What's new

Our Gang SILENTS coming from Laughsmith (1 Viewer)

Eric Peterson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Eric Peterson

I've been tracking this website for at least 3 years now. They seem like a small operation and this sort of work takes a long time. I hope that they haven't hit a snag and that things are only taking longer than they originally planned.

Tory

-The Snappy Sneezer- -Red Huck-
Real Name
Tory
Laughsmith said this at Silentcomedians.com
Laughsmith
PostPosted: Sun Feb 17, 2008 6:00 pm Post subject: Reply with quote
This set contains some of the very best surviving prints, restored and remastered in HD with breathtaking results, and footage that is unavailable anywhere else. Many archives and generous individuals have contributed to help make this the definitive silent Our Gang collection.
(Yes, Joe, there is also an additional disc featuring a large selection of rare imitator comedies.)
The release has been delayed because of a series of disputes with our former distributor. When these issues have been resolved we will report the details here.
We truly appreciate everyone's continued patience.

Essanay Paul

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Paul
Sadly the dispute between the DVD producer and the distributor has forced the producer to hand over all work and rights to this project to the distributor.

All that has been done was a brief airing on the TCM network.

Restoration was not fully completed, and a horrible generic guitar music track was added. The same rifts play from short to short.

Brent Reid

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Brent
Hi Paul,

I can't tell you how sorry I am to hear this. I've only ever seen silent Our Gangs in film festivals and it would have been wonderful to supplement my numerous DVDs of their talkies with such a set.

They certainly deserve better treatment than this.

JoHud

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Joe Hudak