What's new

Denon AVR-588 Reciever / Audio problems (1 Viewer)

jaxlynn86

Auditioning
Real Name
anderson
Hey I'm kinda new at this. Ive purchased this Denon AVR-588 receiver from a local dealer in my area. As well a (2) Klipsch F-2 Towers and the Klipsch Quintet SL surround package as well as a Klipsch Ksw-12 Sub. I've got my PS3 and my HD dish network receiver hooked up directly to my Receiver and then out to my Samsung 50" Plasma tv using HDMI cables (only). I hooked the two towers into my front R/L channels in the receiver, and adjusted my audio receiver to 5-channel stereo mode and the the cable option(where I have my satellite receiver hooked into), and received the picture but no sound.. So I tried the dvd option(PS3), again got the picture but no sound. So i went the the tuner option, and adjusted to a local fm station..no sound. I tried analog on/off, 5/7 channel stereo, surround, pcm, dts, everything.... Went to the setup options 1, 2, and 3, adjusted as the manual stated for speakers, input and output for HDMI mode. So i called the dealer (best buy). they told me something about having to use rca cables (red,white) to run my ps3 and/or HD dish network receiver if i wanted to run into stereo. Didnt know weather there just idiots or just ran out of things to tell me to try. So I tried running rca cables from satellite receiver to audio receiver (denon). Surpisingly got a consistent static sound from both channels, but thats it. So called Circuit city, they said I MUST use an optical cable for my PS3 and satellite to get any sound whether in stereo or surround. Is this correct???? I'm kinda beginning to think this reciever is some sort of a dud... Please let me know what to do and how i may can reslove this issue...

JeremyErwin

Senior HTF Member
hmm. Your receiver may be set to zone 2. On many (most?) Denon receivers, the digital inputs are zone 1 only.

Be sure that all your speakers are connected to the zone 1 outputs, as well.