-

Photo
- - - - -

Helps this rookie!!!!

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
13 replies to this topic

#1 of 14 drvai

drvai

Extra

• 18 posts

Posted April 08 2008 - 01:16 AM

Hi to everyone.

I'm a complete rookie in this home theater thing. I searched this forum and learned A LOT, but still have some doubts. The thing is that I'm remodeling my place and I wanted to wire the living room and master bedroom with speaker cable. The contractor will do this, but I need to choose the cable (and buy it).

What do I buy!!??? I still don't know what system will I buy, actually I also need advice on this.

Will I be able to use a generic wall cable with a bundle home theater system (the ones that include speakers and receivers?).

What type of connector would I need?

Because of all the mess I have now, I can't dedicate 100% on this and I really would appreciate of someone could guide me a little bit.

THANK YOU SO MUCH.

#2 of 14 chris.big.money

chris.big.money

Stunt Coordinator

• 106 posts

Posted April 08 2008 - 03:51 AM

Hey i know how you feel- i'm a rookie as well; But i can help you in some areas. you should probably go to Home Depot and get some 12-16 gauge wire depending on how much you want to spend. Apparently, the home theater in a box (HTiB) systems are not recommended on this forum; i wouldn't recommend it either as i currently have one that i consider temporary and am not very happy with it. You should probably shop around for separate speakers and receiver. Do you want 5.1, 6.1, or 7.1 surround sound? What is your budget? Are you looking for High Definition systems? These questions could help determine if you should go for a HTiB or a full fledged system.

#3 of 14 drvai

drvai

Extra

• 18 posts

Posted April 08 2008 - 04:12 AM

Thank you so much for the response.
About the cable: wouldn't I need a special audio cable?