Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Sleeping Beauty BD-Live Login


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
11 replies to this topic

#1 of 12 OFFLINE   Todd Erwin

Todd Erwin

    Screenwriter



  • 2,279 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 16 2008
  • Real Name:Todd Erwin
  • LocationOrange County, CA

Posted October 11 2008 - 08:45 AM

Is anyone else having problems registering for a Disney BD-Live account?

I have a Disney Online account, which I can login to, and when registering for a BD-Live account, it asks you for your Disney Online login account info if you have one. But when I do, it tells me that my email address, username, and password are incorrect.

If I create an account from scratch, it tells me that my e-mail address already exists.

Also, whoever designed this utility must be blind, as I find it difficult to complete an online form with grey text on a powder blue backgound.

#2 of 12 OFFLINE   Tino

Tino

    Producer



  • 5,572 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 19 1999
  • Real Name:Valentino
  • LocationMetro NYC

Posted October 11 2008 - 02:03 PM

same here.
It's gonna be a hell of a ride. I'm ready. .

#3 of 12 OFFLINE   pitchman

pitchman

    Screenwriter



  • 1,843 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 11 1998
  • Real Name:Gary
  • LocationColumbia, MO

Posted October 11 2008 - 05:55 PM

After wasting 10-15 minutes downloading the update, I spent another 15-20 minutes trying to set up an account. In frustration, I finally bailed on the whole thing. I have NEVER seen such a tedious, convoluted and INVASIVE setup process just to get some additional content that all things considered, probably should have come on the discs in the first place.

I have a feeling that BD Live will quickly go the way of all that bonus "DVD-ROM content" that we had back in the early days of DVD...
Gary

#4 of 12 OFFLINE   Rob W

Rob W

    Second Unit



  • 470 posts
  • Join Date: May 23 1999
  • Real Name:Robert
  • LocationToronto

Posted October 12 2008 - 12:21 PM

It was a disaster from start to finish although I finally got set up after almost half an hour of running back and forth to the television and the website. They tell you you can set up on the web but I saw no indication of anywhere to do so using the web link they provided. Glad to see I'm not quite as dim as I was thinking.

Once I got on there was virtually NO content I had the slightest interest in viewing.

#5 of 12 OFFLINE   James_Garner

James_Garner

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 121 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 01 2002
  • Real Name:James Garner

Posted October 12 2008 - 03:28 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob W
They tell you you can set up on the web but I saw no indication of anywhere to do so using the web link they provided. Glad to see I'm not quite as dim as I was thinking.

Once I got on there was virtually NO content I had the slightest interest in viewing.

Disney has just put up this registration link (I hope I'm allowed to post it):
Registration for The Disney BD-Live Network

I hope this works. also, here's the link to the main Disney BD-Live site:
The Disney BD-Live Network. It has a flash video showing their BD-live plans.

#6 of 12 OFFLINE   BrettB

BrettB

    Producer



  • 3,024 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 01 2001

Posted October 13 2008 - 03:52 AM

They're obviously having some issues out of the gate.

My experience from last week: I'm already set up with Disney Movie Rewards so after I put in my email the rest of my info was already in there. The problem I had was with the age verification. Neither the SS nor the Driver's License methods worked. The email method did work.

I don't have a computer at home so I had to shut down the disc and fire up the PS3 browser to go check the email. In the email I clicked a button that brought up a screen that the PS3 couldn't really handle (Flash?). I was afraid it wasn't going to work but when I loaded BDLive back up I was in.

Last I checked (Fri) there was lots of stuff that still wasn't live. I'll reserve judgment for now and give them some time to get their act together.

#7 of 12 OFFLINE   TonyD

TonyD

    Executive Producer



  • 16,240 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 01 1999
  • Real Name:Tony D.
  • LocationDisney World and Universal Florida

Posted October 13 2008 - 12:31 PM

i cant get any of the logins to work or the registration .
when i put my login it says bad email or password.

then when i go to send me password it says the member name doesnt exist.

but when going to that link in the a couple of posts ago all my info is there but is says i need to use a real email address??


also the link to remember your member name tells you to input your member name??
facebook.com/whotony

#8 of 12 OFFLINE   DaViD Boulet

DaViD Boulet

    Lead Actor



  • 8,805 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 24 1999

Posted October 13 2008 - 04:55 PM

Same problem here guys.

The complication is that disney wants to avoid issues of liability with child predation by doing the age verification and password thing to use their "chat" bd live feature.

IMO, it would be better to just let people use the regular BD live stuff without any sort of login, and then ONLY do the age-verification/sign-in/register stuff for things that matter like the chat feature.

maybe future discs will take that route. It's WAY too much effort to force consumers through these hoops to just play some game. And if we techies can't figure it out and don't have the patience... no one else will!
Be an Original Aspect Ratio Advocate

Supporter of 1080p24 video and lossless 24 bit audio.

#9 of 12 OFFLINE   Todd Erwin

Todd Erwin

    Screenwriter



  • 2,279 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 16 2008
  • Real Name:Todd Erwin
  • LocationOrange County, CA

Posted October 14 2008 - 03:52 AM

It appears that the only way to access the BD-Live features is to create a new login from scratch. It will not accept existing logins.

#10 of 12 ONLINE   Johnny Angell

Johnny Angell

    Producer



  • 5,385 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 13 1998
  • Real Name:Johnny Angell
  • LocationCentral Arkansas

Posted October 16 2008 - 04:27 AM

When I first head about BD-Live, I though that possessing the BD would get you access to the internet content. Is this going to be typical, each studio requring a login? That would suck, big time.
Johnny
www.teamfurr.org
But a family cat is not replaceable like a wornout coat or a set of tires. Each new kitten becomes its own cat, and none is repeated. I am four cats old, measuring out my life in friends that have succeeded but not replaced one another.--Irving Townsend


#11 of 12 OFFLINE   Todd Erwin

Todd Erwin

    Screenwriter



  • 2,279 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 16 2008
  • Real Name:Todd Erwin
  • LocationOrange County, CA

Posted October 16 2008 - 11:14 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Angell
When I first head about BD-Live, I though that possessing the BD would get you access to the internet content. Is this going to be typical, each studio requring a login? That would suck, big time.

So far, Disney is the only studio I know of that requires a login to access the BD-Live content, and to use your PC to create the account.

Sony only asks you to login to register the disc, but it is not required to access the content. Sony also allows you to create a login account from the BD-Live portal.

Paramount doesn't require anything, so far, to access their content, on both Transformers and IronMan.

#12 of 12 OFFLINE   Steve Tannehill

Steve Tannehill

    Producer



  • 5,535 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 06 1997
  • Real Name:Steve Tannehill
  • LocationDFW

Posted October 16 2008 - 01:46 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toddwrtr
It appears that the only way to access the BD-Live features is to create a new login from scratch. It will not accept existing logins.

Nope, I registered online for Disney Rewards some time ago, and was able to use that login to access BD-Live.

It took time to make it work, but it did.

- Steve





Forum Nav Content I Follow