Jump to content



Sign up for a free account to remove the pop-up ads

Signing up for an account is fast and free. As a member you can join in the conversation, enter contests and remove the pop-up ads that guests get. Click here to create your free account.

Photo

Xbox HD Pack


  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 of 22 OFFLINE   Camp

Camp

    Screenwriter



  • 2,303 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 03 1999

Posted November 11 2001 - 12:57 PM

Ok...I found a HD pack. About time! New audio and video options appear on the Xbox dashboard when the HD pack is connected. New Audio Options: DTS (yes/no) and DD (yes/no) New Video Options: 480p (yes/no), 720p (yes/no), & 1080i (yes/no). I set mine to 480p 'yes', 1080i 'yes' and enabled both DTS and DD. Then I booted up Halo... There are no options for resolution or widescreen. Halo is a 4:3 game period. I have no way to confirm it's even running in 480p (as opposed to 480i). I can say, however, that it looks a hell of a lot better than it did before (which was already fantastic). I'm guessing it's 480p because I don't know if component cables alone could be responsible for the improvement. Dolby Digital is going to be the best addition to gaming in a long time. I somehow walked past an enemy but I heard him from BEHIND me!!!. A quick spin and he was no more. The effect was very cool. Beyond that, the surrounds are rather subtle which made the sound of the enemy really stand out. Good stuff...anyone know of a launch title that is supposed to be in 1080i? I'd like to see what this thing can do.

#2 of 22 OFFLINE   Jeremy Illingworth

Jeremy Illingworth

    Supporting Actor



  • 540 posts
  • Join Date: Nov 12 2000

Posted November 11 2001 - 02:57 PM

What a huge let down. I knew something was up when they never made any official announcements about what games were going to be HD. Especially for Halo (I mean they could at least have WS) because it is currently the only reason I would buy an XBox next year. I doubt that any launch game is HD and think it'll probably be a while before there are any, if ever. And it makes me sad. jeremy

#3 of 22 OFFLINE   Troy LaMont

Troy LaMont

    Supporting Actor



  • 852 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 11 1999

Posted November 11 2001 - 04:32 PM

Camp, I'm drooling over here. My TV (Mits) shows me the type of signal (480p/1080i) when I hit the 'info' button. It also lets me know that I can't do PIP with a 480p signal. Does your set do this? This will let you know what the signal type is. Troy ------------------ :My teacher tells me beauty is on the inside. :That's just something ugly people say.
:My teacher tells me beauty is on the inside.
:That's just something ugly people say.

#4 of 22 OFFLINE   Camp

Camp

    Screenwriter



  • 2,303 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 03 1999

Posted November 11 2001 - 09:44 PM

I don't know if my Sony has a feature like that. If it does, I can't find it. Perhaps someone more familiar with Sony's XBR Wegas will read this thread. That said, I'm fairly confident what I'm seeing is 480p. The improvement is very significant.

#5 of 22 OFFLINE   Matty B

Matty B

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 227 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 27 2001

Posted November 12 2001 - 12:32 AM

The improvement from S-Video to component video is THAT signifigant. I dont think you will be able to tell the difference between 480p and 480i (The differences in DVDs are very slim). Once again, driving games are the ONLY games I can think of that benefit from being wide screen. and for that reason, Test Drive is a 1080i game, I don't know if it's a launch title or not. Maybe project gotham racing is

#6 of 22 OFFLINE   Gary King

Gary King

    Second Unit



  • 480 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 13 1999

Posted November 12 2001 - 01:28 AM

I disagree entirely, Matty. On my set (using Avia, I've got near-perfect hue and saturation on my S-Video inputs), the difference between S-Video and Component off of my Panasonic A120 is virtually nil. On the other hand, the difference between component 480i off of my Panny A120 and 480p off of my PC on DVDs is *huge*.

#7 of 22 OFFLINE   Michael Banks

Michael Banks

    Agent



  • 25 posts
  • Join Date: Aug 20 2001

Posted November 12 2001 - 04:28 AM

Camp,

What series XBR do you have? If it is a 450 then when a 480p signal is used it bypasses the 3 modes of the DRC, interlaced, progressive, and cinemotion. The mode button on the remote won't work, or you can check the video setting menu to see if the DRC mode is blacked out.

If you have a XBR400 then I believe you will have to enter service mode to see what the input source is. You can do this by entering the following on the remote: Display, 5, volume up, power. Once in service mode you should see the input type listed on screen. Just hit power again to exit.


------------------
Anime:
Cheaper than crack and a hell of alot more addictive.

My addiction
My addiction

#8 of 22 OFFLINE   Camp

Camp

    Screenwriter



  • 2,303 posts
  • Join Date: Dec 03 1999

Posted November 12 2001 - 02:41 PM

Mine is the 450. And yes, I can now confirm Halo is running progressive. Thanks!

#9 of 22 OFFLINE   Dave F

Dave F

    Screenwriter



  • 2,891 posts
  • Join Date: May 15 1999

Posted November 12 2001 - 03:28 PM

Is there a similar method to determine the mode on a Toshiba 50HX81?

-Dave

------------------
DVD List
"The page you are looking for is here no more. Quoth the Raven, 'Nevermore.'"
DVD List

#10 of 22 OFFLINE   Rusty Ray

Rusty Ray

    Second Unit



  • 274 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 26 1999

Posted November 12 2001 - 04:43 PM

Camp, Did you get the dvd remote for it? i was wondering what mode it ran dvds in..

EDIT:

This is the desription of the av pak from the site:

The High Definition AV Pack connects the Xbox video game system to high definition-ready televisions. Supports 480p, 720p and 1080i component video signals for game play (NTSC only for DVD playback), analog audio inputs and digital receivers.

What does this NTSC only for dvd playback mean? no progressive dvd?

------------------
"As long as you are out there, I can never be number one...."

My DVD List



[Edited last by Rusty Ray on November 12, 2001 at 06:47 PM]
"As long as you are out there, I can never be number one...."

My DVD List

#11 of 22 OFFLINE   BrianB

BrianB

    Producer



  • 5,211 posts
  • Join Date: Apr 29 2000

Posted November 12 2001 - 04:56 PM

[quote]

no progressive dvd?

[quote]

Where have you been, Ray! Posted Image No progressive DVD playback on the XBox - that was made clear, to much annoyance on here, a few months back.

------------------
Nothing In Particular
high resolution ipod featuring dlp hd programming is the best, almost as good as playstation 2 with wega windows media on a super cd! ps2 and tivo do dolby tv with broadband hdtv!

#12 of 22 OFFLINE   Joel Mack

Joel Mack

    Screenwriter



  • 2,321 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 29 1999

Posted November 12 2001 - 05:01 PM

[quote]

No progressive DVD playback on the XBox - that was made clear, to much annoyance on here, a few months back.

[quote]

Indeed. Posted Image Forced a decision I'm somewhat regretting at the moment, but it'll pass... Posted Image

------------------
"The internet is a place where people from all over come together to
bitch about movies and share pornography."

#13 of 22 OFFLINE   Troy LaMont

Troy LaMont

    Supporting Actor



  • 852 posts
  • Join Date: Mar 11 1999

Posted November 13 2001 - 08:09 AM

Camp, Thanks for verify what I already assumed (that most XBox) games will be 480P). Dave, Have you tried hitting the 'info' button to see what is displayed? Other than that, my experience with the Toshiba models is somewhat limited. Troy ------------------ :My teacher tells me beauty is on the inside. :That's just something ugly people say.
:My teacher tells me beauty is on the inside.
:That's just something ugly people say.

#14 of 22 OFFLINE   Rusty Ray

Rusty Ray

    Second Unit



  • 274 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 26 1999

Posted November 13 2001 - 08:20 AM

Actually i had not done much research on the xbox because i had no intention of getting one, but i was checking for a friend who wanted to use it has a dvd player with hi-def out, but it looks like he'll have to go the home theater pc route for that... Posted Image

------------------
"As long as you are out there, I can never be number one...."

My DVD List
"As long as you are out there, I can never be number one...."

My DVD List

#15 of 22 OFFLINE   Dave Falasco

Dave Falasco

    Screenwriter



  • 1,185 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 02 2000

Posted November 13 2001 - 08:23 AM

Well, that's just great. I am out of component inputs on my TV with a prog-scan DVD player and an Dish 6000 HD receiver, so I had just about convinced myself that I could get away with using an S-video connection for the Xbox. And now you tell me that Halo supports 480p. So NOW what do I do???

Yeah, I know, the difference between S-video and component video isn't that huge. But dammit, if a game supports 480p, I want to experience it in 480p! So now I either play the plug/unplug game with my DVD player every time, or find some sort of component video switching device. Any thoughts or suggestions for that?

(Gee, on second thought, maybe everyone should have our problems. Boo hoo, I have to unplug either a progressive-scan DVD player or a hi-def decoder to play my new Xbox in progressive scan. Poor me.) Posted Image

#16 of 22 OFFLINE   Scott O'Keeffe

Scott O'Keeffe

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 77 posts
  • Join Date: Jun 01 1999

Posted November 13 2001 - 09:30 AM

Dave,

How about a new receiver that supports component switching?

Posted Image

#17 of 22 OFFLINE   David Proud

David Proud

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 205 posts
  • Join Date: Jul 25 2000

Posted November 13 2001 - 09:50 AM

if you have an Sony XBR see if you can enable DRC from the menu when playing the game. Drc should be disabled in 480P mode
View Live streaming video of my theater room 24X7 HTTP://WWW.DAVIDSTHEATER.COM

#18 of 22 OFFLINE   Dave Falasco

Dave Falasco

    Screenwriter



  • 1,185 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 02 2000

Posted November 13 2001 - 10:40 AM

Heh heh, Scott, I've been lusting after the B&K Ref 30 pre-amp for months now, but my wife just recently relented on a $300 Xbox...gunning for a $3000 preamp to take advantage of it seems a tad...I don't know...ungrateful? Posted Image

(Yeah, I know it ain't 3 grand, but the sentence read better that way)

And David, no, I've got a Pioneer Pro-610. I see someone else just started a topic with the very same subject, and Carlo posted some links to a few component video switchers on Errol's site. But $250...again, I doubt I'd be able to convince my wife of the dire urgency of such a contraption. For some reason she thinks I should just be thankful that I'm getting an Xbox at all...she's funny that way... Posted Image

Oh, well, I could always plug the DVD player in with an S-video cable and watch DVDs interlaced. I doubt the little woman would even notice, and when I want to demo something I can switch it back. Should be a good test for how robust those RCA jacks on the back of my TV are. Posted Image

#19 of 22 OFFLINE   StaceyS

StaceyS

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 180 posts
  • Join Date: Feb 11 2000

Posted November 14 2001 - 11:02 AM

[quote]

So NOW what do I do???

[quote]

Call Key Digital and buy their component video switcher. It will switch audio and video.

You DO want 480p on the XBOX, it is better. It is most noticable on diagonals and pans. You also get full vertical resolution during motion, something you loose with interlaced.

Under the video settings you have the option to set your display type widrescreen, etc. You might have to scroll down as it only shows so many settings at a time.

Yes, halo is 4:3. This is up to the game developer. I believe Bungie chose this because there are so few widrescreens on the market today. or it could be that they wanted to keep a higher frame rate. Don't know.

#20 of 22 OFFLINE   Wolf Jenkins

Wolf Jenkins

    Stunt Coordinator



  • 162 posts
  • Join Date: Oct 11 1998

Posted November 14 2001 - 11:32 AM

Does ANY of the launch games support 1080i??? or does the xbox upconvert them to 10801 if they are 480p. Reason: I've got an extra component input on my TV - but no spare HDTV input. I'll need to get a switcher if any of the games support 1080i that I'm getting.
**********
My HT equipment list: http://www.hometheat...ment/28518.html




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users