-

Jump to content



Photo
- - - - -

Sci-Fi Channel in HD


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
25 replies to this topic

#1 of 26 Scott-S

Scott-S

    Screenwriter

  • 2,027 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 08 2001
  • Real Name:Scott Sturdevant
  • LocationThe Land of Zion

Posted March 27 2008 - 03:07 AM

I just found out that my cable system is adding the HD version of the Sci-Fi channel next week. Should I be happy, or is it going to be like A&E etc. and just be stretched copies of shows?
-----
Scott

View My DVD Collection
Stop the on-screen Bugs!!!!!!

#2 of 26 Paul Padilla

Paul Padilla

    Supporting Actor

  • 767 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 15 2002

Posted March 27 2008 - 03:29 AM

I'm sure it's going to be a little stretch and a little real HD.

What cable system...and where, Scott?
I'm a ****ing idiot 'cause I can't make a lamp?
No, you're a genius 'cause you can't make a lamp.
What do you know about trigonometry?
I could care less about trigonometry.
Did you know without trigonometry there would be no engineering? Without lamps there'd be no light.

#3 of 26 Scott-S

Scott-S

    Screenwriter

  • 2,027 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 08 2001
  • Real Name:Scott Sturdevant
  • LocationThe Land of Zion

Posted March 27 2008 - 03:54 AM

I am on Comcast in the Salt Lake City area.
-----
Scott

View My DVD Collection
Stop the on-screen Bugs!!!!!!

#4 of 26 David Norman

David Norman

    Screenwriter

  • 1,984 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 12 2001
  • LocationCharlotte, NC

Posted March 27 2008 - 04:50 AM

I've never seen Sci-Fi stretch material. Most of its 4:3 material is shown that way and that's the majority of what they have available though most the newer series have been shown Full HD -- SG Atlantis and surely Season 4 of BSG.
 

 


#5 of 26 Jason Seaver

Jason Seaver

    Lead Actor

  • 9,306 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969

Posted March 27 2008 - 05:14 AM

Unlike a lot of the other stations, the NBC/Universal channels seem to be pretty good about not stretching. What they aren't necessarily good about is actually getting HD sources; I'm always amused when I flip it on and Enterprise is running with black on all four sides, for instance.
Jay's Movie Blog - A movie-viewing diary.
Transplanted Life: Sci-fi soap opera about a man placed in a new body, updated two or three times a week.
Trading Post Inn - Another gender-bending soap, with different collaborators writing different points of view.

"What? Since when was this an energy...

#6 of 26 Garrett Adams

Garrett Adams

    Supporting Actor

  • 931 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 27 2000

Posted March 27 2008 - 10:57 AM

I'm also getting it starting next week.

#7 of 26 Ernest

Ernest

    Supporting Actor

  • 508 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 21 1998

Posted March 28 2008 - 01:22 AM

Those of us with DirecTV have had SCI-FI HD for several months and for me it has been the biggest disappointment of all the HD programs. I gave up after they continually displayed programming window-boxed, thick black bars on all four sides. The reality was my 55" HD TV was reduced to a 32" TV showing SD quality video from SCI-FI.

The definition for HD, as set forth by the DVD forum, is video broadcast in 720P or higher with an aspect ratio of 16 x 9. 16 x 9 was picked as a compromise between 4 x 3 and movies shot in a variety of formats. The reasoning was 4 x 3 would be stretched to fill the screen and 2:35 or larger would show small black bars on the top and bottom. And that is exactly how DVD's are manufactured.

Unfortunately, this process did not carryover to TV programming and we are now stuck with 4 x 3 displayed with black pillar bars. So now we go a step further and SCI-FI displays letter-box, 4 x 3, with pillar bars. It makes no sense and the programming is completely un-viewable.

The TV programmers are not following the forum rules and all we can do about it, is do as I do and not watch any of the pillar bar, window-boxing programming.

#8 of 26 Joseph DeMartino

Joseph DeMartino

    Lead Actor

  • 8,302 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969
  • Real Name:Joseph DeMartino
  • LocationFlorida

Posted March 28 2008 - 02:48 AM

I don't know if it is Sci-Fi or if Comcast in my area is actually sending the SD feed to their designated HD channel, but I also get standard stuff in 4:3 and widescreen material letterboxed within the pillarboxed 4:3 window. I have yet to see anything on the channel show up as 16:9. Not worth watching. If I want to watch SF in SD I just tune into the SD channel.

Regards,

Joe

#9 of 26 TravisR

TravisR

    Studio Mogul

  • 21,804 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 15 2004
  • LocationThe basement of the FBI building

Posted March 28 2008 - 07:27 AM

Considering that Universal HD plays Battlestar Galactica properly, I'll be surprised if it isn't presented correctly on Sci-Fi HD too. And if they don't, I'll just watch it on Universal HD.

#10 of 26 David Norman

David Norman

    Screenwriter

  • 1,984 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 12 2001
  • LocationCharlotte, NC

Posted March 28 2008 - 09:05 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph DeMartino
I don't know if it is Sci-Fi or if Comcast in my area is actually sending the SD feed to their designated HD channel, but I also get standard stuff in 4:3 and widescreen material letterboxed within the pillarboxed 4:3 window. I have yet to see anything on the channel show up as 16:9. Not worth watching. If I want to watch SF in SD I just tune into the SD channel.

Regards,

Joe


SCI Fi shows HD shows properly on DirecTV -- Every Enterprise or SG Atlantis I've seen is 16:9 so if they are windowboxed on your system then Comcast is at fault.

Right now -- 5pm EDT SG Atlantis is full 16:9 HD (not windowboxed) while the XFiles from 4-5 pm EDT was a properly pillarboxed 4:3.

And to mess with everybody -- 6-7pm Stargate (2001) was 4:3 pillarbox while 7-8pm SG1 (2005) was 16:9 windowboxed.
 

 


#11 of 26 Ric Easton

Ric Easton

    Screenwriter

  • 2,814 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 06 2001

Posted March 28 2008 - 01:00 PM

I want my Sci-fi HD! With Battlestar Galactica displayed correctly of course!

I do have Universal HD, but how long before they start showing season 4 of BG?

#12 of 26 Joseph DeMartino

Joseph DeMartino

    Lead Actor

  • 8,302 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969
  • Real Name:Joseph DeMartino
  • LocationFlorida

Posted March 28 2008 - 02:26 PM

Quote:
Every Enterprise or SG Atlantis I've seen is 16:9 so if they are windowboxed on your system then Comcast is at fault.

Why am I not surprised? Posted Image

Joe

#13 of 26 TravisR

TravisR

    Studio Mogul

  • 21,804 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 15 2004
  • LocationThe basement of the FBI building

Posted March 28 2008 - 03:26 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ric Easton
I do have Universal HD, but how long before they start showing season 4 of BG?
I assumed that they'd run the same week as they did on Sci-Fi (since that's what they're doing with the recap specials this week) but I checked the schedule and it looks like no BSG episodes are on Universal HD in April at all. I guess Sci-Fi wants to be the only game in town. I guess I have to pin my hopes on the Sci-Fi HD channel coming through. Posted Image

#14 of 26 Ric Easton

Ric Easton

    Screenwriter

  • 2,814 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 06 2001

Posted March 29 2008 - 01:19 AM

Well then here's hoping that Sci-fi-HD comes to my Time Warner Cable system by next Friday! I'd say it ain't lookin' good! Why I need an HD channel of CNN or the Food Network, I really can't fathom.

#15 of 26 Joseph DeMartino

Joseph DeMartino

    Lead Actor

  • 8,302 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969
  • Real Name:Joseph DeMartino
  • LocationFlorida

Posted March 29 2008 - 03:41 AM

I don't know about CNN, but I can tell you why I need Food Network in HD:

Posted Image

Posted Image

Regards,

Joe

#16 of 26 nolesrule

nolesrule

    Producer

  • 3,084 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 06 2001
  • Real Name:Joe Kauffman
  • LocationClearwater, FL

Posted March 29 2008 - 08:30 AM

That's two good reasons.

#17 of 26 Paul Padilla

Paul Padilla

    Supporting Actor

  • 767 posts
  • Join Date: Jan 15 2002

Posted March 31 2008 - 02:07 AM

Here's two more.


Posted Image
I'm a ****ing idiot 'cause I can't make a lamp?
No, you're a genius 'cause you can't make a lamp.
What do you know about trigonometry?
I could care less about trigonometry.
Did you know without trigonometry there would be no engineering? Without lamps there'd be no light.

#18 of 26 Joseph DeMartino

Joseph DeMartino

    Lead Actor

  • 8,302 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969
  • Real Name:Joseph DeMartino
  • LocationFlorida

Posted March 31 2008 - 02:11 AM

Quote:
Here's two more.

Yes, the bread and the pasta do look yummy. Posted Image

Joe

#19 of 26 Steve Berger

Steve Berger

    Supporting Actor

  • 955 posts
  • Join Date: Sep 08 2001

Posted March 31 2008 - 01:03 PM

Those salt and pepper shakers would be pretty hard to resolve in SD

#20 of 26 Joseph DeMartino

Joseph DeMartino

    Lead Actor

  • 8,302 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 31 1969
  • Real Name:Joseph DeMartino
  • LocationFlorida

Posted March 31 2008 - 01:46 PM

What? No love for Cat Cora?

Posted Image

It is strangely difficult to find a really, er, good picture of Sandra Lee on the 'net. I guess this will have to do:

Posted Image

What was this thread about again? Posted Image

Joe


Back to TV Programming



Forum Nav Content I Follow