-

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

The Virginian

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
207 replies to this topic

#1 of 208 Mark Talmadge

Mark Talmadge

Screenwriter

• 2,379 posts

Posted March 25 2009 - 08:58 AM

Has anyone heard anything about this series being released? I'm just being a bit curious about it since Bonanza and Virginian have yet to be even partially released to DVD as season sets.

#2 of 208 Bob Hug

Bob Hug

Screenwriter

• 1,760 posts

Posted March 25 2009 - 11:29 PM

I have no hard knowledge about "The Virginian" being released on DVD and so this is just speculation on my part, but I wouldn't be surprised if this was eventually released by Timeless Media for several reasons. First, and foremost, "The Virginian" was a Revue/Universal series and Timeless has licensing arrangements with NBC Universal for a number of the studio's vintage series. Second, Timeless has one of the largest catalogs of vintage TV Westerns released on DVD and "The Virginian" would certainly be a good "fit" for them and, more importantly, their customer base. Third, Timeless has released two shows that were produced for a 90 minute time slot, both "Wagon Train" (last year's color season release) and the crime drama "Arrest and Trial," so they are certainly open to releasing longer form television shows. Beyond that, it would be a matter of how "The Virginian" is released, i.e., would full seasons be released or would a compilation of episodes be released. I suspect the answer to that would depend on whether Universal has any "off the shelf" tape masters of the show (like "Laredo" -- a spinoff of "The Virginian," and "Wagon Train"), or whether Timeless would have to go the route of assembling 16 millimeter syndication prints (like "The Deputy" or "Riverboat," among others). I