What's new

Monster Cable at it again. (1 Viewer)

troy evans

Screenwriter
Has anyone else here seen this bullshit: Monster Advanced For HDMI So, now we have "highspeed" HDMI. Man, anyone who falls for this has thier brain dial set to "stupid." Anyway, this gave me a laugh. When will Monster stop trying to rip off consumers?

allprolab

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Pete
I am brand new to HDMI and would like to not be one of the fools. So can you inform someone like me what would be considered the proper HDMI cables? Is spending more pointless?

Jeff Gatie

Senior HTF Member

HDMI is an all digital signal with proper error checking, so you either get the entire signal or you get a degraded signal that is quite evident, usually showing as massive sparkling on the display leading to no picture at all. Basically, an HDMI cable either works or it doesn't, you can't get a "better quality" picture from HDMI, unless "better quality" means watchable vs. unwatchable. Don't tell that to Monster, they don't like to hear it.

The "high speed" BS is more of the same. They allude to improvements in picture quality due to the "High Speed" capabilities of their $200+ cables, when the same capabilities can be built into a $10 cable.

For a good price on quality HDMI without breaking the bank, try Bettercables.com or Monoprice.com. You can equip your entire setup for less than the price of one Monster HDMI cable and have the same quality picture.

chuckg

Supporting Actor
Why oh why didn't HDMI just use a cat-5e ethernet cable with RJ-45 plugs? Heck, you can send data at over 100 Gb/s that way..... And, if HDMI was split into audio and video components over separate connections, we wouldn't have to figure out how to get sound to one box while picture goes to another...

allprolab

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Pete
Well I think I ripped myself off. I bought a hdmi monster cable for $70. I truly had no idea I was paying too much. It's a rookie mistake I'm not making again.

Jeff Gatie