Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests to win things like this Logitech Harmony Ultimate Remote and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Anyone else having problems with A Bug's Life on the PS3?


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 Scott_J

Scott_J

    Screenwriter

  • 2,635 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 17 2000

Posted June 07 2009 - 08:17 AM

I bought the Bug's Life Blu-ray last Sunday at Toys "R" Us and got around to watching it last night. It froze around the 32:00 mark. I took it out to try to check it/clean it and put it back in and it wouldn't play at all. I eventually got a "This is an invalid disc" message. So I exchanged it today for another one. I watched it this afternoon, starting from where I left off in the movie last night. It was working fine, then at about the 1:23:00 mark, it froze and did the same thing as last night. I ended up popping my SD DVD of the film into the PS3 so I could watch the end since I'd never seen it before.

I'm using a PS3 with the lastest firmware on it. With both discs, after having the problems in the PS3 I tried them on my laptop's BD-Rom drive (with PowerDVD DX 8.1 software) and neither disc would play at all in the drive.

Anyone else having a problem with the disc on the PS3 (or any other player for that matter)? I haven't read any complaints about it so it doesn't seem to be a widespread thing. I'm wondering if the store got a bad batch (although the first copy had the Up ticket code inside, the second didn't so I don't know if they're from the same batch). I'm going out of state next weekend so I'll try exchanging it at another TRU to see if I have better luck with a disc there.

#2 of 6 Matt Hough

Matt Hough

    Executive Producer

  • 10,562 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 24 2006
  • LocationCharlotte, NC

Posted June 07 2009 - 08:29 AM

I used a PS3 to review it, and mine had no trouble with the disc at all.

#3 of 6 Bleddyn Williams

Bleddyn Williams

    Supporting Actor

  • 974 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969
  • Real Name:Bleddyn Williams

Posted June 07 2009 - 08:44 AM

I literally finished watching this about 15 minutes ago on my 40GB PS3. No problems whatsoever.

#4 of 6 TravisR

TravisR

    Studio Mogul

  • 21,360 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 15 2004
  • LocationThe basement of the FBI building

Posted June 07 2009 - 09:06 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott_J
Anyone else having a problem with the disc on the PS3 (or any other player for that matter)?
I'm using a Samsung standalone and it worked fine for me.

#5 of 6 Scott Merryfield

Scott Merryfield

    Executive Producer

  • 10,338 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 16 1998
  • LocationMichigan

Posted June 07 2009 - 11:50 AM

Worked fine on my Sony BDP-S350.

#6 of 6 Robert G

Robert G

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 192 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 02 2000

Posted June 07 2009 - 03:25 PM

I originally played ABL in my PS3 with older firmware (2.5?) and my wife played it with my daughter tonight with the latest firmware. Both times it played fine.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users