What's new

HTF Interview: Mr. Charlie Boswell of AMD (1 Viewer)

Sam Posten

Premium
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam Posten
An interview with Charlie Boswell of AMD

About a week back I got a curious email from the PR reps we deal with on a lot of DVD and BluRay news, one with an open invitation to interview Mr. Charlie Boswell of AMD. Now remember I am not a journalist but I am a huge tech head and I like to get a line on all kinds of neat new things so I immediately took them up on the opportunity noting that I would be approaching it from a consumer perspective. We got the OK on that and Mr. Boswell and I got to chat for a leisurely 45 minutes via phone. I think I got to pick the man’s brain from just about every perspective that would be interesting to the typical HTF reader in that time!

So, first a few notes from the information I was given beforehand: “Charlie has worked with everyone from Eric Clapton’s Crossroads Festival to Dweezil Zappa to Peter Frampton to recording and filming this year’s Pure Volume stage at SxSW. On the film side, he has also worked with directors George Lucas and Robert Rodriguez.” Sounds like just the right kind of guy for HTF, right?

And he blogs too! Er, at least he has a blog, and it’s got at least one entry so far:
Charlie Boswell

“I believe the most important computer you’ll ever own is the one that sits on your shoulders. I also believe you should judge harshly any technology or technology culture that dares to come into that rarefied atmosphere of your mind where the creative process begins.” Yup, this is the kind of guy we need to hear more from!

As it turns out, Mr. Boswell’s team are the chief evangelists for the AMD 64 Live! Platform, which can be found here:
AMD LIVE!: Digital Audio and Video Solutions for Creative Professionals