What's new

Need more power-Harman Audio AVR347??? (1 Viewer)

bspgmgolf

Auditioning
Real Name
Brandon Smith
I'm relatively new to home the home theater world. I'm currently feeling that my Harman AVR 347 is not enough for my speakers. Let's say I'm watching a football game or CSI: I have to turn the power up to "level -19 or -20" to have a good out of sound. I just feel that I'm barely pushing my speakers for what I've got

Can you help me out with Specs???
385W: 55 watts x 7 (All channels operating at full-rated power), THD

Buckethead78

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Mike
HK's are "underrated" compared to most other brands. HK uses all channels running to determine watts, while most others use 1 or 2 channels to determine power. You will be very surprised if you browse through some home audio magazines to see that many manufacturers claim 100 x 7 or some nonsense, and really push 40-50 watts through all 7 channels.

There is no setting on the receiver to increase the output power. You might want to check you speaker levels in the settings, to make sure that they are not set too low. Also, check that your speakers are not "out of phase" meaning one or more speakers have the positive / negative speaker wires backwards. This sometimes may cause speakers to "cancel each other out" reducing bass dramatically and lowering perceived volume levels.

There are a lot of members on here with a lot more knowledge than me, but as far as I know, if those don't work you would probably have to add an external amp.

bspgmgolf

Auditioning
Real Name
Brandon Smith
Thanks for the info. I've already increased the setting on each channel from 0 to a 7 or 8. (I don't believe in maxing out the channel setting to 10). It helped but I still need more.

Realistically, do I have to much speaker vs receiver? What happened if moved up to a Denon AVR 888, but it about the same watt per channel vs the H/K.

Best,
Brandon

David Willow

Babbling Idiot
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave