Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Subwoofer

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 OFFLINE   sdguy55

sdguy55

Auditioning

• 7 posts

Posted November 12 2008 - 03:53 PM

Hello all, i am new to the forum and also new the Home Audio. Although i am new to Home Audio i have been studying/doing Car Audio for awhile now so i know the basics. The setup i have now is a basic out-of-the-box Harmon/Kardon system its silver/gray and i have to say does a pretty good job for me. It is run off an older Denon receiver. I use my setup mostly for music and the occasional movie. My dilemma is that the subwoofer that came with it (10" 100 watts bandpass enclosure) does pretty good but i want more bass. So I have been looking at the higher up model Harmon/Kardon (piano black, 10", 200 watts bandpass enclosure) or a Klipsch sub (also 10" and around 200 watts i believe) So my budget is around 200 bucks and would like to know what you guys would recommend. Has to be self-powered

#2 of 6 OFFLINE   Robert_J

Robert_J

Lead Actor

• 8,160 posts
  • LocationMississippi

Posted November 13 2008 - 12:34 AM

With a $200 budget, you will be limited but here are my suggestions:
Parts Express buyout $199 w/ free shipping, Dr. Hsu designed - link
Dayton, designed by Dr. Hsu - link
Cadence, it stretches your budget but you do get to move up to a 12" - link

All of these are very good, bargain subs. The only way to get a better bang for the buck is to build it yourself.

-Robert

#3 of 6 OFFLINE   sdguy55

sdguy55

Auditioning

• 7 posts

Posted November 13 2008 - 02:32 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert_J
With a $200 budget, you will be limited but here are my suggestions:
Parts Express buyout $199 w/ free shipping, Dr. Hsu designed - link