Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

NOOB HOME THEATER HELP PLZZ!!!

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
3 replies to this topic

#1 of 4 OFFLINE   Angrypolak

Angrypolak

Auditioning

• 1 posts

Posted May 12 2009 - 08:56 PM

Hello, i am new to the home theater scene, so be gentle :-D. First i'd like to start off with what i currently own. I just bought Panasonic SC-H7740 surround sound NEW, it is a 5.1 surround sound system without the receiver. I have 5 speakers and one sub woofer. The main thing about this thread is where can i find an extremely cheap receiver, or what i am trying to find basically just a dvd player that i can hook everything up with. Most surround sound system i see come with a dvd receiver and i have been having a tough time finding one. I basically want to hook everything up to my 720p HDTV as cheap as possible. Another concern i have is do i HAVE to have an authentic receiver and not just a dvd receiver to play my xbox 360 through it so i can have surround sound? Please give me some kind of help, thank you!

#2 of 4 OFFLINE   SethH

SethH

Screenwriter

• 2,867 posts

Posted May 12 2009 - 10:28 PM

I looked on Panasonic's website and also did a google search and I cannot find the model number you listed for your surround system.

Generally speaking, you do need a receiver because the receiver supplies power to your speakers. A DVD player is just an audio/video source and it does not produce any power to run speakers.

#3 of 4 OFFLINE   genedjr

genedjr

Agent

• 33 posts

Posted May 13 2009 - 07:05 AM

I also looked at this route when I first started looking. There are very inexpensive receivers (>$200) that can fill that role. But, I am confused on what you already have.