-

Jump to content



Sign up for a free account!

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and you won't get the popup ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Problems with DD


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 Buckethead78

Buckethead78

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 74 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 14 2007

Posted September 20 2008 - 12:19 PM

I just hooked up my new HK 254 yesterday. Everything seems to work, with one exception. My Xbox sends the signal through optical cable that DD is present(according to the receiver), but there is no sound!

My other sources seem to work fine. Might this be as simple as a bad cable?

#2 of 6 Ed Moxley

Ed Moxley

    Screenwriter

  • 2,701 posts
  • Join Date: May 25 2003
  • Real Name:Ed
  • LocationEastern NC

Posted September 20 2008 - 12:44 PM

So, you have set the Xbox to output the audio as "Bitstream", or "Raw"?
It could be the cable. If you unplug the cable from the back of the receiver (still plugged into Xbox), can you see a red light in the end of the cable? Just a glance.........don't let the laser stay in your eyes.
Samsung HL61A750 (LED DLP)            Onkyo TX-SR805
Oppo BDP-83 Blu ray                                  Polk Audio LSi9
Polk Audio LSiC                                  Sony SS-MB100H
SVS PC12-NSD (Sub)                       ...

#3 of 6 Buckethead78

Buckethead78

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 74 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 14 2007

Posted September 20 2008 - 02:25 PM

I can see a light in the cable.

I should clarify, it is an Xbox 360, and output is set to DD in the audio settings.

#4 of 6 Joseph DeMartino

Joseph DeMartino

    Lead Actor

  • 8,301 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969
  • Real Name:Joseph DeMartino
  • LocationFlorida

Posted September 21 2008 - 12:04 AM

Did you configure the input on the reciever? Most digital receivers I'm familiar with don't pre-assign the digital audio inputs to AV sources, because they don't know what combination of optical and coaxial digital outputs your particular components might have. Instead they let you assign, say Digital 2 (Optical) to Video 1, and Digital 4 (coax) to Video 2, etc.

Regards,

Joe

#5 of 6 Buckethead78

Buckethead78

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 74 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 14 2007

Posted September 21 2008 - 05:54 AM

Joe -- Yep, inputs are assigned. The receiver does recognize the signal as the receiver has "dolby digital" onscreen. If it was not getting a signal, it would be in "Logic 7" mode.

I just can't figure out why there's no sound from the speakers Posted Image

#6 of 6 Buckethead78

Buckethead78

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 74 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 14 2007

Posted September 22 2008 - 09:44 AM

Could it be the cable then? Even if I see some red light from the end?