Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Wi-Fi Antenna for BD Ethernet connections?


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
80 replies to this topic

#1 of 81 Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Advanced Member

  • 37,289 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted December 17 2008 - 09:44 PM

Okay, this is going to sound silly, but in the end I am certain there
must be a solution.

I am adding a second BD LIVE player to my home. It's going downstairs
where I have absolutely no ethernet connection. Furthermore, I don't want
the cost of adding another line to that location.

Is there an ethernet bridge/antenna that I can plug into the ethernet
slot to pick up the Wi-Fi signal in my home that will enable my BD Player
to access BD Live material?

If so, what is the name of what I must look for?

Thanks in advance.

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

gallery_269895_23_10043.jpg Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders gallery_269895_23_1316.jpg Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

gallery_269895_23_773.jpg Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive gallery_269895_23_992.jpgClick Here for our complete DVD review archive

gallery_269895_23_7246.jpg Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule gallery_269895_23_3120.jpg Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#2 of 81 Scooter

Scooter

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 03 1998
  • Real Name:Scooter
  • LocationDFW Area Texas

Posted December 17 2008 - 10:38 PM

Wouldn't using a PS3 accomplish this? I know Morgan can get online wirelessly when he comes here using that player.

#3 of 81 Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Advanced Member

  • 37,289 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted December 17 2008 - 10:48 PM

A PS3 might, but I didn't buy a PS3.

I need an antenna for the Panasonic BD player I just bought.

Thanks anyways, Scoot!

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

gallery_269895_23_10043.jpg Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders gallery_269895_23_1316.jpg Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

gallery_269895_23_773.jpg Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive gallery_269895_23_992.jpgClick Here for our complete DVD review archive

gallery_269895_23_7246.jpg Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule gallery_269895_23_3120.jpg Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#4 of 81 Scooter

Scooter

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 1,509 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 03 1998
  • Real Name:Scooter
  • LocationDFW Area Texas

Posted December 17 2008 - 11:10 PM

Off the top of my head, the only things I can think to sugest would the the ethernet adapter for XBox or, if there is a USB port on the player, a USB wireless adapter.

#5 of 81 Scott Merryfield

Scott Merryfield

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 10,168 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 16 1998
  • LocationMichigan

Posted December 17 2008 - 11:49 PM

Several companies sell wireless ethernet bridges or wireless game adapters that would meet this need. Most of them are around $80 - $100, though. I've been looking for such a device to connect my BD player and AV receiver to my home network, but I've been waiting until I can find something less expensive.

A co-worker told me this unit can be setup in bridge mode, but I have not had time to verify that information yet.

#6 of 81 Cees Alons

Cees Alons

    Advanced Member

  • 18,466 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 31 1997
  • Real Name:Cees Alons

Posted December 18 2008 - 01:31 AM

Ron,

I've been using this Linksys WET54G WiFi/LAN bridge for some years on different PC's already. Haven't used it on any of my HD players, though. I don't know why it shouldn't work in that case as well.

You need to set it up (letting it make contact with your WiFi AP and enter the security keys) on a PC. When it's set, you can use it on other ethernet ports.

I don't know about prices in the US.


Cees

#7 of 81 Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Advanced Member

  • 37,289 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted December 18 2008 - 01:39 AM

I see it here on Amazon

Mixed reviews. Looks like it will be a real pain-in-the-ass to
set up, but then again, what router isn't?!

Thanks, Cees!

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

gallery_269895_23_10043.jpg Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders gallery_269895_23_1316.jpg Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

gallery_269895_23_773.jpg Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive gallery_269895_23_992.jpgClick Here for our complete DVD review archive

gallery_269895_23_7246.jpg Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule gallery_269895_23_3120.jpg Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#8 of 81 Cees Alons

Cees Alons

    Advanced Member

  • 18,466 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 31 1997
  • Real Name:Cees Alons

Posted December 18 2008 - 02:19 AM

Ron,

It's a bit of a pain alright, but it does have a setup wizard. In fact, when setting it up, you don't have to literally connect it to the PC on which you are running the wizard. All the wizard needs is to see the device on your LAN, so plugging in an ethernet cable (at that point the WiFi isn't working of course) in one of your switches (or a free port on the AP) will do the trick as well.

However, you may want to use it on one of your PCs at least once, to see if it really works. Posted Image


Cees

#9 of 81 Colin Davidson

Colin Davidson

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 373 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 06 1999

Posted December 18 2008 - 02:50 AM

Ron -

What about using Powerline technology? I use it at home and have it connected to my DVR and Blu-Ray player in a room at the opposite end of the house. Works great - and have had no issues connecting to BD Live content.

This is what I have:

Linksys.com - Products/Home/Networking/Powerline & Phoneline/PLK200

Colin

#10 of 81 Doug_H

Doug_H

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 588 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 21 2000

Posted December 18 2008 - 03:48 AM

Ron

Look for a wireless ethernet bridge or a wireless print server.

I picked up a couple of these NETGEAR WGPS606 54 Mbps Wireless Print Server with 4-Port Switch - bridge specs

They have 4 ethernet and 2 USB ports so I was able to connect my DirecTV DVR, Blu and HD-DVD player all to one box. That leaves me with an extra for potential expansion in the future. It is really easy to set up and I haven't had a problem since I installed them. I found mine for $20 a few months ago and couldn't be happier.
Every child has many wishes. Some include a wallet, two chicks, and a cigar, but that's another story.
 

#11 of 81 Scott Merryfield

Scott Merryfield

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 10,168 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 16 1998
  • LocationMichigan

Posted December 18 2008 - 04:42 AM

Doug,

Where did you find that Netgear print server for $20? It's $75 - $80 everywhere I look.

#12 of 81 Doug_H

Doug_H

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 588 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 21 2000

Posted December 18 2008 - 05:07 AM

I found it at CompUSA on a clearance deal but more recently on Ecost. It is a discontinued model so it shows up periodically for sale on closeout. I will do a little hunting and see if I can find it cheaper.
Every child has many wishes. Some include a wallet, two chicks, and a cigar, but that's another story.
 

#13 of 81 Doug_H

Doug_H

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 588 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 21 2000

Posted December 18 2008 - 05:15 AM

Scott, I found them for $30 here Netgear WGPS606 Wireless Print Server - SALE PRICE: $29.78 which is a good deal. I I suspect you could get them lower if you kept your eyes open but for $10 I would jump now.
Every child has many wishes. Some include a wallet, two chicks, and a cigar, but that's another story.
 

#14 of 81 Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Advanced Member

  • 37,289 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted December 18 2008 - 06:25 AM

This sounds like a GREAT deal. THANK YOU.

Before I jump on it...you sure this is what I need and it will work?

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

gallery_269895_23_10043.jpg Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders gallery_269895_23_1316.jpg Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

gallery_269895_23_773.jpg Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive gallery_269895_23_992.jpgClick Here for our complete DVD review archive

gallery_269895_23_7246.jpg Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule gallery_269895_23_3120.jpg Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#15 of 81 Doug_H

Doug_H

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 588 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 21 2000

Posted December 18 2008 - 06:52 AM

Ron

It hooks right up to your current wireless router with a very easy setup and will give you ethernet to 4 devices, more if you hook up a hub.

I have two of them, one in each set-up and they have been flawless and required no maintenance at all. It will do the trick for you.

*Hint* There are several blue lights on the front that flash, which can be distracting in a theater environment, slip some tape over the lights and you are good to go Posted Image
Every child has many wishes. Some include a wallet, two chicks, and a cigar, but that's another story.
 

#16 of 81 Scott Merryfield

Scott Merryfield

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 10,168 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 16 1998
  • LocationMichigan

Posted December 18 2008 - 06:57 AM

Doug,

Thank you! I've been looking for a reasonable price on something like this. I just placed an order - $37 shipped.

Ron, that Netgear unit should work fine for what you intend. You are trying to accomplish the exact same thing as me.

#17 of 81 MarkHastings

MarkHastings

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 12,013 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 27 2003

Posted December 18 2008 - 07:00 AM

Ron, I just wanted to speak about the Linksys Wireless Bridge:

I have the B version of the bridge for my ReplayTV connection and while it works beautifully, it tends to lose it's connection every few weeks. I brought this up in another forum and other members seemed to have similar issues.

I'm not sure if the G version is better at this, but just wanted to warn you about it. Although, the problem is always solved by unplugging and plugging the unit back in, so it's not the end of the world.

#18 of 81 Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Advanced Member

  • 37,289 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted December 18 2008 - 07:10 AM

You guys are the best!

ORDERED!

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

gallery_269895_23_10043.jpg Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders gallery_269895_23_1316.jpg Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

gallery_269895_23_773.jpg Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive gallery_269895_23_992.jpgClick Here for our complete DVD review archive

gallery_269895_23_7246.jpg Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule gallery_269895_23_3120.jpg Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#19 of 81 Chris S

Chris S

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 2,519 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 09 2000
  • Real Name:Chris S

Posted December 20 2008 - 04:19 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkHastings
I'm not sure if the G version is better at this, but just wanted to warn you about it. Although, the problem is always solved by unplugging and plugging the unit back in, so it's not the end of the world.

I've had the G version hooked to my Tivo HD for a few months and haven't had any problems. I'm very pleased with it so far.
DVD & Blu-ray - It's all about the movies!

#20 of 81 Kevin. W

Kevin. W

    Advanced Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 1,546 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 27 1999

Posted December 21 2008 - 08:20 AM

I use a DLink DPR-1260 Print server and Dlink DES-1105 to connect my HDDVD and Denon 4806CI to the web. Works like a champ.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users