What's new

Going back to college to get a 2nd Bachelor's Degree - how does this work? (1 Viewer)

Jason L.

Second Unit
I graduated from the State University of New York at Stony Brook in 1994 with a double major in Applied Mathematics and Statistics/Economics plus a minor in Business with a 3.34 GPA. At the end the math was ridiculously arcane to the point where you barely used numbers - just letters [mostly Greek]. I just barely made it through the math portion.

Like most college graduates I haven't used any of this after I graduated. I couldn't tell you how to solve the simplest of Calculus problems.

I have been in the IT field for almost a decade. I'm sick of it and I want to do something else. I could rant about this for a while but I'll just leave it at that.

I have been thinking about what field I should get into next. I've always liked number crunching. SUNY-Stony Brook is/was a science school and didn't offer degrees in Accounting/Finance while I was there. I took a couple of accounting classes for my Economics degree but that was it.

Now I'm thinking of getting a job in accounting/finance. I assume that I will have to go back to school - which is fine with me. If I go back to college for a 2nd bachelors degree, likely in the Dallas area, I'm not sure how it works. I will not be going for a masters degree. I just want enough schooling so that I can meet any job requirements.

1. How does the application process work? I already have a degree so they know I can do the work.

2. How many credits would I need to earn for another degree? I assume that I won't have to start from scratch.

I will probably submit a separate post about what the accounting/finance field is like. Any comments are appreciated.

SethH

Senior HTF Member