-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

A few words about...™ Iron Man -- in Blu-ray

A Few Words About

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
56 replies to this topic

#21 of 57 OFFLINE   Joe Cain

Joe Cain

    Auditioning

  • 5 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 18 2008

Posted September 22 2008 - 11:53 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Hillenbrand
DRC = Dynamic Range Compression

This feature is activated when the Onkyo reciver is fed Iron Man's bitstream and not when fed LPCM when decoded in the player.

Paul

I don't know about other players, but DRC can still be activated for PCM when TrueHD is decoded internally on the PS3:

Quote:
BD / DVD Settings
BD / DVD Dynamic Range Control
Enable or disable your PS3™ system's dynamic range control feature while playing BDs and DVDs that produce Dolby Digital sound. This setting is for use only when Linear PCM audio format is selected as the audio output format.

---with a toggle setting for AUTO/OFF/ON. From the PS3 online manual.

#22 of 57 OFFLINE   PaulDA

PaulDA

    Screenwriter

  • 2,580 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 09 2004
  • Real Name:Paul
  • LocationSt. Hubert, Quebec, Canada

Posted September 23 2008 - 01:37 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Cain
I don't know about other players, but DRC can still be activated for PCM when TrueHD is decoded internally on the PS3:
It can be but the problem with the Onkyo receiver, apparently, is that DRC ON is the DEFAULT setting when receiving a bitstream rather than LPCM via HDMI. If someone doesn't know this about the receiver, then they may be left with the impression that bitstreamed lossless audio is not as good as expected.
Never try to teach a pig to sing. It wastes time, and it annoys the pig.

#23 of 57 OFFLINE   Joe Cain

Joe Cain

    Auditioning

  • 5 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 18 2008

Posted September 23 2008 - 03:13 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulDA
It can be but the problem with the Onkyo receiver, apparently, is that DRC ON is the DEFAULT setting when receiving a bitstream rather than LPCM via HDMI. If someone doesn't know this about the receiver, then they may be left with the impression that bitstreamed lossless audio is not as good as expected.

Understood. I was just pointing out that, since DRC is by default set to "Automatic" in the relevant PS3 menu setting, the inetrnally-decoded TrueHD--->PCM results could be just as disappointing.

#24 of 57 OFFLINE   Paul Hillenbrand

Paul Hillenbrand

    Screenwriter

  • 1,263 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 16 1998
  • Real Name:Paul Hillenbrand

Posted September 23 2008 - 05:53 AM

Is Iron Man (Blu-ray) recalled from retailers for possible defects?Posted Image

Tower.com "Availability: This item is no longer for sale on Tower.com."

Blu-ray.com Iron Man on Blu-ray recalled Posted Image

Paul
Avatar: "The Annunciation to the Shepherds" Painting by Nicolas Berchem (1680-1683)
BD 3D, BD, HD DVD, DVD collection


#25 of 57 OFFLINE   Zack Gibbs

Zack Gibbs

    Screenwriter

  • 1,687 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 15 2005

Posted September 23 2008 - 06:15 AM

This would never happen to Batman.
"Because he's the hero that Gotham deserves, but not the one it needs right now... and so we'll hunt him... because he can take it... because he's not a hero... he's a silent guardian, a watchful protector... a DARK KNIGHT."

#26 of 57 OFFLINE   TravisR

TravisR

    Studio Mogul

  • 22,008 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 15 2004
  • LocationThe basement of the FBI building

Posted September 23 2008 - 06:23 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Hillenbrand
Is Iron Man (Blu-ray) recalled from retailers for possible defects?Posted Image

Tower.com "Availability: This item is no longer for sale on Tower.com."

Blu-ray.com Iron Man on Blu-ray recalled Posted Image

Paul
If this is true, it would be a bummer but at least they didn't find a problem and just pretend that it wasn't there so they can meet the release date.

#27 of 57 OFFLINE   Paul Hillenbrand

Paul Hillenbrand

    Screenwriter

  • 1,263 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 16 1998
  • Real Name:Paul Hillenbrand

Posted September 23 2008 - 07:08 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kocheese99
Here's the UPC's:

Defective: UPC: 097361385747

New "Fixed": UPC: 097361385709
Post #179 @ Blu-ray.com "Iron Man on Blu-ray recalled Posted Image" thread.

EARLY UPDATE - 9/23/08 - 11:45 AM PDT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Hunt
The official word on the Iron Man BD is in from Paramount. The discs that will be available on street date at your local retailers WILL be fixed and working fine, so no worries. We're also told that because the discs will be corrected by street, there will be no need for any kind of exchange program. Just so you know.

The Digital Bits: My Two Cents

Paul
Avatar: "The Annunciation to the Shepherds" Painting by Nicolas Berchem (1680-1683)
BD 3D, BD, HD DVD, DVD collection


#28 of 57 OFFLINE   TravisR

TravisR

    Studio Mogul

  • 22,008 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 15 2004
  • LocationThe basement of the FBI building

Posted September 23 2008 - 09:22 AM

^ Even better. Posted Image

#29 of 57 OFFLINE   TonyD

TonyD

    Executive Producer

  • 16,146 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 01 1999
  • Real Name:Tony D.
  • LocationDisney World and Universal Florida

Posted September 23 2008 - 10:48 AM

at my bbv we received our shipment today including our blu-ray rental and retail copies of iron man.

what i noticed today is that we have three seperate listings in our database.
one of them is $35 another is $30 and the third also is $30.

Odd thing about one of the $30 ones is right in the title line it says do not rent or sell.
This is the item number for the copies we received, including the rental i have in my hands

if there is a memo about this we didn't see it today.
facebook.com/whotony

#30 of 57 OFFLINE   Ron-P

Ron-P

    Producer

  • 6,283 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 25 2000
  • Real Name:Ron

Posted September 23 2008 - 12:52 PM

Excellent news!
You have all the weapons you need...Now fight!


#31 of 57 OFFLINE   TonyD

TonyD

    Executive Producer

  • 16,146 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 01 1999
  • Real Name:Tony D.
  • LocationDisney World and Universal Florida

Posted September 24 2008 - 04:48 AM

according to a post over at that blu-ray forum

Defective: UPC: 097361385747

New "Fixed": UPC: 097361385709

my bbv has the "defective" upc
facebook.com/whotony

#32 of 57 OFFLINE   Cees Alons

Cees Alons

    Executive Producer

  • 18,640 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 31 1997
  • Real Name:Cees Alons

Posted September 24 2008 - 12:08 PM

Thanks, Tony.
But, uhm.. it was already posted in post #27! Posted Image


Cees

#33 of 57 OFFLINE   TonyD

TonyD

    Executive Producer

  • 16,146 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 01 1999
  • Real Name:Tony D.
  • LocationDisney World and Universal Florida

Posted September 24 2008 - 01:05 PM

i know, saw it.

i was just posting the upc in case anyone wanted to see the upc codes.

btw our fixed Iron Men will come in on monday so we can prep them for tuesday.


hold on, i swear those upc codes weren't there before in post 27, just a link to them.
facebook.com/whotony

#34 of 57 OFFLINE   Paul D Snyder

Paul D Snyder

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 217 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 05 2003

Posted October 03 2008 - 08:36 AM

Best Buy sold me the DEFECTIVE one and I just returned with the "good" one, I hope. I need to test it out to make sure. It is the correct upc this time.

They gave me the run around but finally coughed one up.

#35 of 57 OFFLINE   Paul D Snyder

Paul D Snyder

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 217 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 05 2003

Posted October 04 2008 - 01:32 AM

The "correct" UPC version won't play for me now. Posted Image

Anybody else having that problem??

Could be my older Samsung Player just can't play it. But it plays every other Blu Ray I own, including newer releases like Transformers.

Any suggestions?

Thanks
Paul

#36 of 57 OFFLINE   Paul Hillenbrand

Paul Hillenbrand

    Screenwriter

  • 1,263 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 16 1998
  • Real Name:Paul Hillenbrand

Posted October 04 2008 - 06:40 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul D Snyder
The "correct" UPC version won't play for me now. Posted Image

Anybody else having that problem??

Could be my older Samsung Player just can't play it. But it plays every other Blu Ray I own, including newer releases like Transformers.

Any suggestions?

Thanks
Paul
Tell me about it! Posted Image

If your "older Samsung Player" is the BD-P1000, I know what your talking about.

Since I can't link to AVS from HTF anymore, I'll quote what I posted over there in the Samsung Blu-ray BDP-1000 - First End User Reports - OWNERS ONLY! thread last Wednsday.

"Iron Man" works fine on my PS3 in the theater room, just not on Posted Imagethe Samsung in my bedroom.

Quote:
Samsung Tech Support Chat Survey
General Info
Chat start time Oct 1, 2008 9:34:48 PM EST
Chat end time Oct 1, 2008 9:42:45 PM EST
Duration (actual chatting time) 00:07:56
Operator Davin S
Chat Transcript
info: Please wait for a Samsung Agent to respond.
info: All Samsung Agents are currently assisting others. Thanks for your patience. A Samsung Agent will be with you shortly.
info: You are now chatting with 'Davin S'
Davin S: Hello, I am a Samsung Technical Support representative. How may I assist you today?
Paul H: Hi Davin S, My Samsung BD-P1000 will not play the Iron Man Blu-ray movie. The BD-P1000 firmware was last updated to Version 1.6 on 6/20/2008 and is the latest version on your website.
Davin S: Yes, actually we are having compatibility problem right now with Iron man
Davin S: Engineers already aware of this and working to release the firmware soon to fix this
Paul H: Thanks for the heads-up.
Davin S: You're welcome, Is there anything else I can assist you with?
Paul H: That's all right now.
Paul H: Regards,
Davin S: Thank you for chatting with us. If you have a minute, please press the "close" button and fill out a brief survey and have a wonderful day.

Paul
Avatar: "The Annunciation to the Shepherds" Painting by Nicolas Berchem (1680-1683)
BD 3D, BD, HD DVD, DVD collection


#37 of 57 OFFLINE   Martin Henry

Martin Henry

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 72 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 08 2008

Posted October 04 2008 - 09:32 AM

Having had a go checking out the BD-Live material, I'm sorry I bothered. In fact, checking out the internet features on the five discs I own that include it,(Iron Man, Transformers, The Fall, Forgetting Sarah Marshall and Rambo), I've come to the conclusion that I'll never bother again. Pointless rubbish.

#38 of 57 OFFLINE   Ron-P

Ron-P

    Producer

  • 6,283 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 25 2000
  • Real Name:Ron

Posted October 04 2008 - 02:38 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Hillenbrand
Tell me about it! Posted Image

If your "older Samsung Player" is the BD-P1000, I know what your talking about.

Since I can't link to AVS from HTF anymore, I'll quote what I posted over there in the Samsung Blu-ray BDP-1000 - First End User Reports - OWNERS ONLY! thread last Wednsday.

"Iron Man" works fine on my PS3 in the theater room, just not on Posted Imagethe Samsung in my bedroom.


Paul

I have a BD-P1000, what a POS machine, I cannot play a handful of discs. It's pretty much nothing but a paper weight now. I highly doubt I'll ever buy another Samsung player again because of this.

I had no problems with this on my PS3, heck out of the 100's of Blu-rays I've spun with it I've not had a single issue yet, fantastic player.

I did return my set to Amazon due to the fact the #1 disc was loose in the case and was scratched. Best news is I picked up the helmet 2-disc set at Target for only $2 more then what Amazon charged me for the regular 2-disc.
You have all the weapons you need...Now fight!


#39 of 57 OFFLINE   Paul D Snyder

Paul D Snyder

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 217 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 05 2003

Posted October 05 2008 - 01:25 AM

Thank you Paul H and Ron for your responses. I do have the BD-P1000, I guess that explains it. I guess I need to get a new player.

I also read some reviews on Amazon where people couldn't get any Samsung or Sony player to play it...Several with PS3's that couldn't as well.

Strange.

Paul

#40 of 57 OFFLINE   pitchman

pitchman

    Screenwriter

  • 1,839 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 11 1998
  • Real Name:Gary
  • LocationColumbia, MO

Posted October 05 2008 - 02:28 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul D Snyder
I also read some reviews on Amazon where people couldn't get any Samsung or Sony player to play it...Several with PS3's that couldn't as well.

Strange.

Paul
The PS3 issue was NOT a PS3 issue. What happened is that the first time you go to play disc 1 on a PS3 (or any other player with BD Live capability) and if your BD Live Internet setting is set to "allow," the player logs into Paramount's servers to download the BD Live content. Their servers became so overloaded that lots of PS3s could not log in and snag the content. As a result, many players "froze" for several minutes on the screen with the Iron Man chest symbol before eventually timing out and defaulting back to the main menu. Paramount has since fixed the problem by adding more server capacity and increasing bandwidth. Depending on your broadband setup, now that initial load only takes a minute or two.
Gary


Back to Blu-ray



Forum Nav Content I Follow