09:18 PM

Hey guys, I'm new on this forum and also new to the idea of Home Theatre! I've just moved into a new apartment and am looking to do up the main room the way I want it ;p

I'm a graphic/web designer by trade so I am always on my iMac - so I don't want to invest in a TV or anything like that, as I watch everything on my iMac anyways so that is fine.

What I am looking to set up is a real quality home sound system/environment.

I'm really into my music - everything from classic to pop to rock!

I'm going to be starting from scratch - and have no idea with a budget either but am looking for something really cool.

I'm thinking obviously the main hub of the music - but I actually listen 99% to MP3's from the computer so I don't even think I need to get say a CD system

I need a base where I can wireless stream my MP3 music from my iMac

Then I'm thinking a real good quality subwoofer

And I'm thinking going all out on the speaker style

So speakers on the ceiling - surround style - normal speakers etc - and if there was a function also to control which speakers to turn on and off accordingly

I hope this isn't too vague but would love to know an ideas or thoughts

#2 of 20 OFFLINE   David Willow

David Willow

Screenwriter

• 2,022 posts
  • LocationMechanicsburg, PA

Posted June 19 2009 - 02:17 AM

Hi Chris,

If I understand correctly, you are looking for a stereo setup (or 2.1 with the sub)?

We will need at least an idea of budget. You will need the speakers and a receiver to power them.