-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

linksys router genius needed


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic

#1 of 7 OFFLINE   Micah Cohen

Micah Cohen

    Screenwriter

  • 1,156 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 08 2000

Posted December 03 2008 - 05:49 AM

1 - I have a Linksys WRT300N.

1.5 - It is in the corner of the room, on a high shelf, with only the cable company modem under it. No other serious electronics are within 10 feet of it.

2 - Its speed is constantly fluctuating between 54mbps and 24mbps.

3 - Have changed channels etc using the online admin page for the router. This has not worked to stabilize the speed. What is the secret to constant router speed with there is no obvious interference nearby?

4 - I would like to place a stereo receiver (AM/FM) with its attendant antenna and speaker wiring on the shelf below this router. Will this interfere with the speed performance?

Thanks for any help or input! Posted Image

MC
ultramicah@yahoo.com

"There's nothing funny about a clown in the moonlight." - Lon Chaney

#2 of 7 OFFLINE   dberthia

dberthia

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 92 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969

Posted December 03 2008 - 08:06 AM

I don't have a Linksys, and I'm definitely no genius, but I can tell you what I did that helped in my situation. My router is located in a room that is in a corner of my house. I bought a corner antenna that helps direct the signal toward the main part of the house. It's been doing a good job for a couple of years now.
 

 


#3 of 7 OFFLINE   Christian Behrens

Christian Behrens

    Supporting Actor

  • 712 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 02 2000

Posted December 03 2008 - 08:46 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Micah Cohen
1 - I have a Linksys WRT300N.
If you haven't done so yet, make sure you're using the latest firmware version for your router. That's always the first thing I check when there are router issues.

-Christian
"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." (Benjamin Franklin)

#4 of 7 OFFLINE   Micah Cohen

Micah Cohen

    Screenwriter

  • 1,156 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 08 2000

Posted December 03 2008 - 09:08 AM

Latest firmware, got that.

That directional antenna is cool...



MC
ultramicah@yahoo.com

"There's nothing funny about a clown in the moonlight." - Lon Chaney

#5 of 7 OFFLINE   Clinton McClure

Clinton McClure

    Screenwriter

  • 2,758 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 28 1999
  • Real Name:Clint
  • LocationCentral Arkansas

Posted December 05 2008 - 06:06 AM

Are you using a microwave or cordless phone nearby? Those can both cause interference.

I use a Linksys WRT54G wireless router and have never had fluctuations like that. I stay constantly connected at 54Mb/s. But even a huge swing wouldn't affect me since my broadband speed is only 1Mb/s and I don't run LAN games.

#6 of 7 OFFLINE   Matt Stryker

Matt Stryker

    Screenwriter

  • 1,313 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 12 2000

Posted December 06 2008 - 07:58 AM

Micah - you might try downloading netstumbler and running it- that will show you access points around yours so that you can use a different channel. With a simple 11 channel router, your channels need to have 5 channels in between to maintain themselves interference free. Thus the most commonly used channels are 1, 6, and 11 since that allows 3 networks to converge.

Other things that may help are turning off mixed mode wireless support (mixed supports 802.11b, G, and possibly N) - just set it to the mode you are going to be using. This shouldn't cause any problems unless you have old laptops that need 802.11b.

Do you have a 2.4 Ghz phone system in your house?

As others have said, unless your internet connection is more than 24 Mbps, the lack of signal strength between you and the router shouldn't be an issue for anything coming or going to the internet.

#7 of 7 OFFLINE   sam5001

sam5001

    Auditioning

  • 4 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 08 2008

Posted December 11 2008 - 02:05 PM

The other suggestions were on the money. Also you should simply try different locations if possible. In particular I've had good success by moving my routers up higher. I actually get my highest transfer rate with my router placed in my attic. If that is feasible for you it may be worth a try.