Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

How to create a home network: sharing files and drives across computers


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
10 replies to this topic

#1 of 11 OFFLINE   Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Studio Mogul



  • 40,283 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted September 16 2008 - 07:41 AM

I would guess with a little time I could figure this all out on
my own.

The situation is, I just ordered a HP MediaSmart Server that I
will use to share files and back up all computers (wired and
wireless) throughout my home.

Now before I ask my question, I have to point out that my
computers are already wired for or receiving Internet wirelessly.
I don't need to network my computers for Internet access.

What I do need to do is set up a network that all computers
can log into to see files and even the MediaSmart server I am
about to install.

How do I set it up on the main computer so others can see
and how do I set up the remote computers to be able to access?

Finally....

Am I better off plugging the MediaServer (think of it as a shared
hard drive) right into the router through ethernet or using the USB
input on the Airport Extreme? Which would provide faster data
access?

Thanks

 

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

 Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders  Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

 Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive Click Here for our complete DVD review archive

 Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule  Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#2 of 11 OFFLINE   Joe Casey

Joe Casey

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 226 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 02 1999

Posted September 16 2008 - 09:07 AM

Quick and not-so-dirty solution:

1. Plug the HP server in to your Extreme via ethernet.

2. Enable File Sharing on all computers whose hard drives you will want to access over the network (Preferences>Sharing and select File Sharing).

3. Now mount all 'network' drives that you need (HP server, other computers etc) via Finder under Shared Devices and/or Network (simply clicking on a particular folder on any of the remote drives will mount it as a network drive and put it's icon on your desktop).

You can now tell each machine to auto-mount each network drive during startup by going to Preferences>Accounts>Login Items, and dragging the mounted volumes over to the item list (if the HP server or another computer is off/asleep, they will not automount).
Q

#3 of 11 OFFLINE   Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Studio Mogul



  • 40,283 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted September 16 2008 - 09:16 AM

Joe,

This looks easy. I will try it tomorrow.

One last question that is related to this.

I have a wireless printer that is communicating with my desktop
via the airport express plug-in module.

How can I share that printer across all my computers without
having to plug it into the USB port on the router?

Still trying to figure out how I should set up this Windows
Media Center. If I do it through Windows I fear that the Mac will
not be able to see it. If I set it up through Mac I may lose some of
the upgrading and remote access capabilities that I need to configure
through windows. I just spent a lot of money on this MediaCenter
not knowing how compatible it will be with MAC.

 

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

 Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders  Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

 Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive Click Here for our complete DVD review archive

 Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule  Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#4 of 11 OFFLINE   Joe Casey

Joe Casey

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 226 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 02 1999

Posted September 16 2008 - 09:39 AM

Do you mean the printer is not plugged in to the AEx? If it is, the AEx acts as a wireless print server which can be accessed from any computer once the appropriate printer drivers have been loaded.

As far as the HP Mediasmart server is concerned, I'm not familiar with it (I use plain NAS).
Q

#5 of 11 OFFLINE   Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Studio Mogul



  • 40,283 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted September 16 2008 - 09:45 AM

Joe,

No, the printer is in another room so hooking it via usb to the
AEx is impossible. I use the airport express module for a wireless
communication.

However, since my main Mac Pro desktop can access it wirelessly,
can something be done so that the other two Macs in my home can
see it as well?

 

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

 Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders  Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

 Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive Click Here for our complete DVD review archive

 Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule  Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#6 of 11 OFFLINE   Joe Casey

Joe Casey

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 226 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 02 1999

Posted September 16 2008 - 10:23 AM

If your Pro can see the printer via the AEx, then all other machines on your network should be able to see it as well (the AEx does not provide a closed connection). Try duplicating the printer settings from your Pro (Preferences>Print & Fax) on another machine after loading the appropriate printer driver.
Q

#7 of 11 OFFLINE   JohnRice

JohnRice

    Lead Actor



  • 8,572 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 20 2000
  • Real Name:John

Posted September 20 2008 - 07:00 AM

Ron, possibly you need to install the printer driver on the other machines? That should be all it takes.

Alternatively, maybe that printer hasn't been added to the printer lists of the other machines...

The Hybrid System

The Music Part: Emotiva XSP-1, Thiel CS 3.6, Emotiva XPA-2, Marantz SA8004, Emotiva ERC-3, SVS PB-12 Plus 2

The Surround Part: Sherbourn PT-7030, Thiel SCS3, Emotiva XPA-5, Polk & Emotiva Surrounds.


#8 of 11 OFFLINE   Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Studio Mogul



  • 40,283 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted September 20 2008 - 07:04 AM

Yeah, That basically did it. I can now print from all computers
in my household. Thanks so much!!!!

 

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

 Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders  Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

 Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive Click Here for our complete DVD review archive

 Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule  Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations


#9 of 11 OFFLINE   Eric M Jones

Eric M Jones

    Second Unit



  • 398 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 15 2000

Posted April 13 2009 - 02:14 AM

Ron,

I'm considering the MediaSmart Server as a solution for managing multiple macs and hoping to centralize iTunes library, iphoto library and time machine backups. Could you give me your thoughts about the MediaSmart and how it has been working for you?

-EJ
 Visit my blog coregeek.net

#10 of 11 OFFLINE   Sam Posten

Sam Posten

    Executive Producer



  • 16,879 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 30 1997
  • Real Name:Sam Posten
  • LocationAberdeen, MD & Navesink, NJ

Posted April 13 2009 - 05:30 AM

I've thought about doing this but since I use iTunes to manage all of my media this doesn't seem like the way to go for me. Definitely interested in hearing what you do and don't like about this!

I lost my signature and all I got was this Nutter t-shirt


#11 of 11 OFFLINE   Ronald Epstein

Ronald Epstein

    Studio Mogul



  • 40,283 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 1997

Posted April 13 2009 - 07:43 AM

The HP Media Smart Server is still not entirely MAC friendly, though
from reading their press releases you would think it would be since
they were supposed to implement an update so that it would work with
Time Machine.

If they have, and I just did an update, it still does not work.

I am happy with the Media Server as a storage device, but it still
does not do nearly all the cool things that it does under Windows.

 

Ronald J Epstein
Home Theater Forum co-owner

 

 Click Here for the latest/hottest Blu-ray Preorders  Click Here for our complete Blu-ray review archive

 Click Here for our complete 3D Blu-ray review archive Click Here for our complete DVD review archive

 Click Here for Blu-Ray Preorder Release Schedule  Click Here for forum posting rules and regulations