What's new

New to HT (2 Viewers)

Livestrong

Agent
Real Name
Kerry
Hello all,

I am in the market for my first HT system. I've been reading about Onkyo's HTIB the 9100 series model 7.1 and it looks pretty good, even some of the reviews are inpressive. My question is, is there any others out there that come close to this one within that price range? Or is this the one to get? I'm in Canada so I'm wondering what website I can get this from?? I've looked on Amazon and they're out of stock for this product. I am also looking at getting a Samsung LCD Series 7 52". This is the actual model # LN52A750 Does anyone have any input at all?? Sorry for the vague post, I'm a newb so I'm here to learn. Thank you to whomever replies
htf_images_smilies_smile.gif

Livestrong

Agent
Real Name
Kerry
I've never heard of SVS to be honest. I was initially looking at Nuance, and found out that they're just a gimick. Then I was reading about the Onkyo HTIB systems and they sounded great.
Now, reading about SVS, it just makes this whole thing a little more confusing!!

Livestrong

Agent
Real Name
Kerry
I can't find what receiver comes with the Onkyo 9100 HTIB. It's a THX certified system, and the only Onkyo receiver I see on their website that is THX certified, is the 806.
Also, if I do decide to go with the SVS system, what receiver would be best for SVS's 7.1 setup with the 12" sub???

Thanks again

dmurph112

Auditioning
Real Name
Doug
I read that the difference between the Samsung A750 and A650 is the extra memory storage for use with a computer i think. Oknyo is coming out in april with a new reciever model the 607, with 7.2 surround. Watch what receiver you get cause you might want HDMI capabilities.

David Willow

Babbling Idiot
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave
Kerry,

The 706 is THX Select certified. Not sure about the 606.