-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Crown amp for fronts?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
8 replies to this topic

#1 of 9 OFFLINE   robert bartsch

robert bartsch

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 76 posts
  • Join Date: May 07 2008

Posted August 10 2008 - 03:35 AM

I need some more KICK from my HT receiver - Onkyo 130 X 7.

...My fronts are JBL 15 inch, compression drivers and slot tweets.

Anyway, I'm looking at Crown amps 802 series with 500 watts per side into 8 ohms that I would run from the pre-amp outs on the Onkyo.

They only concern I have is THD is high at .5%.

Is this amp too dirty for HT?

Thx..

#2 of 9 OFFLINE   chuckg

chuckg

    Supporting Actor

  • 917 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 27 2004

Posted August 11 2008 - 05:06 AM

That specification is utterly confusing to nearly everyone.

half-percent THD at a certain output level does not mean 1/2% always. It is very likely that the amp is producing quite a lot less distortion at lower volumes.

Your Onkyo might be producing that much, or more, distortion at the level you are listening at...


Higher output generally, loosely speaking, means more distortion, on any given amp.

Most folks can't hear distortion lower than 1% anyway....
--ignore the man behind the curtain

#3 of 9 OFFLINE   johnny..bon

johnny..bon

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 172 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 03 2003
  • Real Name:John

Posted August 11 2008 - 05:39 AM

I use 4 Crown XLS-402D's (300 watt/ch) to power my Swan 6.1 , C3 center, 2.1's surrounds and I can attest they are as clean a sound as any home theater amp. The amount of power, dynamic headroom and clarity are astounding.

#4 of 9 OFFLINE   robert bartsch

robert bartsch

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 76 posts
  • Join Date: May 07 2008

Posted August 11 2008 - 12:57 PM

OK Johnnie:

Thats what I have heard (no pun) too!

I think I'm going with the 802D @ 500 wpc into 8 ohms.

#5 of 9 OFFLINE   Philip Hamm

Philip Hamm

    Lead Actor

  • 6,885 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 23 1999

Posted August 12 2008 - 05:52 AM

I'm using a vintage Crown DC300A to power my infinite baffle subwoofer and it's a beast!
Philip Hamm
Moderator Emeritus

#6 of 9 OFFLINE   robert bartsch

robert bartsch

    Stunt Coordinator

  • 76 posts
  • Join Date: May 07 2008

Posted August 15 2008 - 05:42 AM

I got the big Crown 802D yesterday but it is not installed in my HT yet.

I did yank the cover and found a big copper transformer, 20 heat sunk output transistors, and old-style circuit board with some resistors, diodes, etc. Apparently, there are no micro chips that I could see.

Anyway, the unit weighs 29 pounds - so even the newer Crowns are no lightweights.

#7 of 9 OFFLINE   Philip Hamm

Philip Hamm

    Lead Actor

  • 6,885 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 23 1999

Posted August 15 2008 - 08:29 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by robert bartsch
I got the big Crown 802D yesterday but it is not installed in my HT yet.

I did yank the cover and found a big copper transformer, 20 heat sunk output transistors, and old-style circuit board with some resistors, diodes, etc. Apparently, there are no micro chips that I could see.

Anyway, the unit weighs 29 pounds - so even the newer Crowns are no lightweights.
The question is will you rack mount the monster?Posted Image
Philip Hamm
Moderator Emeritus

#8 of 9 OFFLINE   rjrenjian

rjrenjian

    Auditioning

  • 6 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 14 2008

Posted August 15 2008 - 08:56 PM

Approves one ! Just passing through

#9 of 9 OFFLINE   Mark Sherman

Mark Sherman

    Supporting Actor

  • 783 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 09 2003

Posted August 18 2008 - 11:33 AM

great great amp. I would love to get my hands on one, lets us all know how it sounds
Making the world a better Place one Plasma and LCD at a time