Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo
- - - - -

Samsung Firmware Fix


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic

#1 of 6 OFFLINE   Markicio

Markicio

    Auditioning



  • 2 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 09 2008

Posted June 09 2008 - 10:12 AM

If you download and updated the firmware on the Samsung LN-T4061, 4065, 4661 or 4665 and noticed that the picture is not clear, follow these steps to correct that. I found this on another forum so all respect and credits to the original posting individual!

"In the below settings, you'll want to press buttons slowly. The TV lags between when you press a button and when it responds.

0. Set the TV onto an unused source so you have a black or blue screen. This makes reading the menu easier in later steps.
1. Turn the TV off.
2. On the remote, press MUTE, 1, 8, 2, POWER
3. The TV will turn on into service mode. It takes a few seconds after powering on to display the service menu.
4. Using the arrow buttons on the remote, go down to Option Byte and press Enter.
5. Arrow down to "Lvds Tx Fmt" and press Enter.
6. Using the right and left arrow buttons, change the setting. Mine was set to JEIDA. Setting it to VESA fixed things.
7. Press Menu to exit.
8. Turn the TV off to apply the changes.


Also, check the info from the link I posted (below) to make sure that a few other settings in Option Byte are correct for your tv.


Quote:
Make sure the SCREEN SIZE is correct: Panel Option = 46AMW for LN-T4665 displays, and 46AM for LN-T4661 displays.
Make sure that if you own an LN-T4x65 that your Lvds Tx Bit = 10bit.
Make sure if you own an LN-T4x61 that your Lvds Tx Bit = 8bit.
If you own an LN-T4x65, your should change your model so it says "Tulip Side."
If you own an LN-T4x61, you should change the model so it says "Tulip." "


Posted Image

#2 of 6 OFFLINE   vlin

vlin

    Auditioning



  • 1 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 03 2008

Posted December 03 2008 - 12:34 PM

Thanks for the post. The suggestion does help my problem. Now my HD channels and HDMI channels are back to normal. However, all my analog channels are showing purple/blue ish pictures. Anyone knows how to solve the problem?

Victor

#3 of 6 OFFLINE   Bang n Olufsen

Bang n Olufsen

    Auditioning



  • 4 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 04 2011

Posted February 14 2011 - 11:49 AM

Hi you may want to go back into the Tech menu and do a system reset, however my suggestion, prior to the reset, take some digital photos of the the various pages and keep as insurance incase the RESET wipes out the set information.

 I am aware that after a firmware update, it is always a good idea to reset, then set the Vesa etc usually it is plug and play as it detects the LCD as well as the PCB version and basically sets the parameters auto pilot.

Please note that this works majority of times , however proceed at your risk, if it works then it works if not you can always refer to your camera shots to retune manually various parameters.



#4 of 6 OFFLINE   Gregg Loewen

Gregg Loewen

    Producer



  • 6,333 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 09 1999
  • Real Name:Gregg Loewen
  • LocationNew England

Posted February 16 2011 - 11:38 PM


 I am aware that after a firmware update, it is always a good idea to reset

 this is a bad idea...VERY BAD!!!


If you go into the service menu and hit reset this take the display from the current state to the factory state PRIOR to their initial calibration of it.


Also, when you enter the service menu you VOID the warranty.


My suggestion, if your display has an issue contact Samsung warranty support to get a fix for it.



The Sonodome - circa 2001
The Newest Sonotube - circa 2001
Gregg's DVDs updated...sometimes
Lion Audio Video Consultants usually current


#5 of 6 OFFLINE   Bang n Olufsen

Bang n Olufsen

    Auditioning



  • 4 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 04 2011

Posted February 19 2011 - 06:43 AM

I had already talked to Samsung service hence as my TV was not in Manufacturers warranty, hence I was able to try it, however of course if in warranty one should use ones discretion.

I wonder if there is a write method from the TV into the USB port so that I could save it before attempting any change?



Originally Posted by Gregg Loewen 


 this is a bad idea...VERY BAD!!!


If you go into the service menu and hit reset this take the display from the current state to the factory state PRIOR to their initial calibration of it.


Also, when you enter the service menu you VOID the warranty.


My suggestion, if your display has an issue contact Samsung warranty support to get a fix for it.




#6 of 6 OFFLINE   jennigirly

jennigirly

    Extra



  • 21 posts
  • Join Date: May 13 2011

Posted May 20 2011 - 12:17 AM



Originally Posted by Markicio 

If you download and updated the firmware on the Samsung LN-T4061, 4065, 4661 or 4665 and noticed that the picture is not clear, follow these steps to correct that. I found this on another forum so all respect and credits to the original posting individual!

"In the below settings, you'll want to press buttons slowly. The TV lags between when you press a button and when it responds.

0. Set the TV onto an unused source so you have a black or blue screen. This makes reading the menu easier in later steps.
1. Turn the TV off.
2. On the remote, press MUTE, 1, 8, 2, POWER
3. The TV will turn on into service mode. It takes a few seconds after powering on to display the service menu.
4. Using the arrow buttons on the remote, go down to Option Byte and press Enter.
5. Arrow down to "Lvds Tx Fmt" and press Enter.
6. Using the right and left arrow buttons, change the setting. Mine was set to JEIDA. Setting it to VESA fixed things.
7. Press Menu to exit.
8. Turn the TV off to apply the changes.


Also, check the info from the link I posted (below) to make sure that a few other settings in Option Byte are correct for your tv.


Quote:
Make sure the SCREEN SIZE is correct: Panel Option = 46AMW for LN-T4665 displays, and 46AM for LN-T4661 displays.
Make sure that if you own an LN-T4x65 that your Lvds Tx Bit = 10bit.
Make sure if you own an LN-T4x61 that your Lvds Tx Bit = 8bit.
If you own an LN-T4x65, your should change your model so it says "Tulip Side."
If you own an LN-T4x61, you should change the model so it says "Tulip." "


Posted Image



Try this:
-When Smart TV logo is displayed on the screen, Press Mute 2 5 8 EXIT on the remote (in sequence).
And let us know the result!