Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

PS3 Scam?????

PlayStation

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
14 replies to this topic

#1 of 15 OFFLINE   tls36

tls36

    Agent



  • 39 posts
  • Join Date: May 20 2008

Posted October 13 2008 - 11:00 AM

Having waited for the price of the 80GB unit to drop, I just purchased a new 80GB PS3. I wanted this unit as according to Sony's Website, only the 80GB will play PS2 games as well. What a nasty surprise to find that it will not play PS2 games! Is there some type of firm ware I need to down load to allow it to play older games or am I screwed? Anyone else with this "exciting" sitiuation???Posted Image

#2 of 15 OFFLINE   Morgan Jolley

Morgan Jolley

    Lead Actor



  • 8,235 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 16 2000

Posted October 13 2008 - 11:49 AM

They stopped selling the 80GB one that plays PS2 games in August. You won't be able to play PS2 games on your PS3. That's why it was $100 cheaper than the previous 80 GB model. There was some other functionality removed, too.

#3 of 15 OFFLINE   tls36

tls36

    Agent



  • 39 posts
  • Join Date: May 20 2008

Posted October 13 2008 - 12:09 PM

What a screwing!!!!! I feel so violated by the evil SONY empire...............I digress, doesn't seem right to misrepresent like that though!!

#4 of 15 OFFLINE   tls36

tls36

    Agent



  • 39 posts
  • Join Date: May 20 2008

Posted October 14 2008 - 03:31 AM

I am slowly learning that Blu-Ray players are internally decoding Dolby True HD but not outputting it yet thru the HDMI according to a knowledgeable source. What is the word??

#5 of 15 OFFLINE   SDRANGER619

SDRANGER619

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 63 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 25 2008

Posted October 14 2008 - 05:56 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by tls36
Having waited for the price of the 80GB unit to drop, I just purchased a new 80GB PS3. I wanted this unit as according to Sony's Website, only the 80GB will play PS2 games as well. What a nasty surprise to find that it will not play PS2 games! Is there some type of firm ware I need to down load to allow it to play older games or am I screwed? Anyone else with this "exciting" sitiuation???Posted Image
Why not send the unit back and demand your money back if you're so angry. My unit (60GB from 2007), has full backward compatibility, but honestly, you'll never use it. I was adamant about having this so i can play my PS2 games, and I only tried them once.
huh?

#6 of 15 OFFLINE   Aaron Silverman

Aaron Silverman

    Lead Actor



  • 9,656 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 22 1999
  • Real Name:Aaron Silverman
  • LocationFlorida

Posted October 14 2008 - 07:34 AM

That depends. I play PS2 (and even PS1!) games on my PS3 all the time.

Well, to be accurate, I don't play that many games to begin with, but a lot of the few I do play are PS2 games (especially racing and monster truck games that I play with my son).
"How wonderful it will be to have a leader unburdened by the twin horrors of knowledge and experience." -- Mr. Wick

#7 of 15 OFFLINE   Jari K

Jari K

    Producer



  • 3,255 posts
  • Join Date: May 16 2007

Posted October 15 2008 - 12:28 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by SDRANGER619
Why not send the unit back and demand your money back if you're so angry.

Indeed. Forums, gaming sites and also this particular forum are FULL of PS3 info (=newer models DO NOT support PS2 games or SACD, and they´re missing memory card-slots and 2 additional USB-ports). Just like new (upcoming) Nintendo DS (DSi) won´t support older "Game Boy Advance"-games anymore.

You can check e.g. PlayStation 3 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

I have also the "first" PS3-model (60gb) with full PS2-support, but I hardly never used it (PS2 games, I mean). I can always hook up my old PS2 for that (which I have done with some of my Buzz!-games, when I take it with me to my friends).

Sure, the lack of PS2-support is not very ideal, but it´s not that you can´t live with that.

#8 of 15 OFFLINE   JohnS

JohnS

    Producer



  • 4,608 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 17 2001
  • Real Name:John Steffens

Posted October 15 2008 - 12:41 AM

I have a PS3 and I don't even think about playing PS2 games.
The only game that I should have played before getting a PS3 was God of War 2. I just hope I'm not lost that much in story line details when I play God of War 3.

all-banner.jpg


#9 of 15 OFFLINE   WillG

WillG

    Producer



  • 5,234 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 30 2003

Posted October 15 2008 - 01:59 AM

I'm more concerned that if anything happens to my legacy PS3, I won't be able to have a convenient SACD player anymore.
STOP HIM! He's supposed to die!

#10 of 15 OFFLINE   tls36

tls36

    Agent



  • 39 posts
  • Join Date: May 20 2008

Posted October 15 2008 - 09:04 AM

All good points and I do have a old PS2, its just that Sony's site is misleading. Once you see how good the new games are you don't miss the old ones as much. Anyone try Modern Warfare on PS3??

#11 of 15 OFFLINE   Morgan Jolley

Morgan Jolley

    Lead Actor



  • 8,235 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 16 2000

Posted October 15 2008 - 11:37 AM

Yes, CoD4 looks/plays amazing. Only 1 problem: if you want to play it in 1080p, you need to turn off all other video output settings on your console to force 1080p out. Note that this doesn't work on every PS3 game and is unique to CoD4.

#12 of 15 OFFLINE   tls36

tls36

    Agent



  • 39 posts
  • Join Date: May 20 2008

Posted October 15 2008 - 12:17 PM

Weird................

#13 of 15 OFFLINE   Jari K

Jari K

    Producer



  • 3,255 posts
  • Join Date: May 16 2007

Posted October 15 2008 - 09:44 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Morgan Jolley
Yes, CoD4 looks/plays amazing. Only 1 problem: if you want to play it in 1080p, you need to turn off all other video output settings on your console to force 1080p out. Note that this doesn't work on every PS3 game and is unique to CoD4.

If I recall, "CoD4" is in 720p (can´t fully confirm at the moment, though). IMO, just play it with that resolution. Some games (same thing with 360) are in 720p and some in 1080p.

Edit: I guess the "native/base resolution" is actually slightly less than 720p in "real life"...

http://www.eurogamer....d=88461&page=1

"Both versions (PS3/Xbox 360) are also operating at a sub-HD resolution - 1024x600 to be precise - but the scaling up to both 720p and indeed 1080p looks decent enough thanks to anti-aliasing being present on the base image."

#14 of 15 OFFLINE   TonyTone

TonyTone

    Supporting Actor



  • 728 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 24 2002

Posted October 16 2008 - 03:55 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by tls36
I am slowly learning that Blu-Ray players are internally decoding Dolby True HD but not outputting it yet thru the HDMI according to a knowledgeable source. What is the word??
It outputs it as uncompressed PCM (through HDMI) upon internally decoding the TrueHD soundtrack...or are you saying that it's not even doing that (which I would find it hard to believe), in which case, do you know which Blu-ray player(s) are guilty of this (I know the PS3 isn't one of them)?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tls36
All good points and I do have a old PS2, its just that Sony's site is misleading.
I don't know when you last visited the Sony site but given that the current PS3 80 GB model has been out for at least a few months (IIRC), I doubt that the info shown in the following link was just only recently updated:

PS3 80 GB (no PS2-compatibility model)

Take note of the sentence highlighted in red; given that--how exactly is the site "misleading", to the point that you incorrectly assumed that the PS3 you purchased had the PS2 compatibility...let alone claim that this issue is a "scam"? The only thing I can think of is that you probably visited the site quite some time before the newer 80 GB model was released--otherwise there is no way you could not have discovered that the current version was not PS2-compatible.

#15 of 15 OFFLINE   Tony_La

Tony_La

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 59 posts
  • Join Date: May 23 2002

Posted October 25 2008 - 04:06 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by tls36
What a screwing!!!!! I feel so violated by the evil SONY empire...............I digress, doesn't seem right to misrepresent like that though!!

The first question listed about the PS3 is the backwards compatibility issue. Not sure how its misleading.

Answer - PlayStation.com Knowledge Center


Back to Video Gaming



Forum Nav Content I Follow