Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

My wireless network is up and running... some Qs


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic

#1 of 8 OFFLINE   Jay H

Jay H

    Producer



  • 5,657 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 22 1999
  • Real Name:Jay
  • LocationPittsfield, MA

Posted January 23 2009 - 12:02 AM

I used to have just one PC, so I had my cable modem connected directly to the PC. Since I turn things off when not in use, I used to just turn the cable modem on and then turn my PC on, by the time my ancient PC booted W2k, the modem would be authenticated to the server by then and all is well.

It appears now with my Netgear WNR2000 router, I have to have the modem authenticated and sending packets before I turn that on. is that correct? I had one problem installing the thing and that was connecting to the internet with just the wired PC, because I didn't reboot my PC (as per the instructions, ya know.. that male complex thing..Posted Image ). Anyway, is that true? I have to turn the cable modem on, then wait for a bit til the modem is sending, then turn the router and PC on... It doesn't seem to be able to connect if I just turn everything on as before.

Once I got the internet connection fixed, everything else went really smooth and I reflashed the firmware and set up my laptop. Uninstalled my software firewall (Comodo) since I guess the router should be handling that and I am going to read up on configuring the router via the browser.

I also set the bandwidth to 145Mbps since I doubt my cable modem has a higher bandwidth anyway and most of my traffic would be internet stuff, streaming audio (not video) and basic surfing...

Jay
You are the crispy noodle in the vegetarian salad of life

#2 of 8 OFFLINE   Ken Chan

Ken Chan

    Producer



  • 3,302 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 11 1999

Posted January 23 2009 - 10:49 AM

Where are you setting the bandwidth?

If you're really paranoid or curious, you can still use your software firewall, but it won't have as much to do. For example, reports of incoming packets should go way down, because they're being blocked at the router.

The usual sequence is modem, router, then computer, but it shouldn't really matter because they should all just retry until they get a connection, once they are configured correctly. It will take a little longer though.

#3 of 8 OFFLINE   SethH

SethH

    Screenwriter



  • 2,867 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 17 2003

Posted January 23 2009 - 11:30 AM

I would encourage you to get the security (WPA) setup asap.

#4 of 8 OFFLINE   Jay H

Jay H

    Producer



  • 5,657 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 22 1999
  • Real Name:Jay
  • LocationPittsfield, MA

Posted January 24 2009 - 01:27 AM

Thanks, I'll have to tinker with that when I'm at home.

As far as WPA, I set up my wireless router to be secure (WPA-PSK) when I installed the router. I played around in the browser setup and need to figure out how to change my access username and password from the default.. It seems that a lot of people do not setup WPA. In fact, right now I am at my sister's place who has dialup and no network and connecting via somebody who has a WLAN-G setup that is unsecure. I know my neighbors across the street for me at home has an unsecure network and the next place I shall check is my father's place... Heck, I should just cancel my cable modem... Posted Image

Jay
You are the crispy noodle in the vegetarian salad of life

#5 of 8 OFFLINE   Patrick Sun

Patrick Sun

    Studio Mogul



  • 37,895 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 30 1999

Posted January 24 2009 - 01:28 AM

Stop being so cheap, just leave the cable modem on all the time, treat it like water coming into the house. You don't turn off the water at the street when you're not using it, do you?
"Jee-sus, it's like Iwo Jima out there" - Roger Sterling on "Mad Men"
Patcave | 2006 Films | 2007 Films | Flickr | Comic-Con 2012 | Dragon*Con 2012

#6 of 8 OFFLINE   Jay H

Jay H

    Producer



  • 5,657 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 22 1999
  • Real Name:Jay
  • LocationPittsfield, MA

Posted January 25 2009 - 11:12 PM

At the street? No, unless you have a backhoe that I can borrow and one of those T bar things that the water company uses to turn pipelines on and off.

I hate those little blinky lights... Heck, I turn off my cable box and my HTF 6 plug strip when I'm away on the weekends.

Jay
You are the crispy noodle in the vegetarian salad of life

#7 of 8 OFFLINE   Jay H

Jay H

    Producer



  • 5,657 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 22 1999
  • Real Name:Jay
  • LocationPittsfield, MA

Posted January 26 2009 - 11:02 AM

OK, read online that WPA2-PSK is newer and better than WPA-PSK and since my laptop is as new as my router, changed my settings to that...

Oh, I have to go now to turn off my water line...

Jay
You are the crispy noodle in the vegetarian salad of life

#8 of 8 ONLINE   Clinton McClure

Clinton McClure

    Screenwriter



  • 2,786 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 28 1999
  • Real Name:Clint
  • LocationCentral Arkansas

Posted January 27 2009 - 11:31 AM

I have a T-bar you can borrow for that... Posted Image